We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous property, staff needs training.”
Review of The Dutch House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dutch House
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Galle
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Gorgeous well-maintained property. Our room (I think the blue room) was beautiful. We had our own sitting room and a very large bathroom with a claw foot tub. The Infiniti pool is very nice, comfy pool chairs.
Cons: staff barely speaks English. I was able to see into the kitchen while a man and woman were preparing breakfast. He blatantly sninto his hands and them went on with the prep without washing his hands.
No drivers accommodations available.
We enjoyed our stay, but don't think it was worth the price tag.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MYGMYG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 56 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spent 3 nights in the Dutch House during our visit to Sri Lanka. We enjoyed it tremendously. We stayed in the Ball Room. The room was great, we enjoyed the sitting area and the artwork on display. The pool was very nice as well. There was only one other person staying there so it felt like we had the whole place to ourselves.
They accommodated our request for a late check out on the day of our departure which we appreciated. The staff aims to please and were all very pleasant.
One piece of advice, if you want the Sri Lankan breakfast, you have to order it the night before. No one told us this until when we sat down for breakfast after our first night.

Room Tip: I highly recommend the Ball Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We booked our holiday to Sri Lanka rather last minute but Robyn at the Dutch House was incredibly accommodating and patient with me during the booking process. We arrived at 5am in the morning from a night flight, exhausted and were so grateful to discover that our room was ready and waiting along with a friendly reception and a refreshing drink. The room we stayed in (Blue) was beautiful. Tastefully and elegantly decorated with an expansive bathroom and roll top freestanding bath.
We had the place to ourselves for 3 days and made the most of enjoying the spaciousness of the gardens and the wonderful infinity pool - big enough to do laps. You really feel up in the trees and above the intensity of the city.
The service was impeccable. The breakfasts were delicious. We felt ever so grand sitting on the terrace outside our room enjoying the views over the garden, watching the monkeys swing in the trees.
The location is great - a 5 minute tuk tuk to the town and there is always one on standby outside.
It was like staying in a private house - we felt free to leave our room open and wander about freely. It's the type of place you make plans to return to. Can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenabraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent 6 days here and wishes we could haver spent more time. The Dutch House is a rare treat - staying a beautifully decorated house that feels like home from home. We stayed in the Ballroom but all of the other rooms are extraordinary. There is a fantastic pool and croquet lawn.

Management understand what their clients are looking for and have trained their staff well. A general comment about Sri Lanka is that staff appear new to the hospitality business - not at The Dutch House or its sister properties. Staff are great at anticipating guests needs and are attentive .

We saw other hotels in Galle and the only place to stay is The Dutch House or its sister property The Sun House - if you are luck enough to get in.

Room Tip: All fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finewine63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had the blue suite, very comfortable and clean with a free-standing bath , separate shower, and a reading room. Bedroom is air-conditioned and opens directly on to the veranda. Lovely croquet lawn and swimming pool. We thought the Dutch house to be best suited to the more mature guest whereas its partner property(opposite) might be the preferance of younger travellers.Breakfast is served here, whilst for lunch and dinner you cross the road to the Sun House.

Room Tip: The blue room is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank densilv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Like others on this site, we were lucky enough to be asked to move from our original booking for the Sun House. It is indeed probably the most beautiful place I have ever stayed. We were the only people staying - sad for them but lovely for us. Good service, the grounds are attractive but the highlight was definitely the former ballroom we stayed in. We had dinner at the Sun House and met Henri. It was nice but we felt very lucky to have stayed at Doornberg/the Dutch House.

Room Tip: Get the ballroom if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxdfarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

For those who insist 5 Star and all that goes with it, perhaps this little jewel is not for you. If, however you want a bit of style in great surroundings do give it a try because in many ways it is 5 star. You are living in a bit of history and the door to the outside may have a small gap caused by the curing over time but that is part of the magic. If the door handle going into the huge bathroom slips off the spline just accept that it has been opened and closed for around 200 years and live with it. We were there for the Test match and were pleased to be out of the chaos down the hill. A great stay and recommended to anyone just wanting to relax.

Room Tip: We had the Blue Room. I believe this is on a par with the Ball room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kernock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
1.7 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 24 in Galle
1,801 reviews
4.8 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#10 of 24 in Galle
274 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#6 of 24 in Galle
562 reviews
2.8 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#7 of 24 in Galle
134 reviews
4.4 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 24 in Galle
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dutch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dutch House

Address: 18 Upper Dickson Rd, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#12 Luxury Hotel in Galle
Price Range: $378 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dutch House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Dutch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dutch House Hotel Galle
Dutch Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing