We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dutch House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Dutch House
Ranked #41 of 60 Hotels in Galle
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent 6 days here and wishes we could haver spent more time. The Dutch House is a rare treat - staying a beautifully decorated house that feels like home from home. We stayed in the Ballroom but all of the other rooms are extraordinary. There is a fantastic pool and croquet lawn.

Management understand what their clients are looking for and have trained their staff well. A general comment about Sri Lanka is that staff appear new to the hospitality business - not at The Dutch House or its sister properties. Staff are great at anticipating guests needs and are attentive .

We saw other hotels in Galle and the only place to stay is The Dutch House or its sister property The Sun House - if you are luck enough to get in.

Room Tip: All fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finewine63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    10
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
6
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pulborough
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had the blue suite, very comfortable and clean with a free-standing bath , separate shower, and a reading room. Bedroom is air-conditioned and opens directly on to the veranda. Lovely croquet lawn and swimming pool. We thought the Dutch house to be best suited to the more mature guest whereas its partner property(opposite) might be the preferance of younger travellers.Breakfast is served here, whilst for lunch and dinner you cross the road to the Sun House.

Room Tip: The blue room is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank densilv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Like others on this site, we were lucky enough to be asked to move from our original booking for the Sun House. It is indeed probably the most beautiful place I have ever stayed. We were the only people staying - sad for them but lovely for us. Good service, the grounds are attractive but the highlight was definitely the former ballroom we stayed in. We had dinner at the Sun House and met Henri. It was nice but we felt very lucky to have stayed at Doornberg/the Dutch House.

Room Tip: Get the ballroom if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xxdfarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, Cornwall. UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

For those who insist 5 Star and all that goes with it, perhaps this little jewel is not for you. If, however you want a bit of style in great surroundings do give it a try because in many ways it is 5 star. You are living in a bit of history and the door to the outside may have a small gap caused by the curing over time but that is part of the magic. If the door handle going into the huge bathroom slips off the spline just accept that it has been opened and closed for around 200 years and live with it. We were there for the Test match and were pleased to be out of the chaos down the hill. A great stay and recommended to anyone just wanting to relax.

Room Tip: We had the Blue Room. I believe this is on a par with the Ball room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kernock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We read the reviews online and saw the amazing pictures on their website before we booked the Ball Room at the Dutch House. It was a lovely house, and I could hang out in the courtyard all day long.

The ball room itself was a lovely room. Very high ceilings and nice decoration. All was great until we went to the bathroom. There were thousands of ants in the bathroom. I did try my best to live with it (as the manager Henri said, "hey, this is sri lanka. there's ants everywhere") until the next morning, I found a few ants' dead body in my water (and I did drink that water at night with the lights off) and a few ants in my towel. Then we asked them to spray the room twice a day but that didn't really solve the problem. And during my stay in this hotel, I was almost convinced that EVERY hotel in sri lanka has ants in their bathroom, until we got to the hotel in colombo, which was an old colonial house as well, but had ZERO ants. And there is always stuff falling off the ceiling of the bathroom, so the towel would get very dusty by the time when you get back to the hotel in the evening.

The room rate was 405 per night (including tax and service charge) and with that kind of price, one would expect Le Bristol Paris sort of service. But considering what they charge, they service was appalling, which I don't blame on the staff as you can tell they haven't received much training , and that they are not particularly motivated (Henri told us not to tip anyone as she thinks it's easier that way). Don't get me wrong, we think the manager is a very friendly lady, and she has been helpful to us, but it doesn't feel like the hotel is managed properly. On our last day there, the air conditioning started to leak water, and we had to walk through a fountain before we could enter the bathroom and this lasted for about 1hr before they sent someone over to fix it.

We had dinner in the restaurant at the Sun House. Overpriced and very average food. We were expecting some amazing Sri Lanka + western fusion food (as described by lots of reviews), and we got some chinese eggplant (which tastes like takeaway food in London). We told them many times my husband was vegetarian, and the manager said that shouldnt be a problem. But they still served squid to him as starter. After we complained, he got some green leaves with some balsamic vinegar on top (and a few ants on the leaves). The ambiance was great though...Also the sri lank breakfast from the hotel is worth trying.

I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lxdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Stayed at the Dutch House for just one night. Room was lovely. Met Henri the posh english manageress woman who was very nice. The local staff were a bit more hyper-subservient than I personally like, and it just sort of seemed a bit empty somehow. Quiet is good obviously, but somehow I felt there could have been a bit more of a buzz about the place.

Inifinity pool is very nice.

Basically, solid thumbs-up. We stayed at the Secret Garden in Unawatuna for three night nights after this though, which was less than half the price, and not much less pleasant. I guess that's just the law of diminishing returns when it comes to smart hotels.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank additasum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
107 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

We can not fault the beautiful old house and grounds but the service or lack of from the manager, Henri, was irritating. The staff were friendly and tried to be as helpful as possible but they did not seem to have had much training. We agree totally with one of the previous reviews that the two properties, the Sun House and Dutch House, were the private entertainment area of the manager. On one of the nights, there was a 'charity party' with loud music which Henri said would end at 11pm. The music did not stop until well past 1am as well as all the noise that all of the non-staying guests were making as they were drinking and smoking on the lawn. Although this was not my idea was a boutique hotel experience, it was not a big problem. However, we did expect at least some attempt at an apology from Henri the next morning but of course, there was none. We've seen other old properties inside the Galle Fort that may not be as fancy but perhaps would have more heart and soul.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ladybug789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sun House
The Sun House
#30 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
3.7 mi away
Apa Villa Illuketia
Apa Villa Illuketia
#33 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.9 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#19 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
1.2 mi away
Closenberg Hotel
Closenberg Hotel
#37 of 60 in Galle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
8.5 mi away
Kahanda Kanda
Kahanda Kanda
#1 of 1 in Angulugaha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dutch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dutch House

Property: The Dutch House
Address: 18 Upper Dickson Rd, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#19 Luxury Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dutch House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Dutch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dutch House Hotel Galle
Dutch Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing