We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great room but shame about vegetarian choice for dinner”
Review of The Sun House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sun House
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Last hotel on our independent trip around Sri Lanka and the room and hotel were stunning! Only disappointment was the choice for vegetarian at dinner (don't think there was one on the menu). When I asked I was told they would do something special and ended up with was basically the lunch option I'd not wanted with some vegetables that were served with my partners dish. They big up the restaurant as being one of the best so this was a bit of a let down.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 177 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

From the moment we walked through the door, we were spellbound. A magical aura of peace. Total enchantment in a world frozen in time. Our room was wonderful. The food…amazing. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Sun House gets the highest marks of our two week Sri Lanka trip for elegant presentation. It was a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nini822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This was a real luxury however the staff were amazing. I asked for an early check in and was at the hotel for 8am, this was no problem. I wanted a late check out and left at 4pm, again this was not a problem. The hotel was secluded, quiet and very relaxing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had a 4 night stay over the Christmas period. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The rooms were immaculate and stylish yet rustic. A walk back in time. This restored Dutch House is beautiful and homely. Meals beautifully presented with attention brought to every detail. Walking distance to Galle Fort. Highly recommend staying here. Geoffrey and Rukman were superb hosts and met all our needs. Go stay or just for a meal. Great atmosphere and surroundings. You will love it! We did!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank madhuHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

My father, sister and I (ages 22-60) are currently here on a family vacation from Toronto. We read tons of reviews but they do not even do it justice. The staff here are so incredibly wonderful, the put so much effort into absolutely everything that they do. From fresh flowers in the room, to anticipating every possible need I am blown away by the service.

The food!! The restaurant here is beyond belief. We've had both breakfast and dinner so far. We have two celiacs in our little crew so we are understandably difficult to feed.

The fish here was incredible, the chef clearly puts a lot of thought in to his dishes and does not disappoint.

Our room does not have air conditioning which I was initially worried about but with the fan and the wonderful sheets, I didn't even notice.

They have an incredible library here with every book imaginable. And a great shop with amazing prints.

The building itself is an old colonial building with a great courtyard. The multiple living rooms have shelves and shelves of old books. They lay out candles and incense every night. Perfect place to curl up with some wine and family game night (games also included)

As someone who is about to go on their honeymoon as well, I would absolutely recommend it for that too.

You will be happy as a clam here, regardless of the purpose of your trip.

I may never leave so see you soon!




Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank Francescablyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We had a lovely relaxing time at The Sun House. We stayed with our toddler and the staff were very accommodating with his food preferences and didn't mind him running around all over the place. The staff were also incredibly helpful with recommendations of where to go and where to eat and when my husband got bitten on the hand by a giant centipede we were bowled over with how they looked after him - they took him to hospital in the middle of the night and even paid for everything as we didn't have any money on us (we obviously paid them back!) The rooms are very clean and charming with lovely furniture and we enjoyed chilling out in their big sitting room area every night lying on their comfy sofas reading and having delicious drinks brought to us. Also there is courtyard outside Dick's Bar which has a lovely atmosphere with the twinkly lights. All in all it was a very relaxing experience... loved it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaTw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Quite simply the finest hotel we have ever stayed in.

The Cinnamon Suite is just perfection - it was the perfect start to our honeymoon.
The staff are friendly and attentive, but discreet; the food is delicious; the setting couldn't be better.

Overall it's luxurious without ever feeling flashy - it's a colonial home from home.
Effortless cool and comfort.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and experience the Cinnamon Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greek_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
1.7 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 25 in Galle
1,806 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
4.4 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 25 in Galle
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#6 of 25 in Galle
156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#8 of 25 in Galle
568 reviews
3.7 mi away
Apa Villa Illuketia
Apa Villa Illuketia
#16 of 25 in Galle
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun House

Address: 18 Upper Dickson Rd, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#11 Luxury Hotel in Galle
Price Range: $194 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sun House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Sun House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sun House Hotel Galle
The Sun Hotel
Sun Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing