We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby-chic at its best.”
Review of The Sun House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sun House
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed here for our last night of our holiday before returning to the UK. We stayed in the Cinnamon suite and it was stunning. It was like something out of an Elle Decoration photo shoot, with a four-poster bed, wrapped in mossie-nets and ceiling fans whirring above your head. The overall finish is far from perfect, but that only added to the romance of the place. It's as if the owners are trying to take you back to a place in time that perfection didn't matter. The whole place had a very intimate feel, whether it be lounging in the sitting room reading a book or sitting out in the gardens with a g&t enjoying the silence.

We ate our evening meal in the restaurant. It was a set price meal (3000R) for 4 courses and it was truly delicious (delicious fish curry!). We finished off with some drinks sat in the courtyard, around a large tree which is adorned with fairy lights - very pretty! Breakfast the next morning was a feast of fresh fruit, muesli, toast and coffee which set us up nicely for the journey home.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and keen to make sure we had a good experience. So, even if you don't stay here, I certainly suggest you have an evening meal here to experience the ambience.

Room Tip: Cinnamon Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 176 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2012

We were invited by the owner after a chance meeting, to dine at his hotel.
From the moment we stepped through the gates we entered a light, white exotic oasis.
We met the inimitable Henry [the fabulous manager] and were escorted to our dining table on the outside balcony overlooking the fairy lit garden. Imagine, warm tropical air, attentive and courteous staff, good wine and a wonderful meal that was a clever fusion of Sri Lankan and Western cuisine.
We were encouraged to wonder through this boutique hotel and also its sister accomodation, the Dutch house across the road.
Now the question - when we return do we book in at Sun House or the Dutch house. Both had pools, but the Dutch house had beautiful gardens and a faboulous spill pool. The Sun House on the other hand, with its white walls, tiled floors and oh so comfortable sofas. Ahh?

Room Tip: Only spent time at dinner, but oh how I wished we could have stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank johannaaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Very peaceful and calm. Service is efficient and all the staff are incredibly helpful. Our room was v nice and incredibly comfortable.

The food is delicious and fairly reasonably priced.

It is a must to go for supper or stay, we stayed after 2 weeks of beaching and it was welcoming to have the sound of the crickets.

All in all would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CervusElaphus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

After reading the hotel website and the reviews on this site we were really looking forward to staying here, however we were very disappointed at the standard of accommodation at the hotel.
Our room was situated between the kitchen and sitting area, with the bedroom door leading straight onto the dining terrace, this location meant that there was constant noise, from all sides. There was open lattice work above the doors and we could lie in bed and hear conversations between the diners and the clinking of their cutlery; the banging and clanking in the kitchen and the guests in the sitting areas. It was impossible to go to asleep until the noise stopped. Although the furniture was lovely there was too much which made the room feel cramped. The bathroom had a cracked shower screen and a disgusting wooden toilet seat!! Not quite the luxurious accommodation we were expecting. The pool was tiny, and only suitable for children to play in. The overall appearance of our bedroom, the sitting areas and garden was scruffy and in need of some TLC. We had dinner one evening and again, given the reputation of the hotel, were looking forward to our meal, and again were disappointed.
Although the staff were friendly, I would not return or recommend the hotel as I am sure there are other places that still retain the character of the building but offer a higher standard of accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

It would not be possible for Henri and her team to do anything more for us. The Sun House has all the charm and grandeur of a fine colonial home. The food and the service were also outstanding.

Honestly the Sun House is a haven in the midst of the madness that is Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigtedMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

This beautifully restored Dutch house has so much character and is close to perfection. The living room area and the library really took us back in time. The cinnamon suite we stayed in is worth every penny. It has been voted by Conde Nast as the most beautiful room in the world. We understand why. Miss Henri, the manager, was very attentive throughout our stay. Although the management staff under seemed a bit odd. After Rick Stein's review on the food, our expectations were very high but unfortunately we were slightly disappointed. Shame, as everything else was absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kands2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed here (for our second time) in July 2011 ; the weather was surprisingly mild . Although unfortunately we missed Henri who was on leave , we were made very welcome by Arabella and Geoffrey , who kindly introduced us to the friendly residents of Galle & who made reliable recommendations for agreeable restaurants and beach clubs for lunch.We ate our dinners at the Sun House and they were excellent and affordable.We stayed in the upstairs suite , which has probably the best views in Asia & a well sited additional outside bathroom ; our two kids enjoyed the "Parrotfish" suite for the second time . We intend to return for the annual January literary festival . We would not consider staying anywhere else in Galle.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickingib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
1.7 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 24 in Galle
1,778 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
0.8 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#6 of 24 in Galle
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#9 of 24 in Galle
87 reviews
4.4 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 24 in Galle
238 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Bartizan
The Bartizan
#13 of 24 in Galle
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun House

Address: 18 Upper Dickson Rd, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#11 Luxury Hotel in Galle
Price Range: $196 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sun House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Sun House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sun House Hotel Galle
The Sun Hotel
Sun Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing