We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely”
Review of Fort De 19 Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fort De 19 Villa
Ranked #8 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just lovely”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Lovely large room where the host could fit us all in, family of 4. Beautiful bed, mosquitonet, AC and fan. Private terrasse and large, clean bathroom, quiet part of Galle Fort with cricket just outside the front door. Lots of birds. Very friendly and gentle family to stay with. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    37
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
65
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
267 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

In January 2014, I stayed at the Guesthouse for two days. The location on Rampart Street is ideal. Our room had views of the fort walls, a good bathroom and comfortable bed with mosquito netting. The small balcony was pleasant during these cooler days.

The family appears new to the business but were accommodating and always had big smiles.

The water perssure in the room was inadequate which led to showers and plumbing being slow.

Galle fort area is an amazing small historic gem. While the sites are great, food service is limited. Crepe-ology was a great restaurant whose managers, Murray and Seema Moceri, have developed a fantastic option where few exist. Definitely go to Crepe-ology on 53 Leyn Baan Street.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ballyga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Found this hotel by chance and it turned out to be the best of the whole trip. Family run (with a very welcoming father each time) from the minute we arrived we were made to feel at home. Theekshana (owner) was extremely friendly and helpful with everything we needed. His mum even made us a Sri Lankan flu remedy as we were both ill upon arrival.
The rooms were immaculate, spacious, with beautiful views from the balcony.
would highly recommend staying in this wonderful little hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get the one with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talalla, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We got to Fort DE by chance, after searching for an hour different options, this was the first one we got and without knowing other options we decided not to stay there but after seeing other options in the fort we came back to this first one and I Must say we made a lucky decision, because this place was really nice. They made us a price and Theekshana, a son of this family was very helpful for the whole stay of us. Every time we came back from anywhere there were waiting to help us in the case we need something. Friendly talk and then they respect our privacy.
Room was very clean, with attached bathroom, nice view from the balcony where you can sit with Theekshana´s mother sri lankan tea (delicious) and watch the sea. Highly recommend !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The next door guesthouse (Seagreen) was full and the owner referred us to next door - Fort de 19. We had the third level bedroom with separate bath/shower and sitting area, narrow balcony out back, and access to balcony out front over-looking the street, green strip, fort walls, and sea. There is a lounge/reception area on the ground floor. Run by very friendly family. Spotless. Good value at 5,000 rupees double a night. The last flight of stairs is very steep but just adds to the sense of your own little sanctuary. We certainly recommend it. No food but Seagreen's brother has a little restaurant two doors along.

Room Tip: The room we had on the top level is at the back and might be the quietest. The other two rooms seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Despite it being new, we decided to give it a shot based on the excellent reviews it had received, and we did not regret this decision! Theekshana and family made our stay absolutely memorable. It was located within the fort and provided a great view of the ocean! Property was also in walking distance to the main shops and food areas.

Although it did not serve food, it wasn't an issue as Sea Green right next door serves great meals! It had everything we needed in a room, clean and spacious and has a comfortable bed, wifi and great service. This small B&B even had a rooftop terrace which you can go up and enjoy the sunset. It was a great place to people-watch as many visitors came to visit the fort. We had a great chat with Theekshana one evening and we wish you all the best in your business! Don't forget to put up the sign on the door!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrisL_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at the hotel at the end of our 16 days trip. We looked for a nice Hotel that was still affordable. We finally found the fort de ville. Our room was amazing with a beautiful sight to the sea. The owner and his parents were really friendly and supportive. We can totally remommend this hotel!

Room Tip: First floor, 2nd room. With balcony facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.2 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
0.0 mi away
Seagreen Guesthouse
Seagreen Guesthouse
#1 of 125 in Galle
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Deco On 44
Deco On 44
#5 of 23 in Galle
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fort Bazaar
The Fort Bazaar
#1 of 23 in Galle
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fort Bliss Galle
Fort Bliss Galle
#3 of 125 in Galle
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort De 19 Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort De 19 Villa

Property: Fort De 19 Villa
Address: 19 A Rampart Street, Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within the historic Galle Fort in the southern part of Sri Lanka, Fort De 19 offers you the finest & homely accommodation within this unique, UNESCO World Heritage Site. We are really proud of our peerless location with a view across the ocean, overlooking the old rampart & absolutely stunning view of the 'SUNSET'. We, Fort De 19, will ensure to make your stay memorable with pride & satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fort De 19 Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing