We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and a fantastic location. Good choice!”
Review of Fort De 19 Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fort De 19 Villa
Ranked #8 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly and a fantastic location. Good choice!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This Villa is just wonderful. It is right in the middle of the Fort and the owners are so friendly and helpful. We only stayed here for one night unfortunately, (we would have loved to stay longer!) and really enjoyed it.

As two young females travelling alone we felt really safe and looked after.

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauralikestosay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theeka, Owner at Fort De 19 Villa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your compliments of your stay with us at fort de 19 villa on Trip Advisor. we certainly appreciate your compliments & we look forward to having you back with us in the near future. Please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,
Fort de 19 Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    37
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
65
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Fort de 19 as part of a big Sri Lankan tour. We asked our driver to drop us off at SeaGreen given the great reviews, and this happens to be next door and we went in the wrong door! Anyway, we were blown away by Theekshana's honesty and keenest for us to know we had gone to the wrong place. He wanted to be certain that we knew we were at the wrong place and even asked us if we wanted to go next door after he had taken all our bags upstairs. We were obviously keen to stay as we had seen the room and we were very happy. It was just lovely to know that we were staying with such an open and honest family!
The room was lovely and looked out to the sea. The bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows. Also they have a great rooftop to watch the sunset and the locals playing cricket.
The service from Theekshana, his brother, mother and father was exceptional. They were so welcoming and lovely. As this was toward the end of the trip we will always remember the family and their hospitality fondly. We even received a lovely email from him after we had left.
I would highly recommend this villa and the value is exceptional.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becandsanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theeka, Owner at Fort De 19 Villa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Many thanks for your excellent review. It indeed great to hear a voice of a very satisfied guest. We really dont want to make misunderstandings & thats why we take these things very seriously. Thank you again for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the experience being with us.

looking forward to welcoming you back at our villa

Sincerely,
Fort de 19 Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Fort de 19 Villa was one of the cheapest places we stayed at while travelling around Sri Lanka, and for the price and location it was the best value for money. Fort de 19 is located inside the fort on the western side and is a short walk from all the major sites.
Theekshana and the family are so warm and welcoming an made our stay very pleasant.
The rooms are big and clean with a very comfortable bed, we even had two pillows each!

The roof top balcony has funky built in chairs from which you can see the guys playing cricket in the afternoon and the vivid sunsets. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyjim007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theeka, Owner at Fort De 19 Villa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on Trip Advisor.
I am happy you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed the facilities which we have high expectations of as in a small property like this can be the deciding factor of whether a guest leaves satisfied or not so satisfied.

Thank you again for recommending us this highly, and we look forward to seeing you back at Fort de 19 villa in the future.

Sincerely,
Fort de 19 Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This excellently located guesthouse is a family business that hasn't been running for long, and you can see that the family is keen on making an impression. The rooms are spacious and absolutely spotless and the owners are extremely friendly. There was a small problem with a water leak in the bathroom, which caused no trouble whatsoever, but you could see that the owners were really uncomfortable with what happened apologizing about 5 times for it. Definitely one of the best guesthouses we stayed in in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papasluigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theeka, Owner at Fort De 19 Villa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
We truly appreciate all of your great comments and we allways try to meet our guest’s expectations, So we really feel uncomfortable when something occured that we didn't expect, which makes our guests unhappy. I solved the problem soon after you went & will make sure it won't happen again.Anyway Our future guests will benefit from your observations & will help our desire to be the best. Please come visit us again soon & We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Fort de 19 Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I had the pleasure to spend here one night, and I must say unfortunately just one night. The location is great, just overlooking the sea, the room was spotless and the bed one of the most comfortable I've slept in. The large mosquito net protected us from being bitten and also added some romantic look to the room. The owner has been extremely kind and helpful with us. The price is a bit higher than anywhere else in Sri Lanka, however you wouldn't find many cheaper accommodations inside the fort. No regrets, I would go back. I recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MassimoMun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theeka, Owner at Fort De 19 Villa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our villa. we certainly appreciate your compliments & we look forward to having you back with us in the near future. Please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,
Fort de 19 Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
2 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Very clean rooms and large sized as well. Really good to recommend to any other people. Well located and qiet and calm. Rooms are a sort of luxury style. Would go back at any time again. Not really cheap but really great. Good atmosphare with very friendly people

Room Tip: I have seen all the rooms and I must say all of them are excellent also in terms of (no) noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theeka, Owner at Fort De 19 Villa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your compliments of your stay with us at fort de 19 villa on Trip Advisor. we certainly appreciate your compliments & we look forward to having you back with us in the near future. Please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,
Fort de 19 Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I just want to thank you again for your plesant welcoming. I traveled a lot and tried a lot of guesthouse but yours have something special.I really felt at home although the atmosphere was new for me. I stay the room in front it face to the view and it was so amazing feeling, The " host family" Theekshana, Papa and Mama is very welcoming, kind and helpful. I really enjoyed it and only recommend it if you stop in Galle Fort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pemika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theeka, Owner at Fort De 19 Villa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to leave us with this valuable review, your comments are a great asset to our effort to develop our standards and guest experience.
It is really nice to know how you feel during your stay & we hope to welcome you back to Fort de 19 villa in the future.

Sincerely,
Fort de 19 Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.2 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
0.1 mi away
Deco On 44
Deco On 44
#5 of 23 in Galle
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seagreen Guesthouse
Seagreen Guesthouse
#1 of 126 in Galle
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fort Bazaar
The Fort Bazaar
#1 of 23 in Galle
180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fort Bliss Galle
Fort Bliss Galle
#3 of 126 in Galle
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort De 19 Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort De 19 Villa

Property: Fort De 19 Villa
Address: 19 A Rampart Street, Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within the historic Galle Fort in the southern part of Sri Lanka, Fort De 19 offers you the finest & homely accommodation within this unique, UNESCO World Heritage Site. We are really proud of our peerless location with a view across the ocean, overlooking the old rampart & absolutely stunning view of the 'SUNSET'. We, Fort De 19, will ensure to make your stay memorable with pride & satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fort De 19 Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing