We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Jewellers in Sri Lanka”
Review of Orchid House

Orchid House
Ranked #3 of 44 Shopping in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tea, clothes, spices, books, silver jewellery, antiques, pottery, handicrafts, handloom, herbal products, organic products, recycle products, gift items, pashminas, jewellery repairs, tea tasting area, coconut shell products. 100% Sri Lankan hand made products.leather products.inscence sticks
Inverness, Scotland
1 review
“Best Jewellers in Sri Lanka”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

In my opinion this is the best place to buy silver jewellery in Sri Lanka. The designs are beautiful and if you cannot see exactly what you want, Yameen will help you to design a unique piece. He is an extremely honest and patient man and goes out of his way to help you. I have bought many pieces from him - the quality is superb and prices are very, very reasonable. I really cannot recommend Orchid House highly enough.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank anne_c_murray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yameenhussain, Owner at Orchid House, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    20
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My favorite shop in the Galle Fort”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a wonderful shop. They have hand made silver jewelry with Sri Lankan gems as well as other Sri Lankan items and some clothes. The best part of the shop is Yameen who makes much of the jewelry and owns the shop. He is such a lovely, kind and honest person. He went out of his way to help me with transportation and other issues while I was there certainly not because he had too but because he is a "mensch" (a good person).
When I return to Sri Lanka, I shall return to the Orchid Shop for sure.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchidhouseGalle, Owner at Orchid House, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The orchids are just beautiful and it was lovely to just walk around the orchid house to see them, so many beautiful flowers.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chrishayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yameenhussain, Owner at Orchid House, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“silver jewellery”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

one of the best, if not the best place to go for silver jewellery (with or without gemstones) that I have found during my time in Sri Lanka. Yameen is knowledgeable, will design individual pieces, is not pushy and will spend time with you to understand what you want. This is of course, if you haven't been able to find what you want on display in the first place! Fabulous shop!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BexColombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yameenhussain, Owner at Orchid House, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaduz, Vaduz, Liechtenstein
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent shop and service”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have been to this shop already a few times - it was always great. The owner, Yameen, has a big knowledge about jewels and if you want to get something special, go there. Yameen can do also individual work for you, he has many good ideas. The handcraft, spices and typical Sri Lankan style items assure, to get something from there (and not made in China). Also the prices are fair and reasonable. I am looking forwad to my next time in Sri Lanka - I will visit Yameen for sure.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yameenhussain, Owner at Orchid House, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchid House also viewed

Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 
Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 

Been to Orchid House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing