We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Light House View Inn
Ranked #91 of 125 Galle B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Quirky, clean, spacious room with a great view. Wifi available upon request.. But would be nice if it was on all the time. Good shower, but didn't work between 8-11am! The lady who owns the place is a strong likeable character, very helpful and she even did a load of laundry for us. Recommend it overall.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    9
    10
    23
See reviews for
3
19
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
india
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I spent my last days in galle fort at light house view inn. I really enjoyed my life there. The bathrooms were clean and perfect and the owner was very pleasant to us. really liked the room facing the beach. The rooms were also clean and tidy.

Room Tip: room facing the beach the balcony and the light house and the ramparts is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warsha_anari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Worst place so far. Room, beds, mosquito nets and toilet are terrible. Plenty of mosquitos in the room - even after spraying. Wifi only upon request. No water from 8-10 a.m. (not informed in advance). The price is way too high. It's a rip-off. A third of the price would still be too much. The only - repeat only - nice thing is the balcony. But you could choose to sit on the wall of the Fort in stead. Recommend you find any other place.....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyja13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Galle hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
136 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

My only total disaster on a month's tour round Sri Lanka, relying on finding places to stay as I arrived. Overpriced (quickly found much better for same price)dirty (stains on bed linen, fork looked unwashed and toilet leaking)and non stop hassle from owner trying to sell jewellery, tours, taxi or whatever. I should have been worried when she asked for payment upfront (nowhere else ever asked this) fortunately I only paid for one night when intending to stay 3 but sensibly moved on after the one. One night too many though - should have just walked.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Overpriced rooms, hardly any hot water.Poor wifi and always have to ask them to switch it on. At the common area the family that runs it keeps trying to hustle you with buying gems, tours, ayurvedic treatments and so on.. much better places around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dcopeland85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Brought here by the Sri Lankan famous guesthouse commissionars (hello, you need a place to stay?) after seeing three other places, I was done and I just needed a place to crash.

The lady who runs the place is quite a strong character, which I thought was pretty cool. She told the commissioner to get away coz he was asking too much commission, and she rocked my boat wearing a awesome pink kaftan.

The rooms are fine, but somewhat overpriced, Rp 3500 no breakfast or coffee included. The view is great, the service ok.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LVerweyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
0.1 mi away
Fort Inn Guest House
Fort Inn Guest House
#28 of 125 in Galle
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sega BnB
Sega BnB
#19 of 131 in Galle
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thenu Rest Guest House
Thenu Rest Guest House
#56 of 125 in Galle
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fort Fifty Inn
Fort Fifty Inn
#83 of 125 in Galle
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secret Palace Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Light House View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Light House View Inn

Property: Light House View Inn
Address: Opposite the Galle Fort Light House, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Light House View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing