We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dine in a courtyard, enjoy the live guitar/singer!”
Review of Deco on 44

Deco on 44
Ranked #16 of 136 Restaurants in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated right in the heart of the Galle Fort, Deco on 44 provides a variety of cuisine to suite everyones tastebuds. Specialising on seafood, dishes include Lobsters, Crabs, Jumbo Prawn and Fish prepared in a manner to suit each individuals choice. Local Rice and curry is also a speciality. Burgers, Pastas, Salads and Sandwiches also are available. Desserts and an array of speciality coffee's are also available. The restaurant is open daily for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Meals are prepared by a professional team of Chefs who have an abundance of experience worldwide.All the produce is local and and we try our best to source organic. Everything is prepared in-house including our array of breads. There is an option to eat on the garden and also at the beautiful balcony which is an ideal place to relax after a day of walking around the fort.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
892 reviews
603 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Dine in a courtyard, enjoy the live guitar/singer!”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our dinner under a fan, as it is quite humid and warm. They were out of the giant prawns we were wanting to order. Seafood platter, generous serving, chicken masala, tasty. Service slow, needed to inquire re water several times. Maybe it is the climate and it may be better to move slowly... Staff friendly and helpful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Morcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    65
    19
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect location and super family friendly”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

The staff were so friendly, even giving the children little gifts, the room was beautiful with brilliant aircon. The food was some of the best we've had in Sri Lanka. Great pool area and perfect location overall!

Helpful?
2 Thank ALV2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing food and live band”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

So Fri-Sun these guys have a two man band play live which is fantastic. For food I had the seafood platter which I can highly recommend and we stayed in Galle for two days and this was by far the best food and entertainment we had.

Helpful?
2 Thank Kershnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
111 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very, very good indeed”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The place was recommended to us by the owner of Crêpe-ology. So we went there on a wet, quiet evening in the second half of March. We shared a Spicy Asian Calamari Salad and a Cream of Gotukola (a leafy green, also known as Asian Pennywort) Soup. My wife continued with Penne with Pesto Sauce (not a great choice) and I had the Grilled Supreme Yellow Fin Tuna Steak with Crushed Pepper (served with Cumin Rice & Grilled Vegetables). The latter was outstanding, every bit tasted exactly as nuanced as the lengthy description. We also had two bottles of water. The bill was (considering the quality of the food) a reasonable $ 30. Service was excellent. We sat on the terrace in this beautiful Deco-Building and enjoyed the live music. Thanks for the recommendation, Murray!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank boardshorts48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Architecturally interesting & good dinner spot”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Beautifully maintained art deco style architecture - for dinner outside front terrace area very pleasant (roof terrace more suitable for daytime eating).
Very good food & service

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deco on 44 also viewed

 
Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 
Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 

Been to Deco on 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing