We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food was okay but uninspiring”
Review of Deco on 44

Deco on 44
Ranked #17 of 139 Restaurants in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated right in the heart of the Galle Fort, Deco on 44 provides a variety of cuisine to suite everyones tastebuds. Specialising on seafood, dishes include Lobsters, Crabs, Jumbo Prawn and Fish prepared in a manner to suit each individuals choice. Local Rice and curry is also a speciality. Burgers, Pastas, Salads and Sandwiches also are available. Desserts and an array of speciality coffee's are also available. The restaurant is open daily for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Meals are prepared by a professional team of Chefs who have an abundance of experience worldwide.All the produce is local and and we try our best to source organic. Everything is prepared in-house including our array of breads. There is an option to eat on the garden and also at the beautiful balcony which is an ideal place to relax after a day of walking around the fort.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The food was okay but uninspiring”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Food and service were both fine, just a little run of the mill and not memorable. We also felt a little rushed as as soon as we finished entree, the main course arrived. There is actually wine and beer (but not on the menu) it would have been useful for the wait staff to inform us accordingly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Nagano_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    65
    20
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful atmosphere”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had a very pleasant evening at the Deco on 44. The hotel is stunning, the decor is really lovely and it is a great restaurant if you want to spoil yourself or have a romantic evening. We had drinks at the hotel in the afternoon and decided to return for dinner. We had the fish - which was a good size portion and perfectly cooked and the chicken soup and salad - both were delicious. The service was also very professional. All in all it was a lovely evening, in a beautiful setting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richie1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great food, great spot, great service!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had dinner at Deco on 44 following a recommendation from friends who run their own restaurant, which is always a good sign. We were not disappointed - Deco on 44 is a restaurant in a lovely setting with food to match.

We visited as a group of four, and all were impressed by our meals. I ordered the fisherman's basket, which included possibly the largest jumbo prawn I have ever seen (it barely fit on the plate!) cooked absolutely to perfection. Others in our group tried a range of pasta, curry and meat dishes and all were very well presented.

During our meal the executive chef came out to check that everything was to our liking, and talked us through some of his 'secrets'. Afterwards he came back and took us on a brief tour through the building, which happens to be a centuries-old merchants' house (as so many buildings in Galle seem to be). Our table was on the verandah, which was a great spot to enjoy our meal, but the interior was also very impressive and tastefully designed.

Overall we had a great experience and would definitely recommend Deco on 44 for a night out in Galle!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rovermatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ruined our last night in Sri Lanka”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Having read some fantastic reviews on this website we specifically went in during the day to book a table for our last night of a three and a half week holiday in Sri Lanka. We spoke to the waiter and chose exactly which table we wanted, of which he made a note. By the evening, my family wandered down at the exact time of the booking very excited for a lovely evening there only to find that the same waiter who had taken our booking had ignored us and every table in the place was full. There was a distinct lack of remorse on his behalf and no acknowledgement that he had been the one to take the booking in the first place. A great disappointment leaving us wandering aimlessly round Galle attempting to find somewhere not extortionately priced but nicer than the many road side cafes for our final meal in the country.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SLP0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deco_on_Forty_Four, Director at Deco on 44, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
At Deco on 44 we always thrive on improving ourselves and having read your comments I immediately investigated on your reservation. As you are aware you made a reservation for dinner at 7pm at our restaurant. Being one of the most popular restaurants in the Galle Fort area we keep any reservation open for 1 hour after the stipulated guest reservation time. In your case as well we kept your reservation till 8pm and only after that we offered the table to another guest. When you did arrive at 8.25pm we offered an alternative table for you to dine at which you were not willing to accept. I must apologize to you for any inconvenience caused. If you had called and informed us that you were getting late we would have still kept the table open for you. For your future reference, in the industry, its the norm to keep a reservation for a maximum of one hour unless the guest has informed of a delay. Keep this in mind, especially for popular restaurants. We Wish you well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best seafood in the fort”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Don't waste your time walking the streets to look for the restaurant which will give you the best food - go straight to Deco on 44. The excellent reviews already posted say it all - the food is simply the best, the tastiest, the best value for money and all this is supported by top service. You can eat outside or in the dinnig area. Everything is spotlessly clean. The prawns were huge, succlent and sweet, the fish was amazing and the presentation of all was 6 star. You won't regret eating here, so try it on your first night - you won't be sorry. We made the mistake of trying other places first - what a waste of good dining days!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Geni7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deco on 44 also viewed

 
Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 

Been to Deco on 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing