We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch at this small hotel”
Review of Deco on 44

Deco on 44
Ranked #16 of 136 Restaurants in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated right in the heart of the Galle Fort, Deco on 44 provides a variety of cuisine to suite everyones tastebuds. Specialising on seafood, dishes include Lobsters, Crabs, Jumbo Prawn and Fish prepared in a manner to suit each individuals choice. Local Rice and curry is also a speciality. Burgers, Pastas, Salads and Sandwiches also are available. Desserts and an array of speciality coffee's are also available. The restaurant is open daily for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Meals are prepared by a professional team of Chefs who have an abundance of experience worldwide.All the produce is local and and we try our best to source organic. Everything is prepared in-house including our array of breads. There is an option to eat on the garden and also at the beautiful balcony which is an ideal place to relax after a day of walking around the fort.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
213 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch at this small hotel”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had an excellent lunch at this hotel (5 of us) with quality food and presentation, and a highly attentioned service.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank YangonPyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    65
    19
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Deco Gem!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We didn't stay here but booked a table on the verranda for lunch.
The design of the building is wonderful and it has been furnished and decorated in the same sytle so, if you like deco you'll love Deco on 44!
Now to lunch - yes please!
We started with 'only just seared' tuna with a micro leaves salad which was the best we've ever had - unfortunately we'd decided to share this course!. The Lobster Curry that followed was stupendous as was the Chicken Satay with Nasang Gorang.
We finished (sharing again) with a Ginger Panacotta - the perfect end to a perfect lunch.
Do try this place when in Galle Fort.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMEfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best 'grown-up' meal in Galle Fort.”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Best place for date night yet.

Prices for food throughout the Fort are skewed at best, and when you arrive here you think you will be paying through the nose- NOT SO! Eat here and score some of the bed value seafood in the Fort.

We chose the venue because it looks posh and special- what we wanted for our date night- but we were pleasantly surprised. We sat out on the tables on the grass and ate under the stars.

The food was magnificent, my super fussy with fisherman 'I-didn't-catch-it-I-wont-eat-it' husband was even won over.

The prize dish was a fresh tuna on greens that was listed in the salad section. I would go back there for it! But in very close second is the JUMBO prawns- they were bigger than lobsters that I have been served in the Country and again a BARGAIN at 2000rp for the dish.

So treat yourself (and maybe someone special) to a meal here before they realise they are underpriced!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoFixedAddressHunnymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
131 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Live guitar music was fun, food was good, grand old property”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This restaurant is directly across Church Street from our favorite restaurant in Sri Lanka, Fortaleza. I hoped it would be as good and we were disappointed that it wasn't. However, the pumpkin lemongrass soup was amazing! The fish and chips were good. The fresh crab and fish were good, though the fish was overcooked and a little dry. The curry was quite a spread, though my son didn't take advantage of much besides the rice and chicken curry parts. I did like people watching on the veranda too. The live guitar music was a great bonus to the evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderingwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
2 reviews
“Deco on 44 is a gem in South Sri lanka”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

we had a fantastic experience at Deco on 44, in Galle , South Sri Lanka.
the food is very creative, we spoke to the chef who is very passionate and has implemented a personal formula. Different from every other ones! Fab experience I strongly recommend it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Libellula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deco on 44 also viewed

 
Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 
Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 

Been to Deco on 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing