We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of Niyagama House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Niyagama House
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Service is excellent!! Although it is a bit far from city but it is worth to stay.

Relaxing and it is in the wood but very clean (amazing!).
The owner is very kind and charming. You can enjoy Yoga and nice breakfast near the beautiful swimming pool.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitepeach77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 238 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

We don't usually write reviews but felt that this particular retreat deserved our comment and we wanted to share it.

We stayed at Niyagama house for 3 nights. We were taken back by the beauty of the surroundings and the exquisiteness of the accommodation. The owner took the yoga classes and catered for both of us despite being at different levels.

She, along with the rest of the staff, made our stay very comfortable, catering for our every need.

The spa treatments were bliss and reasonably priced.

The retreat is about 20 minutes from Galle by tuk tuk.

Considering the surroundings and the quality of accommodation and service, we found it to be very good value for money.

Highly recommended as a retreat and get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. We look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kruti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiyagamaHouse, Owner at Niyagama House, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear Kruti,

thank you sooo much for your kind words!!! It was wonderful to have you here as our guests. And your ambition in the yoga class was stunning! It would be wonderful to welcome you here again!

Thanks again and only the very best to all three of you!

Kind regards,
Elke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We just returned from 2 weeks in Sri Lanka. Niyagama was the first of 5 stops and was by far our favorite. It was everything I look for in a holiday getaway: clean, quiet, great food and service and healthy! There are daily yoga classes offered, healthy food and juice options and massages. One little extra they offer that made my day was having our morning tea delivered to the room. So we would sit on our private deck listening to the birds while watching the mist rise through the trees. Following that we'd have an early morning swim in the gorgeous pool. It was perfect. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: its all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 108hari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at Niyagama House for 6 nights during January 2014 and had a magical time. The surrounding jungle is atmospheric and its birdlife sings constantly, particularly early in the morning, punctated by the occasional growl of something more exotic. The architecture of the house is every bit as good as the pictures suggest, we particularly enjoyed the design of the central courtyard and the natural light it gives the communal areas. The pool is one of the best we have experienced, the infinity edge seems to drop off into the jungle and the sunbeds get sun for the whole day. We stayed in the padparadscha room and found it spacious, comfortable and and well furnished. Despite never having done it before we took the yoga class every day, as the maximum class size was 5 we got Elke's full attention; the fact we did it everyday speaks for itself. When we wanted to do other activities Elke and her team ran around and organised them for us and were v helpful.

I would make a few points to anyone who's thinking of booking here. First, as pointed out on the website it is a bit of a way from galle/unawatuna, say 20mins in a tuk tuk. Going in and out is easy, we went to the beach on two of the days and to galle for one, but if you're looking for nights out in either unawatuna or mirissa it's a bit far out. I'd say it's good as calm retreat and to be used as a base to explore the area as a part of a longer stay, but not to party or spend every day on the beach.

Secondly, linked with this, it's probably not worth staying here just for a night - for us part of the appeal is the tranquility and the experience of a full day there.

Third, as mentioned by others, the food is quite slow but we found of a high standard. The waiters are attentive so we assumed the delay comes from the kitchen, probably because everything is cooked to order. In the end all it required was a bit of forethought - we ordered our food in advance for lunch and dinner and found the food was delivered on time. But something to be aware of particularly as a part of a short stay.

On the dogs - we found this a very minor irritation on one night in 6, plus they're great fun on the walk around the plantation, so certainly should not deter.

Overall this is one of the best independent guest houses I have visited, it comes highly recommended. Made all the better as it's not in the guidebooks!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed here over the new year period to start 2014 in a fresh, unique, beautiful, and tranquil place - Niyagama House was all that and more.

The house is beautiful - designed and run by Elke and her husband, there is a real personal touch to the service. The room (Pearl) is one of the nicest I have ever stayed in - big, airy, and quality finishings. The big private balcony looks over greenery, tea and jungle. The yoga space looks over greenery, tea and jungle. The infinity pool looks over greenery, tea and jungle. The restaurant looks over...!

The restaurant served delicious food, so we had all our meals there. We had read from a previous comment that there was no alcohol there. This was quite disturbing news, so we called Elke to check - true - and took some with us.

There is a small spa service available with Ayurvedic treatments, which was quite nice. There are other activities (extra charge) you can do - e.g. guided bike trips, cookery classes - they looked great but didn't stay long enough to do them.

I really enjoyed yoga with Elke - very good sessions and very detoxifying (needed after Christmas/New Year period). She has a great energy and I was happy to enjoy it so much, as that was one of my main reasons for choosing to stay there. My boyfriend relaxed by the pool, so it's not only for people seeking yoga.

I would definitely recommend this place if you are looking for some R&R and want to get away from it all. We stayed for a couple of days and didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: Pearl has a private balcony and I think it is the biggest guest room there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kir_kag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed for 4 perfect days. Your every need is catered for. Elke and Pradesh provide personal bespoke service. Our slight complaint is the the food service is slow even for a guest house but very personalised. We took the bike tour to the beach, it was great. Rooms fantastic, food good, ambience - fabulous everywhere you turn. Would recommend to anyone and would definitely go back.
Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagellanSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We've just returned from our honeymoon and we loved Sri Lanka for its friendly people and beautiful landscapes. Nowhere is this better personified than at elke's wonderful house set in a tea plantation.

My husband and I are I suppose reasonably well travelled and I think of all the hotels I've ever stayed at, this might be the best. It's a boutique guest house with 7 individual rooms, but with all the 5 star service you could expect from a major brand. Small touches like a coconut juice on arrival, turning the bed down in the evening, and poolside service make you feel so special.

The hotel is dry but elke is very happy to send a tuktuk out for you with a secret order. We also had the first ever rooftop meal which was so romantic and I think will be a big hit!

There are so many things I could mention but you really have to experience the views and people there yourself. Go, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Tourmaline had its own private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecb186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
5.4 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 24 in Galle
1,777 reviews
5.8 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#9 of 24 in Galle
85 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#10 of 24 in Galle
271 reviews
5.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#6 of 24 in Galle
550 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Bartizan
The Bartizan
#13 of 24 in Galle
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niyagama House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niyagama House

Address: Niyagama | Akmeemana, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Galle
Price Range: $127 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Niyagama House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Niyagama House is a retreat with seven luxury rooms in the middle of a tea plantation. Situated only 9 kilometer inland (a 20 minutes tuktuk drive) from the beaches at the Indian Ocean and the charming World Heritage Site Galle Fort, it is a perfect place for relaxation and rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Niyagama House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing