We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galle Fort Lighthouse

Galle Fort Lighthouse
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.00*
and up
Galle Fort and City Cycling Tour
Ranked #6 of 65 things to do in Galle
Attraction details
edinburgh
Level Contributor
165 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Standing by the lighthouse allowed wonderful views out into the Indian Ocean . A walk thereafter along the fort walls was a pleasure, followed by a cold beer.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank philipsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    167
    135
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great to stroll the ramparts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Lovely spot to take a walk on the ramparts and take in the sea breeze, especially at sunset. Relaxing spot despite all the other people who are taking the stroll too.

We called into the Rampart hotel nearby intending to have dinner and watch the sunset, but found it a bit tired with dirty tablecloths, so just had a drink and went elsewhere.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank todfest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
367 reviews
193 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Given its a port......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Given that Galle was once the chief port of Sri Lanka it makes sense that it had a lighthouse. It looks no different from any other old lighthouse but it is lovely to walk along the esplanade nearby for views of the old town and the sea.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KatielouAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Would have been nicer if we had been allowed to climb up”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was one of the heartbreaking things that I experienced in Galle. The Light house is really old and at the time that we visited it, the tourists local or foreign were not allowed to climb it. I badly wanted to climb this as I have never climbed into a Llight House. And I also wanted to look at the sea from the Light House. However, since this was closed down, we walked around it and strolled in the beach.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsdanushkajayatunge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Meeting place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

While in Galle Fort, this is the location where to meet both locals and tourists alike. The place is brimming with people all day long and well past sunset. At sunrise it is very peaceful since only the occasional tourist or local passes by. Morning are a slow start for most excluding photographers.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank frank-china
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galle Fort Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to Galle Fort Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing