We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice View” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rumasalla Mountain

Rumasalla Mountain
Book In Advance
More Info
$195.00*
and up
Private Day Trip to Galle from Colombo
Ranked #27 of 65 things to do in Galle
Attraction details
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
120 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Nice View”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

From the temple you can see the Galle Harbor and the Fort. There is bathing point on the way to the top which I have heard is a very beautiful one , but couldn’t go their

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelerRanitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    20
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
443 reviews
225 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Lovely View”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Situated in Hikkaduwa, Rumassala is a famous location from the ancient days for its difference from the rest of the country. Rumassala goes a long way in the history during Ramayana where it is famous for related story. Beautiful views from the top of the place and has a nice little temple on top. Nice to visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Treshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Over there look of the galle city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Over there in to the rumassala mountain range there in Galle city and port. It also fascinating. also we can have a look of japanese temple in there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 460kismet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

It gives amazing views of the Galle Harbour and the Fort. We went in the evening and it really beautiful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tanmaisneha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Historical Legend related to Rama and Hanuma”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is referred to as the "Jungle Beach". It is not very steep but could be a tiring climb if you go during midday where the sun is so hot. However, I should say that this is the reason that we went to Galle this time. The jungle that is referred to as Rumassala has a lot of trees, herbs, plants and flowers which cannot be seen in other parts of Sri Lanka. Even the sea here is quite different and bright and nice. This particular piece of land juts out of the usual land mass of the country in an awkward manner. It is these special features that attracts the attention of most of the travellers. This place has a temple as well. You can go down to the beach through the jungle and it is one of the most interesting walks that I have ever had in my life.

The legend that is about this place is as follows: It is stated that Rama wanted some medicine from the Himalayas in India and named the specific herb he needs and asked Hanuma - the monkey king to bring it for him. However, when he went there he had forgotten and because of that he had picked a piece of the mountain and brought it to Rama. After the relevant plant was used Hanuma has thrown the piece of the mountain according to the legend.

Whether one believes the legend or not, there is an interesting thing to be noted. The plant varieties in Rumassala cannot be found anywhere else in Sri Lanka. But there are similar to the ones that can be found in Himalayas according to the naturalists and the environmentalists. Hence, I would suggest that you read about this place before going there so that you can enjoy its mysteries.

P.s: We got down to the beach from one route and lost our way (we did not know that we lost our way) and then came up to the road from another route. It was very interesting though :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrsdanushkajayatunge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumasalla Mountain also viewed

 
Galle, Southern Province
 

Been to Rumasalla Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing