We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pedlar62 Guest House
Ranked #7 of 125 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My daughter and I recently spent a memorable relaxing week here and really enjoyed ourselves. Great location, clean and comfortable rooms as many others have said. Breakfast on the balcony overlooking Pedlar Street was great. The hosts, Ravi and family, are welcoming and attentive to guests' needs, even coooking a special dinner one evening which was delicious. Thank you again for everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    47
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
28
129
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our visit to Galle was not just for a few days but for 10 .we stayed in two guest houses while we were there.the first was Pedlar 62 and it is the only place in Sri Lanka I was sad to leave.
The difference is it is run by a hands on family with Ravi doing most of the work with backup from his Mum and Dad.Our room was spotless with a great modern decor . I think Ravi has worked in top hotels and learnt that little touches such as real jam yes that's real jam not flavoured sugar is served with cooked toast not hot bread. The tea is perfect and the fruit plate done with artistic flair.We also sampled a Sri lankan breakfast that was yummy and staying for 7 days Ravi offered a Sri Lankan Dinner which was cooked by his Mum and was one of the best meals we have had in our 3 week stay in Sri Lanka.Ravi was full of local knowledge and if he didn't know something he knew who to ask.We are now in a more expensive Villa but I can't for the life of me figure why it is nearly twice the price.Thanks to Ravi and family we will always remember our time in Galle Fort.

Room Tip: I think all rooms were good. Ours had AC and it did make a diffence in the heat. There is a lovely u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadhanayabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here for a week and can say we enjoyed it more than anywhere else we were in Sri Lanka. The location is perfect, right in the centre of the Fort. Our room was bright, clean, comfortable with an excellent bathroom. There is a spacious balcony overlooking Pedlar St (which is quiet nearly all the time) and another guest sitting area. The family are downstairs which means they are always there when needed but you do not have to interact with them if not needed. Ravi and his parents are wonderful hosts, with a great sense of doing everything just right for you. Ravi's mother cooked us a wonderful Sri Lankan dinner on one night and this was probably the best meal we had. The smiles and sense of humour added greatly to the pleasure of our stay. We were sorry to say goodbye.

Room Tip: Anywhere upstairs is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
136 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

After a disaster elsewhere I found this place. Super comfy bed, not too hard not too soft. Very clean room. Lovely family running the place and a standard but good breakfast. One of the better places I stayed at during travels round Sri Lanka and for Galle at a very reasonable price. I would make sure to book it again if I were returning to the area. Well done Ravi and family you have got what the independent traveller needs just right.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I was really impressed by this guest house. Rooms and bathrooms were well done and very clean. The beds were comfy. Breakfast very tasty and location great. This is probably one the best places to stay in Galle. I was ill whilst there and Ravi and his family were great and offered help and bought me breakfast to the room-they are a lovely family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Mantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Pedlar62 is a fantastic location right in the heart of the Galle Fort.
The room and bathroom was super clean and the breakfast was yummy!

The room got a little hot with just the fan which surprised us as we didnt need to use AC for the whole of our trip. So AC would've been welcomed for us!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is the best place in Galle. Truly enjoyed staying with Ravi and his family. The room was spacious and cool. It's located in a quiet alley inside the fort. Everything is within walking distance. Breakfast is wonderful. Very nice people. Thank you!

Room Tip: Ravi will give you the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serenpidity311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.0 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
515 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fort Bazaar
The Fort Bazaar
#1 of 23 in Galle
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deco On 44
Deco On 44
#5 of 23 in Galle
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fort Bliss Galle
Fort Bliss Galle
#3 of 125 in Galle
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fortaleza
Fortaleza
#9 of 125 in Galle
223 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fort Printers
The Fort Printers
#2 of 125 in Galle
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedlar62 Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedlar62 Guest House

Property: Pedlar62 Guest House
Address: No 62 Pedlar Street, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pedlar62 Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We at Pedlar62 are proud of its unique atmosphere located within the heart of Galle fort, the Dutch Unesco World Heritage Site situated in the southern part of Sri Lanka. Pedlar62 is not just only another place where you find lodgings to spend your holiday but also offers you the most comfortable stay within a price you can afford. It is indeed a pleasure for us to serve you to make your journey so memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pedlar62 Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing