We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean quiet good value room in a brilliant location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pedlar62 Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pedlar62 Guest House
Ranked #9 of 274 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean quiet good value room in a brilliant location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed three nights with Ravi. The room was spacious, clean, good mattress, mosquito netting and large bathroom. We enjoyed the wifi, sitting on the terrace balcony and the books and magazines available. Breakfast was good and we found Ravi's knowledge invaluable in planning our trip. If anything could be improved, a fruit juice for breakfast would be lovely (as one of us doesn't drink tea or coffee), and maybe an extra towel (because one of us has longer hair to dry!).

Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 8cdinsdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    46
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
28
126
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Excellent experience. The host is very nice and service is prodessional and nice and warm. The room is very clean and smells good. The host prepared all the breakfast by himself and all of the food is delicious. We at last took photo together and consulted lots of questions to the host, Ravi. He is really kind and nice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Peddlar 62 is at the heart of the fort, small guest house with 4 rooms to rent in various types; spacious clean room and bathroom. Ravi, the man in charge, and his parents are very hospitable, accommodating and concern with the satisfaction of the guests.
He would often chat with us during breakfast time about Galle, Fort, and how much was it to bargain for TukTuk.
Breakfast is nice and simple of coffee or tea, fruit plate, toast with jams and egg either fried or scrambled, or if you are nice enough you might even be able to ask for a Sri Lankan breakfast, I did and I liked it.
A note, no Sri Lankan restaurant in the fort, all European and very pricey. We went outside the fort for most nights to find little restaurants for locals with hoppers and kottu in the menu. Eat like the locals, you can eat your European food when you are back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneFishonaHook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and by the end really felt very much at home. It has great location with shops and restaurnts nearby (however if you want true Sri lankan food and not at rip off prices dont eat in fort, better go into the city). The room was spacious and clean and ensuite was good. The family were very friendly and we got a great chance to high 5 with the 2 year old that was often there to say hi and bye. Ravi was a great host and gave good info on where to go and what to do and even provided a sri lankan breakfast for us when we felt more adventurous by day 3. I would stay here again no issue...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 225Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This really is a wonderful guesthouse. Ravi and his parents are wonderful hosts and can't do enough to help. It's centrally located within Galle, the rooms are spotlessly clean with comfortable beds and great sheets. The breakfasts on the balcony are equally lovely. I stayed in far more expensive hotels in Sri Lanka but this one was better than most of them. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Pedlar62 is a very nice guesthouse, very clean, very tasteful interior design with modern rooms and bathrooms, well equipped (mosquito net, fan, A/C in some rooms, hot water). Beds are really comfortable with white sheets :) It has a lovely terrace where you can have breakfast and a lovely little library where you can borrow books. Breakfast is also good. Very good value for money overall. Ravi and his parents are very nice hosts, welcoming and taking of everything. We wish them a lot of success with their guesthouse! They deserve it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Le0nie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a lovely B&B centrally, but peacefull located in Galle Fort. Ravi does everything to make your stay comfortable, including organising drivers and tuk-tuks for excursions. The rooms are immaculately clean - ours had A/C and a fan, as well as a mosquito net. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet. Breakfast, on the terrace, was good. Definitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellers86_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.0 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#17 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
0.1 mi away
Fort Bliss Galle
Fort Bliss Galle
#7 of 274 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Fort Printers
The Fort Printers
#3 of 274 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Haven Guest House
Beach Haven Guest House
#31 of 274 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fortaleza
Fortaleza
#15 of 274 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedlar62 Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedlar62 Guest House

Property: Pedlar62 Guest House
Address: No 62 Pedlar Street, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 274 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pedlar62 Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We at Pedlar62 are proud of its unique atmosphere located within the heart of Galle fort, the Dutch Unesco World Heritage Site situated in the southern part of Sri Lanka. Pedlar62 is not just only another place where you find lodgings to spend your holiday but also offers you the most comfortable stay within a price you can afford. It is indeed a pleasure for us to serve you to make your journey so memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pedlar62 Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing