We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pedlar62 Guest House
Ranked #8 of 128 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This really is a wonderful guesthouse. Ravi and his parents are wonderful hosts and can't do enough to help. It's centrally located within Galle, the rooms are spotlessly clean with comfortable beds and great sheets. The breakfasts on the balcony are equally lovely. I stayed in far more expensive hotels in Sri Lanka but this one was better than most of them. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    49
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
28
130
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Pedlar62 is a very nice guesthouse, very clean, very tasteful interior design with modern rooms and bathrooms, well equipped (mosquito net, fan, A/C in some rooms, hot water). Beds are really comfortable with white sheets :) It has a lovely terrace where you can have breakfast and a lovely little library where you can borrow books. Breakfast is also good. Very good value for money overall. Ravi and his parents are very nice hosts, welcoming and taking of everything. We wish them a lot of success with their guesthouse! They deserve it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Le0nie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a lovely B&B centrally, but peacefull located in Galle Fort. Ravi does everything to make your stay comfortable, including organising drivers and tuk-tuks for excursions. The rooms are immaculately clean - ours had A/C and a fan, as well as a mosquito net. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet. Breakfast, on the terrace, was good. Definitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellers86_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Excellent place - Ravi and his family were fantastic hosts - great rooms, great breakfast, great location, great value. The only complaint I would have is that everything was quoted in USD; when we came to pay the exchange rate used on the bill for rupees was slightly unfavourable and higher than any other hotel that I stayed at in Sri Lanka. Not worth haggling over a few hundred rupees at the time, but might be worth confirming the price in rupees as well as in USD. But this is a tiny point; overall the place was great and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisH29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here for our last 2 nights in sri lanka. For this price range it is a fantastic place to stay. The rooms are very well designed by the owner himself and are really clean. It is situated in the centre of the fort near some great shops and restaurants. The breakfast is alsno good and the family is really nice. This is truly ons of the best places we stayed at in sri lanka! Good value for Your money!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eveline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We are so glad we chose to stay at Pedlar62. Galle was the last place on our itinerary and we had planned to splurge. The Printers was full and some of the others a little out of our price range. How glad we were we stumbled across Pedlar62 as it is not in lonely planet. It was certainly the best room we stayed in, very romantic with a four post bed, mosquito net and lovely furniture. From speaking to other travellers the rooms are on par with some of the rooms at the larger hotels in Galle. Because it is part of a family home, the entrance is obviously not as impressive as some of the other places, but for a third of the cost, this is obsolete as you can always dine at the other hotels anyway. Ravi and his parents are very gracious hosts and can help you with anything you need. Ravi recommended Jungle Beach to us, a small cove outside of Galle and it was perfect for what we wanted to do that day.

Breakfasts were more of the usual (i.e. fruit and eggs) but cooked to perfection and great coffee. There is also the option of a more traditional breakfast which we had on the last day and was very tasty. Oh and the bed sheets were beautiful and the a/c was very nice as it is very hot and humid.

Galle is a great place to visit and the Fort area is very relaxing with quality boutique shopping, well worth a trip.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The guest house is centrally located inside the Fort and the rooms are basic but clean. There is a nice verandah on which to take your breakfast and to hang out. Ravi and his family are great hosts. The breakfasts are simple but filling. This is a great choice at this price level.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladybug789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.0 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Fort Bazaar
The Fort Bazaar
#1 of 23 in Galle
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mango House
Mango House
#4 of 128 in Galle
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fort Bliss Galle
Fort Bliss Galle
#3 of 128 in Galle
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fortaleza
Fortaleza
#9 of 128 in Galle
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedlar62 Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedlar62 Guest House

Property: Pedlar62 Guest House
Address: No 62 Pedlar Street, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pedlar62 Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We at Pedlar62 are proud of its unique atmosphere located within the heart of Galle fort, the Dutch Unesco World Heritage Site situated in the southern part of Sri Lanka. Pedlar62 is not just only another place where you find lodgings to spend your holiday but also offers you the most comfortable stay within a price you can afford. It is indeed a pleasure for us to serve you to make your journey so memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pedlar62 Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing