We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modest Clean Tidy all you need in the Galle Fort for a night or two...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pedlar62 Guest House
Ranked #7 of 167 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Pedlar62 guest house is a relatively new establishment to take on the accommodation scene inside the UNESCO heritage listed picturesque galle fort.

The establishment has two floors with one non-ac bedroom downstairs and 3 spacious AC rooms upstairs. The upstairs baths are quite spacious too. The non AC room was rather comfortable. The fourpost bed inside with a full mosquito net around it was ample for two and secure from pesky mozies although there were few if any in the room to worry about.

The bathroom was well appointed with an excellent fast heater for hot the hot water shower including a refreshing cold rain shower option!

Pedlar62 is quite close to most fort restaurants and walks are always quite pleasant at any point during the day.

The onsite guest managing family are very helpful and friendly. It is quite welcoming and homely infact. They will help with most inquiries related to the fort and its attractions.

The upstairs balcony is a welcome retreat & came in very handy for card games, great laughs and a few drinks with friends! One can read a book or watch the activity in the street below.

The noise levels inside the fort are kept at a very low level given that its a residential precinct as well. There is no real nightlife as such inside the fort & the nearest such activity can be found in Unawatuna which is about a 400Rs meter tuktuk ride away. Wijaya beach with its famous wood fired italian pizzas is also a great getaway for the day at a 600Rs meter tuktuk ride away. Please note tuktuks are a must negotiate item before getting inside! There are no tuks inside the fort at night so one must venture out of the fort. When walking around at night keep to the well lit main roads. There are street dogs who bark at you but are harmless.

Please note that alcohol is not served in many establishments inside the fort, but a handful. Some establishments do allow you to BYO into the establishment for a corkage fee. The food and bev prices inside the fort are quite high and quality is good enough as well. Hotel Rampart offers a great spot for a few drinks and food as well! Do check out the haunted room and the story behind it while you are there!

Would definitely go back to Pedlar62 as the there is good management, accommodation is great, the location is very handy, and prices are very reasonable.

Room Tip: Upstairs is more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reviewsplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 250 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were only here for one night in January and wish it could have been longer. This was our favorite guesthouse of the trip – lovely, clean and airy bedroom, really comfortable bed! Also loved the en-suite bathroom and big shower (hot water also). The look and feel of the guesthouse is generally very bright and clean, with really nice white washed walls. The location is also perfect, right in the centre of the fort. We really enjoyed breakfast on the verandah overlooking the street below in the morning. You can see that the owner, Ravi, pays a lot of attention to detail to how the table's laid and how the food is presented, we appreciated the little touches. Ravi and his family are lovely hosts and we'd definitely come back. Quick WI-FI too!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank PhiF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The location of Pedlar62 is very convenient in the centre of Fort Galle which makes it very easy to explore the area. Ravi and his family are very friendly hosts, the rooms are very clean and quiet. You have the option to choose between with or without aircon. The highlight for us was the breakfast on the veranda overlooking Pedlar Street and enjoying the good food in a very relaxed atmosphere.

We can definitely recommend the place, it is very good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BalmoralShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We've only stayed for two nights in Pedlar62 but we wished to stay longer. It has a perfect location - nearly in the centre of Galle Fort. The room was big, clean, also there's a nice balcony, we enjoyed chating together with our friends there in the evening. What surprised me most was the breakfast Mr.Ravy made for us, he was one of the best person I've met in Sri Lanka! Perfect Pedlar62! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JIALI W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Our five nights in Galle have been a highlight of our trip, thanks in no small part to this wonderful guest house, and the lovely owners. The rooms are spotlessly clean (bathroom cleaned every day), spacious and nicely decorated. Ravi and his family take a lot of pride and put a lot of effort into making sure you enjoy your stay, and have everything you need. The eastern breakfast is also amongst the best we've had in our 3 weeks here.

Needs six stars.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djtherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Having stayed at many guest houses along the south coast, I can easily say that this is THE BEST value for money. The rooms are so clean, spacious and comfortable with other luxuries such as wi-fi, hot water and air conditioning that actually works. Ravi, is a very friendly and accommodating owner as are his entire family. Would highly recommend Pedlar62 to anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sash_abay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was a great guest house. Rooms immaculate, service exceptional and all for such a good price.

The owner was so friendly and made the trip all the more enjoyable. I asked for a recommendation for a restaurant and he suggested one for me and dropped me off on his moped and then waited for me to bring me back, very kind.

Definitely recommend!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefjane80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
0.1 mi away
Fort Bliss Galle
Fort Bliss Galle
#2 of 167 in Galle
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mango House
Mango House
#4 of 167 in Galle
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seagreen Guesthouse
Seagreen Guesthouse
#5 of 167 in Galle
552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antic
Antic
#3 of 167 in Galle
101 reviews
0 mi away
Muhsin Villa
Muhsin Villa
#13 of 167 in Galle
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedlar62 Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedlar62 Guest House

Address: No 62 Pedlar Street, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 167 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: $55 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pedlar62 Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We at Pedlar62 are proud of its unique atmosphere located within the heart of Galle fort, the Dutch Unesco World Heritage Site situated in the southern part of Sri Lanka. Pedlar62 is not just only another place where you find lodgings to spend your holiday but also offers you the most comfortable stay within a price you can afford. It is indeed a pleasure for us to serve you to make your journey so memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Pedlar62 Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing