We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty but also for your wallet”
Review of Fortaleza

Fortaleza
Ranked #10 of 147 Restaurants in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Fortaleza is a courtyard Restaurant with a Bar. We serve Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Our menu is Western with an Asian influence. We have a specials board which changes almost every day.
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Superb setting , good wines , mexican food is very good but overall little expensive, but we went two times ;) finally a decent glas of wine !

Thank kristoffAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ethan S, Manager at Fortaleza, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

Thank you for your feedback and comments, i apologize if we did not live up to your full expectations in proportion to the price. However i am very glad you chose to return to enjoy the cuisine and wine selection we have to offer for a second time while you were here.

Thank you

Ethan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 289 of 493 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2014

We had dinner here while staying in Galle and the food is excellent. A particular hit was the chocolate fudge cake which was to die for !!

Thank DHIntellCap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ethan S, Manager at Fortaleza, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

Thank you for this excellent review !

I shall pass your comments along to Chef Arun who i know will be pleased..

Hope to see you back again

Ethan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

My family and me went to dinner at Fortaleza tonight and I must say we all exited the restaurant very disappointed.
The atmosphere of the restaurant is really nice, the place is clean and pretty, but the food is not very good and the prices are crazy!
We bought two BBQ menus, and they were quite disappointing: the menu consisted on 4 skewers of each of these foods: chicken, calamari, prawns, and beef. But you couldn't even taste the prawns because of all the sauces and spices that were on them, and both the beef and chicken were minced meat pressed together. There were also 4 slices of garlic bread (which were good) and some salad and grilled vegetables.
The nice thing about the dinner is that they bring you a small grill and you get to cook your own dinner. The bad one is the price! We paid more than 7.000 rupees for two menus. That's crazy, on our opinion! Yesterday we are a more satisfying dinner for 1.200 rupees! And we can easily eat more and better food in Italy for the same price. A price like this is way our of place in Sri Lanka, especially for the dinner offered.
All in all, the restaurant looks nice but the food is not worth your money.
Beware: they add 10% to the prices you see on the menu, and then another 12% on the price+10%, so you will spend more than you imagine!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ChiisanaSaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ethan S, Manager at Fortaleza, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and feedback, both good and bad it is a great benefit to our development. It’s disappointing to hear that you didn't like the table top BBQ as we have many customers who return to enjoy them. We will re taste the prawn marinade.
The BBQ menu consists of 24 marinated skewers, 12 meat and 12 assorted veg, garlic bread, and two side salads to share between two. With regards to the price, I apologize that you found little value in your experience here, VAT is an ordinary government tax which unfortunately we are subject to be charged, it is stated on the menu but this may be why are prices seem a little higher.

Again, thank you for your comments and feedback; I can assure you that they will not go overlooked.

Warm regards

Ethan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Central location in galle fort. Friendly staff. Lovely atmosphere and feel - decor, candlelight etc. the food was so yummy! We had the spicy chicken fajitas and choc brownie - not very Sri Lankan but so good and a nice change. Some of the best food we had during 5 weeks in Sri Lanka. The prices are on the expensive side, compared with other restaurants in galle and the country in general, but worth it for the quality. Definitely recommend this restaurant if you are in galle for the evening.

Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ethan S, Manager at Fortaleza, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you very much for the high recommendations ! We hope to welcome you back to enjoy the food here again soon !

Warm regards

Ethan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Having visited Galle Fort and many of its popping restaurants. I felt like i was in another country more like in the Mediterranean or south American villa turned restaurant. Although the prices are not cheap the freshness of the ingredients and the limited buy delicious dishes on offer with the hard to find bubbly inside Galle Fort makes this my top restaurant in Galle at the moment.

The beautiful foliage inc some home grown herbs and veggies coupled with the beautifully restored villa of the 1800's makes it an experience one should not miss.

We loved the food but felt that the deserts do need some fine tuning.... will be back :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roshan_Withanage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ethan S, Manager at Fortaleza, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

It is great to hear you enjoyed your experience at this unique little place in the fort, thank you very much for the kind review ! I will pass your comments regarding the desserts along to the team in the kitchen. We hope you return again to find plenty of improvements.

Warm regards

Ethan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fortaleza also viewed

 
Galle, Galle District
 

Been to Fortaleza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing