We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Courtyard setting, a good range of food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fortaleza

Fortaleza
Ranked #9 of 134 Restaurants in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Asian, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Fortaleza is a courtyard Restaurant with a Bar. We serve Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Our menu is Western with an Asian influence. We have a specials board which changes almost every day.
Hertford, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Courtyard setting, a good range of food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Lovely setting, good food and 3 rooms that I believe are offered on a B&B basis. We ate here for new year's eve. The staff quickly accommodated by dietary needs. Food was tasty, well presented and the service was always delivered with a smile.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maz2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    180
    53
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best food in the Fort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had a wonderful family lunch here, and the food was just unbelievable! A wonderful fusion menu offers everything from soup to seared tuna salad (my favourite), to vegetarian options. My husband still dreams of the beef burger...
Kids had a great time playing in the enclosed courtyard, and the service was superb! We spoke to the chef on our way out & he was delightful.
Great lime juice, too - get a pitcher & settle in for a lazy afternoon!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely location, food and wine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

First off, this is one of the few places inside the Fort which serves alcohol, which was nice. I enjoyed a reasonably priced spritzer with my meal.
The restaurant is situated within a small courtyard which is very pleasant. I ate one of the specials which was fish with mash and sautéed veg. It was delicious. For pud I had the banoffie tart, which again was very tasty. The service was a little slow, but not frustratingly slow.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smartej32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lacks good service despite good potential”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Restaurant is located inside a colonial House inside the Fort of Galle.
Restaurants entrance as well as eating area are well & simple decorated.
Food menu is very limited offering that day only a selection of 3 main courses.
I had the rice curry which was ok.
Main problem is the super slow and disorganised service despite number of servers in the restaurant.
Management should definitely improve the service as to not waste the potential this place can offer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hich_AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel and courtyard with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We happened upon this place by just walking by and seeing the courtyard. It was a lovely place and a welcome menu after 2 weeks of eating Sri Lankan food. The lamb and the pumpkin soup were delicious and fresh tasting. The staff were friendly and it was a nice place to chill out for a few hours

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelgrl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fortaleza also viewed

 
Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 
Galle, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 

Been to Fortaleza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing