We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
Review of Fortaleza

Fortaleza
Ranked #9 of 136 Restaurants in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Fortaleza is a courtyard Restaurant with a Bar. We serve Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Our menu is Western with an Asian influence. We have a specials board which changes almost every day.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Nice lunch here - menu good, lovely peaceful setting inside a walled garden. Only negative thing was when we asked fro more bread to go with our pate they gave us toasted crusts which I thought was a bit mean. Would have happily paid extra for the nice toast that origianlly came with it!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    182
    56
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely venue”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

I brilliant restaurant and beautiful location. Well worth a visit to really chill. The food is well presented an the table BBQ is a great experience

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyneham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“So good we went back the next evening”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

After a week of traditional Sri Lankan fare we were delighted to discover, quite by chance, this refreshingly different restaurant in the centre of the historic fort in Galle. We were greeted at the door by Natalie who talked through the menu and showed us to a good table in what can only be described as the most chilled, peaceful and interesting "inside" courtyard. Natalie has made great use of an historic feature wall and complemented this with contemporary, but tasteful, furnishings and low lighting. The end result, with appropriate discreet music, is the most restful and relaxed atmosphere.
The menu choices, sensibly restricted to only three or four for each course, were varied and appealing. Daliy specials are written on the board. We chose the table top barbecue on our first visit - a feast of meat,vegetable and seafood kebabs to cook at our own pace - delicious. the second night we had the meze and a singapore chicken burger. Again, great quality and well presented food. Desserts here are also excellent!
Natalie's staff provided a discreet but efficient service and are a credit to her.
If you find yourself in Galle, you must visit Fortaleza - it is a truly wonderful restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie R, Manager at Fortaleza, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for such a complimentary review it was a pleasure to meet you both a hope that you will visit us all again when your next in Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
638 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
“Great little oasis and a nice break from curry and rice!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Fortaleza is a perfect little courtyard escape. Once you step through the gate you can't help but relax. It is almost a zen rock garden at the front, with a few communal table and a handful,of smaller tables. If you want to relax over a juice there is also a comfortable bench against the wall.

The menu is short and eclectic, certainly aimed at Western tourists. There are only a handful of entrees. I had the meeze platter, a small platter of hummus, olives, roasted peppers, and a bit of green salad. It was perfect for a light evening meal, especially for 1,000 LKR (about $8). Also on the menu are fajitas and a chicken burger marinated in Singapore sauce. They seem to be focusing on the seasonal specials. The night I was there they had mahi mahi in a basil pesto sauce, and Australian ribeye. The Australian next to me went for the steak and was very impressed. It seemed a bargain at 2,700 LKR.

Service was prompt and friendly. The restaurant has only been open for a few months so the management seem to still be keeping a keen eye on things to train the staff. The younger staff are still a bit rough around the edges, but they make up for it in their efficiency and natural friendliness.

The restaurant does not serve liquor. They specialize in fresh squeezed fruit juices. I had the lime and honey with dinner. Very refreshing.

It is also open during the day for tea or juices. It made a perfect little break from walking the streets of the Fort. It would be easy to while away the afternoon there. On that visit I again had one of their fruit juice specials. It was terrific and hard to beat at less than $2 for fresh squeezed juice.

The sandwich boards they put on the street only vaguely hint at the idea that it's a restaurant. The actual restaurant sign is carved wood over the door, and easy to miss.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie R, Manager at Fortaleza, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you, I'm so pleased that you found Fortaleza to be a tranquil environment and that you enjoyed the food and ambiance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fortaleza also viewed

 
Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 
Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 

Been to Fortaleza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing