We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The lime and mint coolers are a must !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crepe-ology

Crepe-ology
Ranked #6 of 235 Restaurants in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Come upstairs and relax in our beautiful terrace and lounge in the world heritage Galle Fort. Enjoy our delicious sweet & savory crepes, salads & wraps, wide variety of coffees & teas, our famous chiller drinks, and a daily selection of homemade cakes & baguettes. In the evening, our candle lit terrace is the perfect place to stretch out on a couch with a cappuccino and share a shisha with friends. We even have an A/C family room with couch, dining table and play area for the kids! We're open from 11:30am to 9pm 7 days a week, we accept credit cards, and offer free wi-fi.
Dubin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The lime and mint coolers are a must !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great food and many options to choose from . Friendly staff and nice roof top terrace . The drinks are fab and you must ,must, must have mint lime cooler .

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andypearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    644
    314
    83
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fresh food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

My daughter and I went to the crepe-ology one morning when we felt we wanted a change from our hotel breakfast. It was a nice change. Super fresh food with lots of flavour. Try the lime and mint drink... It's very refreshing any time of day. Its worth reading the info about the owners and their back ground. I wish they had been there on the day so we could have met them.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank melinda075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Food was excellent, service was not . . .”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying the restaurant is furnished lovely, a nice rustic outdoor rooftop terrace that has obviously had a lot of thought put into it.
The food was lovely and you can see by watching the chefs, the amount of care that goes into making these. We tried the pesto chicken, Mexican chilli beef, banofee and a choc hazelnut with ice cream, all of which were generously filled and bursting with flavour, although I would steer clear of the herb potatoes as four tiny chunks, in my books anyway, does not make a sufficient side.
The drinks were not bad by any means but I was disappointed that my mint and lime chiller, the restaurants signature drink, was lacking ice so much, you would be surprised to know it was a blended beverage. That said my partners passion and mango soda was refreshing.
On to the service. What service! We were sitting in a pretty much empty restaurant for 10 minutes before we got our drinks ordered and another 20 minutes before they were delivered to the table. We also asked for sauce to accompany our mains and had to retrieve it ourselves after waiting so long.
To have to wait 30 minutes for a drink in any restaurant is a disgrace, let alone in one that can charge over 800rs for a pancake. I put it down to the 10% service charge being added automatically making the servers lazy, where there is time to openly chat to each other all evening in the middle of the restaurant, but can't be bothered to carry out their duties. There is no way the service staff are sourced from international outfits as the menu states, although I can imagine the staff in the kitchen are.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JJno41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Certainly worth it's No1 rating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Superb happy staff. Great value and amazing iced mango and passion fruit tea. Can't recommend this place high enough for its uniqueness, menu and professional well timed service

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Edwarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Do NOT miss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

A relief from the same old same old, refreshing mint lime beverage, best creeps ever...Happy Ending crepe with hazelnut spread, bananas, chocolate and ice cream is so yummy, want it everyday!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crepe-ology also viewed

Galle, Southern Province
Galle, Southern Province
 
Galle, Southern Province
Galle, Southern Province
 

Been to Crepe-ology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing