We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“must visit and revisit while in Galle!”
Review of Crepe-ology

Crepe-ology
Ranked #4 of 136 Restaurants in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: WE'LL BE CLOSED JUNE 1 - JUNE 21 FOR RENOVATIONS Come upstairs and relax in our beautiful terrace and lounge in the world heritage Galle Fort. Enjoy our delicious sweet & savory crepes, salads & wraps, wide variety of coffees & teas, our famous chiller drinks, and a daily selection of homemade cakes & baguettes. In the evening, our candle lit terrace is the perfect place to stretch out on a couch with a cappuccino and share a shisha with friends. We even have an A/C family room with couch, dining table and play area for the kids! We're open from 11:30am to 9pm 7 days a week, we accept credit cards, and offer free wi-fi.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“must visit and revisit while in Galle!”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Ambience - comfortable, colorful, light music that wont bother your conversations, open kitchen (you can see your food getting cooked! :D)
Staff - friendly, smiling & happy to help/serve :)
Food - crepes are very tasty. served hot. and visually will make your mouth water
Drinks - Juices, sodas & coffees are the best in Srilanka.
Hosts - Murray & Seema (the owners) make sure that everyone is comfortable and love to chat with you. :)
Accessibility - located conveniently in Galle fort area. They are open till later than most of the eating joints in Galle Fort.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Damanjit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    666
    326
    87
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful little tucked away cafe”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We visited Galle for the day and the tuk-tuk driver dropped us off outside and we were greeted by the owner who was very, very friendly. The terrace is beautiful with an option of outside seating with fan, or inside (no view) with air con.

Staff all spoke brilliant English and service was fast and friendly.

Food was lovely- nice alternative to the strange western dishes other restaurants serve up. A little expensive but worth it!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“So charming!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I stumbled upon this little gem walking through the Galle Fort on our honeymoon. After a few days of local Sri Lankan food we wanted something different and were so pleased that we found this spot. The decor is absolutely lovely, the food was good and the hookah was tasty! Also loved that it is located on an upstairs cozy little patio. We had the opportunity to speak with the owner and also happened to run into her and her husband a few days later..such kind people who will undoubtedly do well with their new place. Try this place if you're in Sri Lanka!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Warm and friendly place with great coffee, food and the greatest company!!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The bar was already raised high due to the reviews and the word-of-mouth references we had come across...and the food definitely met the expectations. The coffee - well it surpassed them. 5 days into the tea drinking nation, I was badly craving a good coffee...I could almost hear "Hallelujah" at the first sip of their Iced Mocha.

The place is located on an unassuming street of Galle Fort and you may miss the entrance on the first go. However, once you are in, you see how tastefully the interiors are done. They are simple and bright and actually in line with the spirit of the cafe and Galle, in general. A place where you would meet strangers and chat over the coffee and crepes.

The menu is pretty extensive and the team is flexible enough to alter it as per your liking. The staff is pretty skilled and cheerful. It's an open kitchen and it adds to the the whole environment of "come-lets-talk-and-have-fun".

Murray and Seema (the owners) are probably the USP of this place (I dont think they realise this) becuase they are genuinely warm and friendly. They connect with the guests pretty instantly and you will feel special!

What will keep this place is going is the food (and i do hope they have their bakery soon, like they are planning) and what will keep this place special is the team and the charm of its owners.

Photos to follow soon!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akankshabumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
125 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Out of the way roof-garden cafe that does what it says it's going to do: provide you with an excellent meal with outstanding service. If only all of the restaurants in Galle would / could do the same.

Lovely lunch: salad for my wife (Nutty Chicken) was a light repast that she savoured. She said that the chicken was prepared "perfectly". Crepe for me (Brand New Day w/ prawns) that I thoroughly enjoyed.

The ambiance of the restaurant is just right for a very enjoyable meal. (Music and decor is spot-on.)

Wait staff (Chatura) was attentive but not overbearing. Suggested a nice enhancement (adding a touch of ginger) to their Mint Chiller. Drinks and food prepared in good time and presentation was very nice.

All and all, a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BLA07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crepe-ology also viewed

 
Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 
Unawatuna, Galle District
 

Been to Crepe-ology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing