We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime boutique hotel in the heart of quaint Galle”
Review of Fortaleza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fortaleza
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Fortaleza is an elegant and wonderfully appointed oasis in a lovely colonial town. We stayed a day in a beautifully appointed room. Clean, elegantly designed bathroom. The owner, Natalie, is an amazing hostess. We enjoyed our stay immensely in this charming boutique hotel. Five stars for ambiance, service, food, and well. everything!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nini822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 244 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I visited for dinner in november wanting to give my cousin a special evening out ... and that I most certainly got at Fortaleza !!! The ambience was magical .. takibg you toba far off land ... fantastic seafood bbq ... great wine and such personal and warm service ... Two thumbs up !!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank U328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Fortaleza is a beautifully done out old building with quality furnishings, delicious food and warm,friendly service. The owner Natalie makes sure her guests have a special experience within the fort and is always available to share tips on where to go. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keely P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The newly renovated old warehouse in the center of the Galle fort is a small oasis of of stylish surroundings, good food and great service. The place only has a few rooms and the British lady who owns it is around to give tips on the city/country.

The rooms are kept in colonial style, very stylish interior with high standard focus on cleanliness. The staff has focus on the little details that characterises five star service level!

If you can afford this, definitely go here rather than one of the bigger 5 star hotels in Galle, or in Galle Fort.

Room Tip: Go for the biggest bedroom if it available. Leaves you with true colonial, historic feeling - and do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Levystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

With only four rooms, this hotel is very exclusive and beautifully set up.The family room we had was fabulous, although, the first floor landing has no handrail, which is why there is a policy of no under 12s in first floor rooms.

We also ate in the restaurant, which was very good, but were a bit disappointed by the chef's special of roast chicken. fir somewhere that is trying to be exclusive, I would have expected a more adventurous menu.

Overall, the staff are very polite and accommodating, even giving us an early breakfast, as we had a long day ahead after our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

After 11 days in Sri Lanka, I could not face any more curry . I found Fortaleza on tripadvisor and we decided to head off to the fort.
The place is funk, cool, chic , makes you feel outside of Sri Lanka for a few hours.
Was sunday and the special was a Sunday Roast chicken and veg. Best roast potatos I have had in ages.
As a chocolate fan I ordered a brownie. Goodness me, I could easily eat another 10 , was gorgeous.
A bit pricey for Srilankan standards

Room Tip: Didn't stay at the hotel , was only at the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrloughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have just enjoyed 2 very comfortable nights in the Master Bedroom at Fortaleza, Galle Fort.
This boutique hotel ( only 3 rooms) has the perfect mix of stylishness, comfort and a lovely laid back feel. Our bedroom had the best bed we have had over the last 12 nights and the room was very tastefully and thoughtfully furnished.
We enjoyed relaxing in the courtyard on the big couches with the friendly Trevor the resident cat beside us. Cam who was looking after the hotel while Natalie and Liam were having a well earned break was a delightful hostess doing an excellent job of ensuring our comfort. On our second night we also found our dinner of fajitas delicious.
Everything about Fortaleza has a warm feel and we were sorry to leave. Many other hoteliers could learn by their example and I thoroughly recommend this hotel. Thank you Cam and staff.

Room Tip: The Master bedroom was decorated beautifully and such a comfortable bed and armchairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#8 of 26 in Galle
588 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bartizan
The Bartizan
#12 of 26 in Galle
39 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 26 in Galle
255 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 26 in Galle
1,834 reviews
3 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#6 of 26 in Galle
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortaleza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortaleza

Address: No. 9 Church Cross Street | Galle Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Galle
Price Range: $131 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fortaleza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fortaleza boutique hotel is located within the heart of Galle Fort, As its coral walls attest was once a 17th century Dutch spice warehouse. Now five comfortable air-conditioned bedrooms decked with hand made furniture and flowers exude their own personality. Set behind this beautiful building lies our shady courtyard restaurant and bar, perfect for breakfast, lunch or dinner or just a great meeting point to chill out with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fortaleza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing