We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real holiday”
Review of Jetwing Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jetwing Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
gurgaon
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“a real holiday”
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Hotel speaks out the splendor of modern living with ethnic background.Location on sea beach is a treat to eyes and real relaxation.I along with my wife spent some memorable moments in the lounge next to sea.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jksgurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Lighthouse. We are truly lucky to be able to say we have a view of the Indian Ocean to rival any on the southern coastline. I am glad you appreciate it as much as we have come to, and we look forward to having you back with us for more carefree evenings on our Verandah.

Yours Sincerely,

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,053
    477
    145
    36
    28
See reviews for
455
767
66
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

We loved the hotel. Great setting, warm welcome and proximity of Galle make it a great choice. The rooms are large and all have seaview. There are two pools and trully good and relaxing spa.

Proximity of Galle is a great advantage. Tuk-tuk ride is 10 minutes and you are in a great colonial town. With coffee places, shops and museums. We ended up going there every day as we stayed in the hotel for a week.

Staff is very helpful. We loved the assistance of Rash, who always gave us good tips about the surroundings.

What we did not like was the food in the main restaurant. Luckly there is also a very good seafood restaurant on the first floor, however most of the room service menu is taken from the poor one. We did not enjoy most of their a la carte menu. It's a pitty, cause I really counted for famous Sri Lankan food. Nothing like that.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shejnowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and I am glad you had a chance to enjoy the many facilities The Lighthouse had to offer. We always recommend guests explore our resident UNESCO world heritage site. Not only is it one of the best examples of a historic, fortified European town in South-East-Asia, it is also a fully functioning city bustling with real people going about their lives. It truly is a fascinating place.

I’m sorry you were not happy with the ala carte menu. I have spoken to our Executive Chef and together, we are in the process of diversifying our menu to better represent the wide culinary spectrum that is Sri Lankan cuisine. We do hope you will visit us again in the near future and let us know first hand if the changes we have made are satisfactory.

Yours Sincerely,

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

This hotel really is beautiful to look at - the hotel is spacious and has a 'clean' feel to it. Their are 3 pools, 1 childrens, 1 by the snack bar and one which looks out over the Indian Ocean - beautiful. Relaxing here after a tour of Sri Lanka was perfect. The room was huge, comfortable and stylish with a balcony that overlooked the swimming pool and the sea. The food at the hotel was of a good standard and it was refreshing to not have buffet style evening meals. The Cinnamon Room was a seafood restaurant where you could chose the fish/seafood and how you wanted it cooked. We had a fantistic seafood curry of seer fish and prawns. The service at this restaurant, the snack bar, the Coats and Arms Bar (have an After Sunset cocktail!), reception and the pool area was friendly and efficient. We found the service at the main Cardamon restaurant hit and miss however. It was always friendly but we often had to wait quite a while to be served (even though it wasn't busy), which we found disappointing and frustrating. This is a good location for visiting Galle town - 10 mins by tuk tuk.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenwichSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments of our hotel facilities and the appreciation of the dining options on offer. With pleasure I have already shared your review with the rest of the staff.

Please accept my apologies for the frustration and disappointment you had to face while dining in our main restaurant and only wish you had commented the same day, nevertheless your say is well noted and will be addressed at ongoing trainings and rest assured will not be repeated in the future.

Once again thank you and hope to see you again soon on your next vacation.
Yours Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 6 Contributor
844 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle , Srilanka is one of the finest properties to stay in the southern part of Srilanka. The Hotel is located right on the beach, wonderful view of the sea from the rooms with amazing ambiance. The Spa in the Hotel is very reasonably priced and the Hotel has a decent gym, an excellent pool and ample space to relax . Ideal location for a family holiday as well business meetings, the Hotel has a number of conference rooms, pretty nice bar with good selection of drinks, a snooker table on the bar, superb restaurant overlooking the ocean and a wide selection of cuisine on breakfast, lunch and dinner.
The Hotel is about 130 kms from the Colombo airport, the road from Colombo to Galle is very narrow, high traffic. It can take as much as 5 hours to travel either way of Colombo -Galle, vice versa depending upon the time of the day.This has to be factored in to the holiday/ business meet planning.
There are several interesting places to visit in around Galle, and the Hotel is very conveniently located for the local sightseeing. The Hotel's travel desk is quite efficient and helpful !
Great stay, wonderful time at Jetwing Lighthouse, feel like coming back again !

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raghuraman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Travelled to the hotel at the end of October 2010 and found it to be one of the most pleasant stays we have had anywhere in the world. The staff go the extra 'mile' at every opportunity and the whole ethos of the hotel is to make sure the guests are looked after and have a wonderful stay. The management team headed up by Wester Felthman were always around making sure things went smoothly and everything was in order.
We stayed on a half board basis and the set menu each night could only be described as fantastic. The 5/6 course menu tested all the taste buds and everything from the starter to the sweet course was well presented and excellent quality. We also experienced two theme nights whilst we were there and the food cooked at the food stations coupled with the extensive buffet was excellent. Breakfast also met all nationalities choices and was always served with a smile.The head chef and his team of 38 do a fantastic job. The rooms were clean and airy with ceiling fans and air con. If you get a room (we had 305) on the very front of the building you can sit on the balcony every night listen to the waves crashing onto the rocks below and watch the sun disappear on the horizon. You do not sit on the beach but it is okay to walk along the sea shore where there is a reef that you can see at the waters edge. This is presently the only hotel around this headland and it has a fantastic spot. You will sometimes be approached on the beach but most of the people are just trying to make a living and if you are not interested in what they have to say just say 'no thanks'. Most of the time the people are just practising their language skills but you will get the dress and shawls to buy. Sri Lanka is a very poor country but the people are really friendly and hospitable. The hotel has two big swimming pools as well as a kids pool and they are proper swimming pools not just show ones like some hotels. The Spa is excellent value and I have to say the Swedish massage we had just after we arrived was one of the best we have ever had. No problems with availability so we used the facilities three times during our 10 day stay. We only went into Galle twice and both times went to the fort (we had the same tuck tuck driven by Rana who lives at the lighthouse village. Check with the front desk and they will give you the set prices for the trip) where there are lots of small shops (try the Orchid House for specialist goods) and cafe's plus some fantastic views of the harbour, the town and the cricket ground. One person to make a special mention to is the Assistant Manager Janaka Jayasuiya. He is always on the ball and will organise anything you need day or night. Whilst we were at the hotel he even organised a visit to a local school as we had taken over some pens and pencils for the children. it was fantastic to see the faces and we wished we had taken more. The hotel run local community projects so if anyone is staying at the hotel contact Janaka and he will be able to give you information on how to help. The schools run on donations and support so every little helps. There is wi-fi in the rooms but if the signal is low go down to the business centre and the guys on the front desk will help. All in all a great boutique hotel and well worth a visit for relaxation or part of any tour of Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank creative276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments which I took pride in sharing with the management and the staff and especially with our executive Chef and his team.

With our Vision to be World Class in everything we do, we always go all-out to make your vacation relaxing and memorable in every way possible.

We always look towards contributing to develop our community and society and preserving nature. This is where all our CSR and Sustainability projects come into play. I, on behalf of the hotel and the community appreciate and value your kind and generous effort in hading out stationary to the school children.

Once again thank you very much for spending your vacation with us and hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

I traveled all over Sri Lanka for 3 weeks. The Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel was the best hotel. The hotel is very beautiful and elegant. The main lobby opens into a large, outdoor patio that faces the ocean. Our room was nicely decorated, spacious, and clean and had a balcony with an oceanview. The staff was very friendly and provided excellent service. The food was very good. The beach area is fairly small, but has a large lawn area with plenty of lounge chairs. The hotel also had a computer room with free internet access. This is a top-notch hotel, and I will definitely come back on my next visit to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZebraStarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments!

This architectural masterpiece offers an ocean view to all the guest rooms, which truly is a captivating site. This splendid architecture is toped off by our signature dining options and of course by the Jetwing experience.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. I would also like to recommend our sister hotels in Negambo, which would help you to break the journey from the airport.

Yours Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

With a splendid location overlooking the sea, this hotel is one of the best we have stayed at. Our spacious room had a balcony and a lovely sea view (as have all the rooms I believe). The room was kept very clean during our stay, and had a large bed, a sofa and a generous bathroom with bath and shower.There were tea/coffee making facilities, with a cafetiere and ground coffee. Towels were plentiful.
The hotel has a gym, two large swimming pools and a wide grassed sunbathing area adjacent to the beach. The beach itself is quiet and cleaned daily, and you can have stroll along it without being hassled.
We particularly appreciated the helpful, friendly and smiley service provided by the staff - nothing was too much trouble.
The food was outstanding with a wide choice each meal. We particularly liked the waiter served dinners, on which occasions we thought the food approached fine dining standards. There was always a good choice of Sri Lankan or International food on the menu. The Sri Lankan Head Chef is very talented and has previously worked in Europe.
Some nights, local musicians performed during dinner, but if you are looking for a loud and lively hotel, then this one is not for you.
The Hotel is a short 2K. tuk tuk ride from Galle itself (c. £4 return including a couple of hours in Galle - book through the Hotel). Do take the opportunity to have a look around this historic town. We found it very safe to walk around, as with the rest of Sri Lanka we visited.
It's also nice to learn that Jetwing put something back into the local community by being involved in a range of community and environmental schemes.
This is a hotel we hope to return to in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mendiprambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments. It was full filling to read through it.
We have now introduced the ‘Fish market’ dining experience, adding more variety to the dining options we offer along with Chef’s signature dining’s. I'm sure this will widen your options in selecting your meals, during your next visit to Jetwing Lighthouse. This year’s Whale season kick started with a record breaking sighting of 25 whales on one fine morning early November, and trust you will plan your next vacation with ‘Blue Whales’ in mind! Once again thank you and hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Yours Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
6.4 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#8 of 23 in Galle
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
5.4 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 23 in Galle
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
522 reviews
5.4 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
607 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Fortress Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lighthouse

Property: Jetwing Lighthouse
Address: Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#3 Spa Hotel in Galle
#3 Family Hotel in Galle
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Lighthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark that stands along the Galle coastline, Jetwing Lighthouse blends minimalist elegance with splashes of sophistication set amidst breathtaking ocean views. Designed by famed architect Geoffrey Bawa, this luxurious hotel lets you indulge in the finer things in life as you travel back in time and explore Sri Lanka's colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jetwing Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lighthouse Galle
Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel Galle
Lighthouse Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing