We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel, Great Location, Stunning Views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jetwing Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jetwing Lighthouse
Ranked #10 of 60 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Great Location, Stunning Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2010

I got a very good deal when I stayed here. I recently tried to rebook and it was a little expensive in peak time. Not sure I would spend anything more than £75-100max as for that price you can stay in the more exclusive boutique hotels and guesthouses.

The hotel is set with wonderful views over the Indian Ocean - as its away from Galle I also feel it benefits from a cleaner look and atmosphere. The hotel itself is beautiful but very simple clean lines. This is a Jeffrey Bawa Hotel - if you dont know him his architect designs are simply stunning. Its a fairly simple almost colonial type style. The rooms are good standard 4-5 star elegance. Service is top notch. However waiting on food is a bit slow, and whilst I had no complaints on food, I do feel that improvemenst could be made to buffet to make it more special. My room had a lovely view of the ocean and with its own balacony I spent most of my time there just chilling.

The spa is lovely and if you are a couple you should try the spa together its sounds very romantic with a plunge and jacuzzi overlooking the ocean. However be warned check what sex your masseur is when you book. (I had a bit of a surprise!)

They have 2 swimming pools a more social one by the hotel, and one further down, Plus also plenty of hammocks to snooze on.

Location wise its so close to Galle its an ideal choice - you are away from hustle and bustle but close enough to go and visit without feeling frazzled. I would heartily recommend vsiiting the old Fort area of Galle. Hotel is also very close to Unawatuna which is so laid back its a great place to come for a day to chill out (Its a favourite with the younger surfer type backpackers)

I prefer this over the Fortress as it has more character and soul to it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jedisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
Dear Guest,

Starting off I would like to thank you for your insight about Jetwing Lighthouse. Our Executive Chef appreciates your comment on the buffet and will positively consider them when planning menus in the future.

We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your visit to our spa.
Thank you once again for spending your vacation time with us and do hope that we will be able to welcome you back when you revisit Sri Lanka.

Yours Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    455
    140
    36
    26
See reviews for
417
728
63
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

This hotel is definitely not a 5 or 4 star, however having said that it is very beautiful. The long drive from Colombo was dreadful with us arriving near midnight. Room service arrived promptly and served its purpose of refuelling us. I would not say that the food was memorable. The morning juices held a lot to be desired and there was no variety at breakfast as it was practically the same thing every day.

The dogs that constantly surrounded the hotel were very annoying especially at breakfast and I would urge management to sort out this problem as a lot of customers do not want to share their meal with dogs.

I would not recommend this hotel to honeymooners as the king size bed is merely 2 single beds together with a king size sheet over it which was often torn or stitched. This was most uncomfortable for my partner and I who either slept together on one bed or on the separate beds - so not romantic!!

The gym was absolutely dreadful. It was like something out of the stone age with dated machines and no A/C. For someone who works out a least 4 times a week this was a big deal as the heat in Sri Lanka made it impossible.

I've saved the best till last as having made my previous comments the Lighthouse is most defiantly the BEST place to stay in Galle. I visited one other in Galle and although it was more luxurious the location and beach was not as good. The views are spectacular from eating breakfast, looking out of our balcony to the lobby when you first arrive. Via tuk tuk the hotel is 10 minutes from Galle city and 30 minutes from Anawutana, which has a great beach and restaurants. Danesh was our Tuk Tuk driver and he was fantastic. He took us wherever we wanted to go and recommended some great places. He also took us to his home where we met his mother and received such warm hospitality. Staff at the Lighthouse was helpful and friendly. In particular Thushara was a Godsend in sorting out an issue we had and I must give him a big thank you again. He was patient and thorough and a true credit to the hotel. The two pools were clean with ample sun beds.

All in all I would still recommend the Lighthouse as the pros certainly outweighed the cons.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelD0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
Dear Guest,
We at Jetwing hotels are proud to be a part of “SMALL LUXURY HOTELS OF THE WORLD.”

Please accept my apologies for the unpleasant experience on the road on route to the hotel! As you are aware the 30 year long civil war just ended and since then the country is on a fast track to development. A highway from Colombo to Galle is nearly complete and hopefully by your next visit we might have it up and running.

The Sri Lankan government is also looking at the option of operating a ferry from Negombo (close to international airport) to the Galle harbor to transport tourist in the future.

I would like to specially thank you for voicing out the “annoying dogs” issue as most of our guest (animal lovers) have objected in the past when the management wanted to take measures to neutralize the issue. But now with much greater feedback from guests regarding the issue we have taken steps to ensure they do not encroach on hotel grounds.

During the month of February there was some urgent maintenance work done in the GYM with regard to the A/C and once again please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused to you regarding this matter.

Apart from a few noted comments for improvement we were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your visit to Jetwing Lighthouse hotel and took great pride and pleasure in sharing your kind compliments with our team and also with the tuk tuk driver Denesh.

Yours Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redhill
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

Great room, idyllic beach view, gorgeous swimming pools (clean, deep, pefect temperature), excellent food, friendly staff. Well situated for Galle Fort but peaceful. A perfect place to chill out.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moses99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
Dear Guest,

We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your visit to Jetwing Lighthouse, and took great pride and pleasure in sharing your kind compliments with our team.

Thank you once again for your patronage and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Jetwing Lighthouse sometime in the near future and extend to you the Jetwing Hospitality, reputed for its “Personalized Care”.

Yours sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2010

Excellent value for money. Lovely atmosphere and excellent architecture by Jeffery Bawa.
Rooms are very beautifully done with a splendid view of the Indian ocean and a spacious closet and a trendy Bathroom.

Jetwing Lighthouse is a place to enjoy great food with friendly staff and excellent service in a relaxing atmosphere surrounded with great architectural work by Jeffery Bawa. A must go if you a visiting Galle.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VijiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
Dear Guest,
We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your visit to Jetwing Lighthouse. Your kind comments have been passed down and they are much appreciated.

Thank you once again for choosing Jetwing Lighthouse as your holiday destination in Sri Lanka.

Hope to see you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2010

We came to Sri Lanka to get married not really not knowing what to expect but our doubts and worries were soon brushed aside when we arrived at our hotel.This beautiful hotel has a very big wow factor the minute you walk into the reception.Its grand staircase and picturesque terrace takes your breath away.The whole layout is just amazing
We stayed at Kurulubedda which is a villa attatched to hotel about five minutes away set in its own grounds which,if you want privacy is a must with your own butler ,maid gardener and chef to look after your every wish,
the staff are so so friendly and just cant do enough for you,what more could you ask for.
we booked the wedding package andi am not lying when i say they made us feel like royalty.We would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone who would listen to us about our magical time here.
the memories we have will stay with us forever.Thank you so much.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cooljulesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, February 24, 2010
Many thanks for your wonderful comments about your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse and Jetwing Kurulubedda. The team at Jetwing is committed to provide legendary service to provide high guest satisfaction. I am sure you will return soon to experience our world class brand of hospitality. I am sure you’ve already spoken to your friends and relatives about your stay with us. Ayubowan

Wester Felthman,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

The hotel is in a great location however, it needs to be refurbished.
The design is lovel in the common areas, but the hotel accomodation and rooms are ordinary.
When we were there, there were lots of kids and no seperation in th ePools, so you had kids around whether you wanted them or not.
The restaurant looked the goods but a limited and very expensive wine selection took away from the meal.
The service in the main restaurant was pleasant but bumbling and slow.
The pool and spa were good, but I left the place feeling ho hum about the overal experience.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ADVRIDERAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
Dear Guest,

Having gone through your review, we are sorry to hear that you had an underwhelming stay at the Jetwing Lighthouse.

However your thoughts are very important to us and provide not only a true barometer of our performance, but also give us guidance as we are always looking to improve our service and standards.

There are plans to re-furbish some areas of the hotel in the near future and we have noted down your suggestions.

Once again, we thank you for your valued thoughts.
We look forward to be able to welcome you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Yours Sincerly,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
Level Contributor
372 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

The lighthouse is a beautiful hotel on a perfect location. The food is excellent including the service. The rooms are very good and very clean. Although we were on a business trip we had the feeling of holiday.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank normandic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
Dear Guest,

It was nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and i hope you keep the found memories of your recent visit to Jetwing Lighthouse.

Thank you for taking your time to complete our comment card.
Once again, we thank you for your valued thoughts.

We look forward to be able to welcome you back to our hotel again in the near future.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
9.9 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
3.5 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
2.0 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#19 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
6.4 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#22 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lighthouse

Property: Jetwing Lighthouse
Address: Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Galle
#6 Spa Hotel in Galle
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
#7 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#11 Family Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Lighthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark that stands along the Galle coastline, Jetwing Lighthouse blends minimalist elegance with splashes of sophistication set amidst breathtaking ocean views. Designed by famed architect Geoffrey Bawa, this luxurious hotel lets you indulge in the finer things in life as you travel back in time and explore Sri Lanka's colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Jetwing Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lighthouse Galle
Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel Galle
Lighthouse Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing