We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleased we came”
Review of Jetwing Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Jetwing Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleased we came”
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Have just returned from a visit to Sri Lanka, staying primarily at the Lighthouse. Glad we did. We selected the hotel on the strength of Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The staff did their utmost to accomodate us during a busy time (Sri Lanka v New Zealand cricket), helping us with an itinerary for a 5 day tour to the Mid/North of the island. Nothing was too much trouble and always done with a smile. The hotel was in a great location, not far from Galle (600R return via Tuk Tuk) but a highlight is sitting on the front with a glass of wine/cool beer watching the sun setting. Marvellous. There is plenty of room in the hotel, withy mealtimes being a relaxed affair with good food. None of our group had any issues with the food- well done. The breakfasts had as much choice as you might wish, all fresh/freshly cooked. Evening meals came in at 2000R for 6 course set menu, which was different every night and well cooked/presented. Alternate restaurants/menus are available.The hotel rooms were more than adequate (choose a room with a zero in the middle if poss- eg 306- away from road at rear)- our two children thought they were fab and didn't want to leave.
We don't normally return to locations, but we would consider Sri Lanka and this hotel again. We didn't meet anyone with a bad word to say. Place it on your "worth considering" list.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blagdonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    469
    145
    36
    27
See reviews for
443
757
66
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
367 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We stayed here for the last two nights of a two week tour with Kuoni. The hotel is immediately welcoming with efficient staff. We were shown to the veranda and given drinks and cold towels while our paperwork was done, and greeted personally by the manager. Our room was large, full of character, clean and very comfortable, and we had complimentary wine and fruit, as well as water which is standard. The bathroom is fantastic! We ate dinner twice there, the fixed price menu (four courses plus tea or coffee) was excellent and very good value. We also had afternoon tea on the veranda with cakes and scones (scones were a bit odd but still nice). There are two pools, an excellent if expensive spa, a fitness suite which we didn't use but looked good, and access onto a beach which is lovely for walking and watching the sunset. Unfortunately there was no swimming there in the summer months as the sea is too rough. It was a wonderful place to finish our tour, and everything we had hoped.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marksh
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed at the Lighthouse in Galle for two nights on our honeymoon...it was magical from the time we arrived. The reception has magnificent views of the sea and the rocks, with tastefully arranged seating spaces. The outside dining area is also overlooking the sea, and we enjoyed most of our meals there.
The resort has two pools - and each one is unique. The rocks, the beach and the greenery make a perfect setting for a quiet romantic getaway.
The spa was huge and the couples massage very relaxing.
But the best thing about the Lighthouse are the amazingly large and tastefully done up rooms. We stayed in a room with a balcony overlooking the sea. There was a kingsized bed and interesting objects d'art like a map of Galle and a latern. The dressing and bathing area was enormous...with a separate bathtug, loo area and shower area.

All-in-all we liked the Lighthouse much much more than any of the Taj properties in Sri Lanka (Samudra, Bentota).

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — lack of activities
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marksh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2009

just got back from the lighthouse hotel and loved it. the staff were friendly and helpful and the room was amazing. There are two resturants on the hotel site both are very good, all the food we ate at this hotel was really nice. The only drawback is having to get in a tuk tuk to visit the fort or galle town itself, but this isn't a major problem as travelling in tuk tuks is so cheap. I would recommend this hotel to anyone it is lovely

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lou090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Nice hotel serviced by a team of poorly trained personnel. Restaurant was so slow (a minimum of 20 min between each serving), by the time the dessert came my daughter was fast asleep on her chair. It appeared that a new computer system was just installed and all service personnel were too busy with it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AttyHoboken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

We had our wedding here and stayed for our wedding night. The room was beautiful overlooking the ocean. Very clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The restaurant was good and we had a meal sitting outside.
Food was good but not great.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidstone, kent, u.k.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2009

Our third trip to Sri Lanka over the years but our first to the wonderful Lighthouse Hotel.
Having previously stayed at the Taj Exotica, and The Eden hotel I would say the Lighthouse without doubt for me was my favourite.
There were only two downsides to our visit the main being that we were both eaten alive by sandflies, (the result of sitting too close to the greenery at the bottom pool) my husband suffered really badly having to have the local docter, I would say though that the hotel staff were always asking how we were, and the manager took a keen interest in our welfare.
The other downside was that there was nowhere within walking distance to the hotel to eat for a change. We did try the (local restaurant opposite) apart from being cheap drink the food was rubbish.
The Hotel was first class and all the staff provided a first class service, the food in all restaurants was first class.
I can beat the previous comments about the trip back to the airport, we were picked up from the hotel at 0330 and arrived at the drop off point at the airport at 0515. A white knuckle ride indeed which left us both speechless the whole journey.
Well done to the Lighthouse Hotel

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marge92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
9.9 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,397 reviews
6.4 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#8 of 23 in Galle
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
515 reviews
3.5 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
670 reviews
5.4 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 23 in Galle
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lighthouse

Property: Jetwing Lighthouse
Address: Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
#3 Family Hotel in Galle
#3 Spa Hotel in Galle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Lighthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark that stands along the Galle coastline, Jetwing Lighthouse blends minimalist elegance with splashes of sophistication set amidst breathtaking ocean views. Designed by famed architect Geoffrey Bawa, this luxurious hotel lets you indulge in the finer things in life as you travel back in time and explore Sri Lanka's colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jetwing Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lighthouse Galle
Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel Galle
Lighthouse Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing