We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coastal location”
Review of Jetwing Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jetwing Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Brough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great coastal location”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed 1 week - location is great & hotel has very extensive sea-frontage facilitating stunning views of waves crashing over the rocks (with associated sounds) in both the restaurant venues and most of the rooms as well as the beach-side lounging area. Hotel facilities are extremely good. Our seafront room was large and very well appointed - excellent room boy. All three restaurants have outside eating options, a wide menu choice, good service & high quality food. Two excellent swimming pools and plenty of well positioned beach-side / sea facing loungers.with very good beach-side & pool management and service. Some of the internal building architecture design (including older bedroom design and layout) is unusual & very attractive. Top level hospitality and marketing related management could definitely be improved but staff are all very pleasant and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Galle.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of Jetwing Lighthouse on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you had a great stay at the resort, and your expectations were met.
We appreciate very much your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities and look forward to seeing you again soon

Thank you for your patronage.

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,040
    474
    145
    36
    28
See reviews for
446
764
66
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic place to unwind. We enjoyed the spacious room with the 4 poster bed on the new wing. The sunset was a bit obscured by the clouds. Nevertheless,‪ ‪‬the beach was great accompanied by the sounds of waves fr the Indian Ocean. Food was fantabulous.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Suhail69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Jetwing Lighthouse on Trip Advisor.

We were glad that you had a perfect stay at Jetwing Lighthouse and it is always a pleasure to read reviews from our satisfied guests. Having indulged in our Jetwing hospitality, we hope you would visit us again soon for a longer stay.

Thank you for your patronage.

PriyanthikaWijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is by far the best hotel that I have ever stayed in. Pity is I only stayed three nights. Staff, food and location were all 5 star. Book room in new block if you go, that is where I stayed. Other rooms in older blocks I don't know, but in passing looked fine as well.

Room Tip: Pick the new block. All rooms have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of Jetwing Lighthouse on Trip Advisor!

We are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us indulging in our Jetwing hospitality, and simply delighted with your five-star rating on the property.

We very much appreciate your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you for your patronage.

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our tour of Sri Lanka, a great welcome, the hotel is lovely overlooking the sea with the sea splashing against the rocks it is great to listen to. The hotel has its own beach which is very good. The food is excellent and you can sit out side to dine for dinner and breakfast. The rooms are large and have a balcony, the bathrooms are large with separate shower and bath.

The staff are lovely and welcoming. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidaymakerCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit with us.

It is a pleasure to have read you liked the large rooms and larger bathroom on offer as we encourage much feedback on our services and facilities.

Please do come over for another memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the start of our tour of Sri Lanka. I wish we had stayed for longer!!

The hotel is set in a Stunning location, right on the dramatic coast and is beautifully designed. The staff are all excellent, professional, helpful and friendly. We missed breakfast on the first morning due to oversleeping, but a helpful waiter arranged a special breakfast. Rooms in the new spa wing are spacious and elegantly furnished, with incredibly comfortable beds and black out shutters. There are wonderful views of the pool, grounds and sea from the room and the balcony. Bathrooms are luxurious with powerful showers and large baths.

The Food was very good. A good choice at the buffet breakfast and evening meals were also excellent. Service in the evening could sometimes be slow, but sitting al fresco looking out over the sea this did not really matter.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Would recommend taking a room in the new spa wing for the best nights sleep ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel44_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse on Trip Advisor!

We were delighted that you had a great stay with us, experiencing a comfortable and spacious room having enjoying the breakfast buffet on offer.

It is a pleasure to read reviews such as yours, having indulged in our Jetwing hospitality.
We hope you would visit us again soon for a longer stay.

Thank you for your patronage.

PriyanthikaWijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was my second stay in this hotel and I enjoyed the waves and the splash as much as the first time. This time I was on a tour and stayed only 2 nights.
I had a room overlooking the sea. It was spacious but quite dark in the evening. Good reading lamps on both sides of the huge bed, good bathroom with both bath and shower and well working tabs.
The food was also good.
Do not trust the the recommendations of the doormen for jewelry shops. They gave me a name of a shop which is expensive and don’t follow the recommendation of the National Gem & Jewellery Authority in Sri Lanka. The shop didn’t give correct description of the variety and weight of gems sold. In my case the variety was incorrect and the VAT-number was missing from the certificate.
You can get a much more precise gem stone memo from the shop in the hotel if the stone is tested and is the same.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank LNPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you had a great stay with us, while experiencing a comfortable and spacious rooms the property has to offer.

We very much appreciate your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities. However, we apologize for the situation you faced purchasing the gem stones from jewelry shop adjoining the hotel. We will look into the matter and see that it will not occur again.

Hope these isolated incidents would not deter you from visiting us again the next time you are in Galle. While thanking you for your kind patronage.

Sincerly

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights as part of a tour of the country and overall it was excellent. It's reasonably located about a kilometre from the fort in the centre of Galle which costs about 300 rupees in a tuk-tuk to get to. More significantly, it's right by the sea with it's own bit of rocks and beach (unsuitable for swimming in) and most of the rooms overlook the sea which is lovely. There's a pleasant and very airy reception area and tables outside where you can have drinks/snacks/meals overlooking the sea - quite delightful. Our room was in the older part and is a little quirky (eg there's a clear glass door to the loo in the ensuite bathroom area - but it does have a bolt on the door!) and a bit tired if you look closely. However, it's very spacious and the bed is huge (7 or even 8ft. wide with a 1-piece mattress). There's a bath and a shower and the small balcony overlooked one of the pools and the sea. Some in our party who were on a lower floor complained that they felt their privacy was compromised by people in the pool - a fair point. We were quite happy with our room on the second floor. The decor around the hotel is rather plain and uninspiring and there did seem to be a shortage of lifts. Outside, the 2 pools and grassy lounger area are very pleasant and the pool s were quite warm. Service was pleasant and friendly but not very efficient and you didn't always get what you asked for but we found this was more or less the norm throughout Sri Lanka. However, the food in the restaurant was excellent and probably the best we had in the country. Overall, you'll probably enjoy a stay here but the price is high for what it is.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new part are probably better. If you're in the older part, rooms on the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimstone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review on Trip Advisor. We were happy to hear of your relaxed stay at the resort and appreciate all efforts on your feedback on the services and facilities of the resort.

However we sincerely regret of any awkwardness you may have encountered at your stay ie; the clear glass bathroom door and, privacy when it comes to the lower room overlooking the pools. But as all rooms go, we have pull down tats in place behind the washroom glass window.

While thanking you once again, we hope these minor incidents would not deter you from visiting us again the next time you are in Galle.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
6.4 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#8 of 23 in Galle
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
5.4 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 23 in Galle
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
517 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,405 reviews
5.4 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lighthouse

Property: Jetwing Lighthouse
Address: Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#3 Spa Hotel in Galle
#3 Family Hotel in Galle
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Lighthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark that stands along the Galle coastline, Jetwing Lighthouse blends minimalist elegance with splashes of sophistication set amidst breathtaking ocean views. Designed by famed architect Geoffrey Bawa, this luxurious hotel lets you indulge in the finer things in life as you travel back in time and explore Sri Lanka's colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jetwing Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lighthouse Galle
Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel Galle
Lighthouse Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing