We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply a magical experience”
Review of Jetwing Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jetwing Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I live in Colombo and badly needed to run away from work and the stress of urban life. Mostly wanted to spend Christmas with kids. We ended up planing a trip to south and Lighthouse been our haven for Christmas. Christmas eve dinner was a magical experience, Kids loved the Santa and for us adults too was a night to remember. I must say the standard of the dinner and service was exceptional, much higher than most Colombo Hotels. It was truly a magical experience. I recon it is the foreign management that makes the difference.

Room Tip: Try the new Restaurant Nihal's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out your comment on Tripadvisor during your resent stay at Jetwing Lighthouse.

I have always believed that it is the staff make the hotel and I am thrilled that you found your stay magical. I shall personally send my regards to Santa and I hope he will come back next Christmas.

It was a pleasure hosting you and we hope you do visit us again if your travels bring you down from Colombo to Sri Lanka’s amazing southern coast anytime in the future.

Ayubowan,

Robert Claesson
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

973 - 979 of 1,834 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel less than a year ago and loved it. The location is perfect--right on the most beautiful ocean view. But in just a few months, it declined considerably. Cockroach in room, room service delivering sandwiches that I didn't order at 3am, cold jacuzzi in spa. I still love this hotel and I shared my concerns with the manager. I'm hopeful it will improve.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYWrldTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We are repeat customers and were lucky enough to receive a room in the new spa wing. I was really impressed by the space and design of the room.
The cocktails in the restaurant of the spa wing were excellent, unfortunately the food was dry and cold . We complained to the chef and receive a 25% discount on the bill.
The dining room were the buffets are served is enclosed. The feeling is between a fishbowl and a cantina . It should be opened on the outside. The few tables outside are in high demand.

Room Tip: Rooms in the spa wing are new and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldcitizenParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The only positive side of this hotel is the bedroom : spacious, comfortable, stylish, large bathroom integrated into the bedroom, superb wooden floor.
Just avoid to have it by the children swimming pool like I had :(
The rest is TERRIBLE : the restaurant is much closer to a "cantine" style, the food (buffet style) is below average, the main bar falling into disrepair, the service is miserable, we faced booking issue from day 1 (not the right booking, credit card debited before arrival even for cancellation as it was not registered into their system, at check out they charged only one credit by default,...)

Room Tip: Do not book a room around the children swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ericmgerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel in a suite ... were recommended this hotel ... being a Geoffrey Bawa designed property. It is well designed and of course the location is super but the quality of service left a sad taste. We had a butler designated to the suite ....but I dont think he really understood what service meant besides being polite and saying yes to every thing ...maybe without actually understanding it....not his fault at all, as their did'nt seem to be any training in place for the staff.
Had poor response from reception...did mention this to the General Manager who seemed to agree when discussing the issue...not complaining! Food was OK .. a good selection on the buffet.
On the whole the place can do with a good clean up. Considering we paid $500/- per night ,you would expect the place to be clean and well maintained !!Wake up Jet Wings ....Need a better management in place.

Room Tip: We had the suite which ofcourse has excellent views ....dont know what it would be like if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deeeeMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

What an awesome hotel. Beautiful setting, the best service, friendly staff and top notch food. The spa is tranquil and relaxing. The poolside was great for spending the day tanning and swimming. Very impressed with everything especially the head chef Nihal who always checked up on us. His newly opened restaurant by the pool is very authentic and a well thought out menu with fusion flavours to die for. Our holiday wad made perfect by the attention to detail by all staff and the general feeling of being at home but more luxurious.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank courtz1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate guest feedback and your positive comments help us in knowing we are heading in the right direction.

One of Geoffrey Bawa’s masterpieces, the Jetwing Lighthouse it very unique in design and is located in a truly mesmerizing setting. It is something that leaves all our guests speechless. These two qualities, added to the high levels we expect in terms of service and guest experience makes this property one not to be missed.
I will make sure to make sure your comment regarding Chef Nihal is passed on as I know he will be pleased to hear that his and his team hard work is noticed.

We hope to see you back at the Jetwing Lighthouse in the near future.


Ayubowan,
Robert Claesson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Not sure why there would be any complaints. This hotel is fabulous...impeccable service, quality of rooms and beautiful surroundings. We got upgraded to the honeymoon suite and had te most relaxing time. Excellent food (half board basis to boot).

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank NazDak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out your comment on Tripadvisor.

I have always believed that it is the staff make the hotel and I am thrilled that you found our service exceptional. I shall personally commend the heads of each department you have mentioned and they in turn shall convey your kind words to the staff. I am confident this will inspire them to strive for greater heights in service excellence.

It was a pleasure hosting you and we hope you do visit us again if your travels bring you to Sri Lanka’s amazing southern coast anytime in the future.


Ayubowan,

Robert Claesson
General Manger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
1.1 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#6 of 26 in Galle
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
5.5 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 28 in Hikkaduwa
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 34 in Unawatuna
959 reviews
5.4 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 26 in Galle
255 reviews
6.3 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#11 of 26 in Galle
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lighthouse

Address: Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
#3 Spa Hotel in Galle
#3 Family Hotel in Galle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galle
Price Range: $245 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Lighthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark that stands along the Galle coastline, Jetwing Lighthouse blends minimalist elegance with splashes of sophistication set amidst breathtaking ocean views. Designed by famed architect Geoffrey Bawa, this luxurious hotel lets you indulge in the finer things in life as you travel back in time and explore Sri Lanka's colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jetwing Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lighthouse Galle
Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel Galle
Lighthouse Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing