We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Galle Glam”
Review of Jetwing Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jetwing Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Galle Glam”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

A breath-taking location with a large public terrace overlooking a dramatic palm-framed ocean view that hosts a sunset best-accompanied with an ice-cold G&T served by one of the many attentive (but not intrusive) and ever-smiling staff. The feel is certainly one of high-end glamour with simple but elegant decor and smart architecture - the entrance staircase is incredible.

I recommend throwing the balcony doors open and enjoying the tropical breeze whilst taking a bubble bath (after a lush spa treatment of course!) - the exquisite bathroom has a broad opening into the main room, so you can see out to the ocean. Then find your way in the ginormous bed and indulge in the crisp cotton sheets that are always turned down with a flower or cookie as a sweet finishing flourish.

My only regret is being here without my fella as I would love to share this magic experience!

Room Tip: My room is 312 - can't imagine it could get much better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have your with us, and here at Jetwing Lighthouse we take pride in providing guests with the best of services and facilities and I’m glad you were able to enjoy the best of it. Jetwing Lighthouse does indeed possess relaxing qualities from the environment to the views a guest can take in.

We hope to see you back with us in the future and hope it will be with your partner.

Ayubowan,
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,040
    473
    145
    36
    28
See reviews for
446
763
66
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a superb hotel. The entry staircase is spectacular and the hotel design is rightly famous. All staff are extremely attentive and drinks on the bar terrace overlooking the sea has great atmosphere - one of the best locations anywhere. The rooms are magnificent with original teak and brass features. Most have balconies overlooking the ocean or swimming pools. The spa is classy and quietly located outside of the main hotel. Easy access to walk along the beach (best in the early morning or evening) and two pools, both of which are good size.
The staff are extremely helpful, friendly and attentive but not intrusive. Food is invariably top class and includes authentic local food (hoppers, sambal, local fruit etc) as well as international cuisine. Our group has been coming here for eight years and won't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMS22013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We enjoyed a very pleasant week here at the beginning of August. Galle ticks the boxes for both relaxation and some sightseeing and culture...... sea was choppy but pools were excellent - beach was good for walking.... rooms were well equipped, Wi-Fi worked; breakfast was excellent...pool attendants were attentive...it was a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJ888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stopped for 2 nights to visit Galle Fort and wished it was 3, at least. The rooms are beautiful, the pools relaxing and location wonderful. It's worth booking your favourite table in the restaurant as it is - rightly - popular

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I was very excited about staying at the Lighthouse. Arrival and check-in was efficient and welcoming. Room looked lovely with a fab view over the ocean. I've now been at the hotel 24 hours and am looking forward to leaving due to a series of problems:

1) flies and Mosquitos in my room despite keeping doors shut & AC on, have 4 bites as a result. Room does have an insect repellent plug in thing which I did use but clearly didn't do the trick.

2) Drinks service very, very slow both to ask for your order and then to bring it. I ordered tea as I sat down for breakfast. I had a long and full breakfast but my tea didn't arrive until 10min after I had finished breakfast.

3) I'm here on business and need to stay connected. Wifi not working but I can't understand what the issue is as staff being very vague. At no point did anyone tell me that they have a business centre, I found out by chance that they do. The info is certainly in the service guide in the room but not sure why a member of staff did not think to mention it when I've inquired (on 3 occasions now) about the wifi

4) Ordered room. Food arrived 45 minutes after ordering it and was wrong. They offered to replace it and said they would re-cook my order and that it would be with me in 10 minutes - well why then does it take another 30 minutes to deliver the food? Of, course no response to that. I politely refused the replacement food as I was too annoyed.

5) If you don't see too well in the dark then DO NOT walk down to the spa. You cannot see the wooden steps leading down from the swimming pool area. Plus you then have to walk a cross the lawn which is also very dark, a little scary and has all manner of creepy crawlies - why not build a path guys?

Have relayed all of the above to the duty manager and hope they can make the relevant changes but I would not stay here again, sorry Lighthouse.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Afshan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Sadly we were only here for one night, but we wish it could have been longer. The rooms were large and comfortable, the views spectacular, and the bottom pool was a real bonus. The food was very good the night we stayed. The staff were friendly, warm and helpful.

Room Tip: We had an ocean-facing room and the views were spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_Manchester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Fourth time that we have travelled to Sri Lanka, the first in this area. Couldn't have faulted the hotel at all. The room was so spacious with a really grand bed. Shower space, toilet and dressing room was certainly 5 Star. All the staff gave an excellent service and were happy, obviously a sign of being looked after by the employer. We discovered the other two hotels in Galle which Jetwing managed and on request to Mr Anand (PR) it was arranged that we stayed one night in each of Jetwing Kurulubedda and Heritage Hotel, without vacating our room and at no extra cost. The Heritage hotel in based in Galle Fort and is an ideal base to explore this area soaking up the day and night time atmosphere. Jetwing Kurulubedda is something totally different. Two bungalows in the trees with your own dip pool and Chef. Stay just one night for a great experience, and definitely choose to eat one of Pathi's meals. We decided on red mullet and prawns with a mustard sauce accompanied by garlic rice and vegetables, which were artistically served up - Yummy. There is a small paddy field in the 5 acre grounds and other fruit trees which seem to be utilised, and plenty of wild life to enjoy. The Lighthouse breakfasts and the evening meals which we did sample were very enjoyable with plenty of selection.

Returning to Sri Lanka in 2 years time and if pass Galle on our travels, will certainly stay at the Lighthouse.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 420 and heard the morning toot toot and the bread man's chime at 7 am, but let...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
6.4 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#8 of 23 in Galle
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
5.4 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 23 in Galle
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
517 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,405 reviews
5.4 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lighthouse

Property: Jetwing Lighthouse
Address: Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
#3 Spa Hotel in Galle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#3 Family Hotel in Galle
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Lighthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark that stands along the Galle coastline, Jetwing Lighthouse blends minimalist elegance with splashes of sophistication set amidst breathtaking ocean views. Designed by famed architect Geoffrey Bawa, this luxurious hotel lets you indulge in the finer things in life as you travel back in time and explore Sri Lanka's colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jetwing Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lighthouse Galle
Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel Galle
Lighthouse Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing