We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty and beyond”
Review of Jetwing Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jetwing Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I really enjoyed the beauty of the people, the Lighthouse is so welcoming, the service excellent and the breakfast buffet was amazing. The stay was delightful! Highly recommend staying here. We had been roughing it until staying at The Lighthouse and it offered everything and more!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your extremely positive comment on Trip Advisor, and I would also like to thank you for taking the time to write up a review on the Jetwing Lighthouse. I am very pleased to hear that you thought our breakfast buffet was amazing which I will pass on the kitchen.

I would also like to invite you back to the Jetwing Lighthouse to enjoy this very exclusive property once again when your travels bring you to this part of the world. It would be the wish of the whole team here to have you back with us in the future.

Ayubowan,
Robert Claesson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,099 - 1,105 of 1,799 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were looking forward to our stay at the Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle following rave reviews on trip advisor and that the hotel was a 'must do'. Alarm bells started to ring when we got a direct room call at Chaaya Wild, Yala, from the Lighthouse instead of them contacting our ground agents. They asked if we would like an upgrade to a smaller boutique hotel further down the road. I explained we wanted to stay in Galle and particularly at the Lighthouse. We agreed we would look at the hotel on the way but if we didn't like it there would be a room for us at the Lighthouse. The 'upgrade' was on a busy main road and not in the location we wanted so we continued on to the Lighthouse. This call did spoil the remainder of our time at Yala, which was beautiful. On arrival our guide had quite a 'discussion' at reception but we were given our welcome drink and invited to lunch. Our guide assured us all was OK and left. During our meal the manager approached and offered us a different upgrade to the sister hotel but that overlooked a river and not the beach so we politely refused this. He then admitted there was no room for us! Our guide was summoned back and was incredulous at the treatment and could not believe there was no room as he had been assured before he left that there was a room. Fortunately the Kuoni ground agents were terrific and booked us into a fabulous hotel, the Heritance (albeit an hour's drive up the road but in the right direction for our next stop).

The manager's attitude was appalling and even though we explained that this room had been booked in April 2012 and that he had no right to sell our room he was totally dismissive and as far as he was concerned he had offered us an alternative and that was that. He did not appreciate that we had specifically booked the Lighthouse for location and reputation. In our opinion Jetwing are only interested in large tour groups and not the individual traveller. If you are an independent please check with the hotel and ensure there is a booking for you before you arrive.

We also had trouble at the next Jetwing hotel, the Jetwing Sea, Negombo. See separate review.

Room Tip: Check there is a room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank BrendaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

we booked this place based on recommendations and were not disappointed. The grand arrival area is a bit dark, but then you go up the grand iron wrought stair case which tells the story from the arrival of Portugese and the consequent battles... very impressive!
The lounge and restaurant face the Indian Ocean and guests can enjoy food and drinks out side in the ocean breeze. The beach is accessible by stairs or just run across the lawn.
The children got a surprise welcome gift and we adults were positive surprised by the well appointed rooms. Very large, balcony, wooden shutters, raised king bed (comfy for two adults and two kids), minibar with a varity of glasses, bathroom with wooden floor boards (I would love one like this at my home!). My favourites were the bath robes and the divine body lotion, lucky for me they do sell those items at reasonable prices at the gift shop too.
My husband was not happy with the TV reception. All rooms have ocean views, much better! We used the laundry service, which was satisfactory. House keeping was impeccable.
There are three swimming pools, one for the kids, one with a bar and a deep pool at a lower lawn area by the ocean. Towels were provided and we also saw a day spa at the lower pool.
The food was o.k., there was a large buffet and also out door cooking. service was a bit slow.
During our stay, all requests were dealt with promptly, and staff were friendly and helpful, especially with the kids.
My only regret is that we had to leave the hotel to see and do things, I would have loved just to hang out there and do nothing but relax, maybe next time...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank silkroad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review on the Jetwing Lighthouse on Trip Advisor. I absolutely enjoyed reading it and I would also like to thank you for recommending us so highly.

With the stunning views, the architecture, the food, facilities of the property would not be the same without the service you speak of. As the General Manager here, I am happy to have a team that is so guest oriented and go out of their way to satisfy a guest. The operation would not be a success without each and every associate involved with the Jetwing Lighthouse. I will pass on your compliments to everyone .I am sorry to hear that the Tv reception was not good and I will look in to this further The food that you speak of highly is very carefully made by our dedicated team within the kitchen and they sent out some amazing dishes to our guests.
I sincerely hope to see you back at Jetwing Lighthouse in the near future.


Ayubowan,
Robert Claesson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Magnific A lovely place. The owner is so nice. The room was great. The meal was very good And for the view !!! I would like to come again. The beakfast is so enormous and delicious. The best hotel in Sri lanka where we have stay 3 weeks last Summer holidays. The decoration is so beautiful. All is perfect

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronique1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased you had a magnific 3 weeks stay at the Jetwing Lighthouse, and were able to enjoy our facilities, food and services.

Thank you for recommending us on your review, and we invite you to stay with us again when your travels bring you to Galle, Sri Lanka.

Ayubowan,
Robert Claesson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great hotel with excellent staff in a wonderful location. Could not ask for more from a hotel. Food simply delicious, must have a great chef. The tennis court needs improvement, if you are interested in the game. Gym is adequate. We were welcomed by the manager and his manner showed how well this hotel is run. Nothing is too much trouble.

Room Tip: Top floor, near to the furthest swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kfrazier54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure meeting you and thank you for visiting us at the Jetwing Lighthouse. I am very glad that you have taken time to place this review on Trip Advisor.
We are very glad we were able to make your stay a memorable one, and the whole team, hotel facilities were up to expectorations. With this unique property we try to give our guests an experience like no other.I am pleased to say that we are planning to refurbish the tennis court this coming summer.

We thank you for staying with us, and the doors are always open and we are happy to welcome you back to Jetwing Lighthose in the future.

Ayubowan

Robert Claesson

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

First time I got a chance to stay in this hotel and I really found this a Serene. With fresh breeze from the side of Indian Ocean. Food quality was excellent. Sitting in the lounge facing to ward beach was really soothing and relaxing. It was really an excellent experience of stating and enjoying King coconut water in this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms facing toward beach side are more sunny and good for sun bathing on the terrace of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Altaf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased you had a serene stay at the Jetwing Lighthouse, and were able to enjoy our facilities, food and services.

Thank you for recommending us on your review, and we invite you to stay with us again when your travels bring you to Galle, Sri Lanka.

Ayubowan,
Robert Claesson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I love this place, we have been regular visitors to Light house hotel as it is been close to the new southern highway in sri Lanka. It has the best Restaurant ever...the Lunch buffet is super, and the service, staff is excellent. Very specious restaurant, with the best view.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lasithaoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am extremely grateful to have your feedback. Our Chef works very hard to create something unique with the buffet and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed .The stunning views from Jetwing Lighthouse is something, even I as the General Manager here look forward to seeing it every morning.

I hope to see you back at Jetwing Lighthouse in the near future.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
1.1 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#7 of 24 in Galle
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
5.5 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#10 of 24 in Galle
274 reviews
5.4 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 24 in Galle
242 reviews
2.0 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#6 of 24 in Galle
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lighthouse

Address: Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#3 Family Hotel in Galle
#3 Spa Hotel in Galle
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galle
Price Range: $172 - $614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Lighthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark that stands along the Galle coastline, Jetwing Lighthouse blends minimalist elegance with splashes of sophistication set amidst breathtaking ocean views. Designed by famed architect Geoffrey Bawa, this luxurious hotel lets you indulge in the finer things in life as you travel back in time and explore Sri Lanka's colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jetwing Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lighthouse Galle
Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel Galle
Lighthouse Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing