We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms, food and beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jetwing Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jetwing Lighthouse
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great rooms, food and beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

The quality/size of the rooms and the food is the main highlight here. Beach is pretty good around the spa area.

In terms of food, this is probably the second best buffet I've had in a Sri Lankan hotel (after Heritance Kandalama that is).

This with Galle is you have heaps of options available from small boutique hotels. If you're looking for big/quality rooms and good buffets look no further :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ny8wolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Here at the Jetwing Lighthouse, we believe in leaving our guests with unforgettable memories that keep them wanting to come back for more. We are really happy that you enjoyed all our facilities and services, and had a wonderful experience. I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment on Trip Advisor.

The design of the hotel and the amazing setting only adds to the guest experience, and makes this a very special place to stay. The buffet dinners we organize are very good and the chefs try to go out of their way to create something special.

We thank you once again for your comments, and we welcome you back to the Jetwing Lighthouse should you return to Galle, Sri Lanka.

Ayubowan,
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,009
    460
    142
    36
    26
See reviews for
434
741
65
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed there overnight coming in from Mirissa on the way to Colombo. Fantastic hotel, great ambiance, gorgeous room facing the beach & sea and wonderful food at the restaurant. We had free entertainment (Kandy dance) as well that night. Would have loved to stay there longer!

Room Tip: Any room with a view of the sea would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank albertsebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am extremely grateful to have your feedback and that you enjoyed the rooms and the ambiance.

I hope to see you back at Jetwing Lighthouse in the near future and that you can stay longer.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We arrived in Sri Lanka, in Galle on New Years Eve 2012 and found out there was an error in our hotel reservation at a different hotel - so we had no room for the evening! After several calls, hotel manager Manoj Silva came to our rescue. Not only did he go out of his way to ensure we had a room at the very last minute of New Years Eve (which is almost impossible as most hotels are booked months in advance), his hospitality put us right at ease and he assured us that the rest of our trip would be smooth sailng from here on out. He helped us arrange a driver and tours that we wanted to see, not simply off of the tourist list. He listened to what we wanted to do and then coordinated all the details. In addition, he would check on us to ensure that we had the experience that met our expectations.

I can't remember the last time we encountered someone who cared so much about us and our experience and we are truly grateful for this hospitality. If you have plans to go to Galle, ask for Manoj Silva and you will feel right at home.

Just to add, the New Years Eve dinner was well organized, with a great international buffet spread, the food was delicious and service was excellent! Definite hassle free evening, value for money. Hospitality at its best!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. As the General Manager here at Jetwing Lighthouse, nothing pleases me more than hearing comments such as yours. Feedback is truly valued here and used to develop ourselves further. I am extremely glad you had a great time on New Years Eve, and I am happy Manoj was able to match your expectations and cater to your needs.I will pass on your kind words to him. The personnel at a property make a huge difference and we know the importance of training and development to reach higher levels.

I do hope you all will come back to this beautiful Island and if so I look forward to seeing you then.

Ayubowan,
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel may not be too pretty, but the wonderful staff offer the warmest of welcomes when you arrive at this rather minimalist building. I can't praise them too highly! From the always efficient reception team to the beautifully dressed restaurant staff and from the pool & bar guys to the room-cleaners, everyone we came in contact with couldn't have been more helpful. We arrived exhausted after a nightmare of a journey that entailed a forced 24 wait in Mumbai Airport, and the Lighthouse employees immediately worked their charm and helped us to get over the horrors of the past 2 days.
The hotel offers 2 large swimming s pools, one by the Bar and the other set in lawns down by the beach. The sea current is dangerously strong, so swimming is a no-no, but having one pool next to the sea makes up for that. Another great plus about Jetwing Lighthouse is the extremely high standard of the restaurant. Great choice of food, beautifully presented and overlooking the most dramatic views of the rocky beach. Fabulous!! We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone visiting Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review of the Jetwing Lighthouse on Trip Advisor. It was an absolute pleasure to read .

Thank you for all your wonderful compliments, we are glad we were able to deliver you the levels of service and facilities you expected, and also that my team was able to leave you with a great impression of the Jetwing Lighthouse. We expect a certain level of standard and our main aim is to satisfy every guest who comes to the property, and I am glad you left a satisfied and content guest. We are happy you enjoyed our spread of food and also the breathtaking views from your room; it is one of the most unique things about the Jetwing Lighthouse, the natural environment and the landscaping that surrounds it. With the two swimming pools on the property provide a guest with an ideal way to relax and unwind while our dedicated team look after your every need.

I would like to thank you on behalf of my team at the Jetwing Lighthouse for your review and choosing us to stay with during your visit to Galle. We all hope to see you back in the near future.

Ayubowan,
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kattanam, Kerala, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed here with my family.All the amenities, from hot and cold showers, cable TV, IDD and internet service, car rental etc.Very Good Hospitality from Staff,Clean and big room.Beach is very near.Best food.Location is Very Good.Two swimming pools.The kids have their own pool too.Fully equipped gym.Daily Housekeeping.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankur_Kerala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased that we have another pleased guest who has enjoyed the Jetwing Lighthouse experience.
The design of the Jetwing Lighthouse is very unique and is one of the iconic properties in Galle. The property is very spread out and gives our guests plenty of space to lounge and relax. The rooms and restaurants are located perfectly allowing all guests to take in the most stunning views of the South.
Thank you for choosing the Jetwing Lighthouse and the entire team here is looking forward to having you and your family back in the future.

Ayubowan
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 3 nights.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, though suffering from slight lack of urgency, but this seems to be the case everywhere in Sri Lanka, so didn't surprise us.
The locality of the hotel is impressive; by the sea and with wonderful unobstructed views of palms, beach, rocks and the open ocean.
It is built by Sri Lanka's famous architect- Geoffrey Bawa - and looks wonderful.
Very Bauhaus in parts.Luxurious but not ostentatious.

The hotel has two great pools, one of which is located by a massive lawn by the sea, which is wonderful- and deep too.
You can watch sea turtles diving around the rocks just beyond the sea shore.

The food in the restaurant was pricey, but good, though my girlfriend didn't like the look of the restaurant. I did.
The food varies from night to night, but there is always a wide variety of cuisines going.

The bar serves very decent cocktails, from the classics,to more 'exotic' and adventurous concoctions. Enjoying the sunset at the bar area was one of the lasting memories.

Our room on the top floor had spectacular views of the surroundings, including the ocean, the beach and the pool area. It was kept very clean, was big and had a small balcony.

I would recommend anyone visiting Galle to stay at this hotel, and its also only 5mins tuk tuk ride from Galle Fort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sp1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the review you posted on Trip Advisor. It was very nice to read as it seems like you were having a great time at the Jetwing Lighthouse . We are always happy with our guests having a wonderful experience at the property and listening or reading these experiences is something I look forward to.

I am extremely glad that the Jetwing Lighthouse was able to live up to your expectations, and our team was able to provide this wonderful experience you speak of. One of Geoffrey Bawa’s masterpieces, the Jetwing Lighthouse is an immaculately designed property surrounded by an equally rich environment. This helps in maximizing the experience a guest has at the Jetwing Lighthouse.

Thank you once again for your review and I remind you that we take it as valuable feedback and hope to see you back one day.

Ayubowan
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

To end our trip to Galle, this is the place that we went to have the evening tea. It was very welcoming and had a beautiful view. We could take a look at the waves breaking on the rocks. It was such a relaxing place and I love the colonial touch of the hotel. The staircase plays a special role with regard to adding that touch. We enjoyed this place a lot.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the sea. This will be the best you can hope for as the rooms would have a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsdanushkajayatunge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a comment on Trip Advisor, and also would like to thank you for your very positive feedback on your visit at Jetwing Lighthouse and that you had a nice evening with your friends and family.

As many previous comments about the staircase I also agree that it plays a special role in the Hotel.

I hope you will return again in the near future and maybe stay and experience the Jetwing Lighthouse as a valued hotel guest.

Ayubowan
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
9.9 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
3.5 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
2.0 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
4.2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lighthouse

Property: Jetwing Lighthouse
Address: Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
#3 Family Hotel in Galle
#3 Spa Hotel in Galle
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Lighthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark that stands along the Galle coastline, Jetwing Lighthouse blends minimalist elegance with splashes of sophistication set amidst breathtaking ocean views. Designed by famed architect Geoffrey Bawa, this luxurious hotel lets you indulge in the finer things in life as you travel back in time and explore Sri Lanka's colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Jetwing Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lighthouse Galle
Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel Galle
Lighthouse Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing