We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th visit and still a great place to stay”
Review of Jetwing Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Jetwing Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“4th visit and still a great place to stay”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were warned about building work before we left, and yes, they are extending the rooms with a new block alongside the beachside swimming pool next to the Spa centre. Possibly they were using rubber hammers but we were not bothered by any noise at all and they were already up to the first floor. Noise will not be a problem if you are at all concerned.

Robert Claesson the manager runs a very professional yet personal hotel here where the guests always comes first. He recommended a local trip up the river and a visit to a tea plantation to break our time up... both were great value and very interesting particularly the long Tuk-tuk drive past Unawatuna and through the hillside villages.

This is a very special hotel to stay at.

Room Tip: Use the Highway to get here fast... 400 rupees (£2.00), 120 kms, hour and a half max, like the M1 wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is all our pleasure to see you coming back to Jetwing Lighthouse each time, and I know how much you enjoy staying with us. Thank you for taking the time to go on Trip Advisor and leave us a review. The building work going on has been one of the main concerns for guests who are staying with us over the next few months and I am glad that you have been able to reassure them of there being no disturbance that you had to put up with. We also take it very seriously as we value every guest who comes to Jetwing Lighthouse and our intentions are always to make the best possible atmosphere for them, and we have taken precautions with the work being done to construct the new set of rooms.

It was my pleasure to organize the two excursions for you, and we always encourage everyone to venture out and see the beauty that Sri Lanka has on show for you. Even though it is Small Island, it amazes even a Sri Lankan who has lived here. From what is there to see, to the diversity of wildlife, Sri Lanka has it all.

I am glad you were able to enjoy your most recent trip, and I do hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    471
    145
    36
    27
See reviews for
444
758
66
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Nice hotel offering good location and good food. very nice spa and 2 big pools. Staff is good but can be slow responding at time (20 mns to get food served in restaurant while room is almost empty). Did stay there at peak time for christmas time 2012 for 4 nights. Room prices were exaggerated as it is a nice hotel but clearly not worth what they were asking for. It is a nice 3+/4- property but they should fix a limit to what they are charging per room as it sets the expectations very high and it can lead to disappointment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olivier s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am pleased you were able to enjoy your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse; it was our pleasure to have you with us. I am extremely happy you took the time to write us a review on Trip Advisor. Guest feedback is considered extremely important as it is them we all work hard to satisfy.

I will look in to your concerns about the service speeds, but honestly it did surprise me a bit as the service in the restaurant is not something we get complains about but regardless of that fact we are constantly looking to ways to improve ourselves, so your feedback will help us with it. The pricing structure is decided by experts who look in to all the elements and the demand, plus minimum prices that should be charged and formulate figures for the various parts of the year. December is considered to be the high season and prices tend to be at their highest.

Thank you for your review once again, and I do hope to see you back at Jetwing Lighthouse in the near future.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have stayed here several times in the past and we were pleased with our recent stay. The rooms are quite large and has excellent views , it has a good bathroom with a good walk in shower. The food has improved but if you do not like what is on offer in the buffet it is worth asking the waiter for something of your choice. Usually the staff are very obliging. One of the minus points was their plated service at dinner was not hot and very limited choice. Our biggest grumble on every visit has been the slow and tedious check in procedure especially irritating after a long journey. It seem to take four people to check in one couple!!!. This is a training issue management should attend to as it spoils an otherwise dramatic entrance to the hotel. The rest of the staff are friendly and efficient. We would certainly come again.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the block further from the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highbrooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am glad that your have posted your thoughts on your most recent visit to Jetwing Lighthouse on Trip Advisor. I am even happier that you choose to revisit us, and was pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent visit.

I will most defiantly take a closer look at how we could simplify the current check-in process, or just the effectiveness of it. I do not hear issues about the time taken for check-ins too often, but I assure you that I will personally look in to this matter and we will do our best to make it a more efficient overall.

I do hope to see you back with us soon, and I look forward to welcoming you.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Straftford upon Avon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Jetwing Lighthouse was the ninth of hotel that we stayed in on our tour of Sri Lanka and was the first hotel that we could really relax in. We found the staff to be very attentive and helpful and had obviously had some hotel training, unlike some of the other hotels that we stayed in. We found our room to be very clean and comfortable with excellent views of the Indian Ocean. The food was of a very high standard especially when we ate in the A La Carte restaurant on the first floor. We spent a couple of afternoons on the lawn overlooking the beach which was a great place to relax, the umberellas however could have been maintained a bit more and obviously needed replacing.

Overall a great experience and well recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bucklehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have your with us, and here at Jetwing Lighthouse we take pride in providing guests with the best of services and facilities and I’m glad you were able to enjoy the best of it. Jetwing Lighthouse does indeed possess relaxing qualities from the environment to the views a guest can take in.

We hope to see you back with us in the future, and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galle, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Jetwing lighthouse is large scale hotel. Because of superb views and good and kind staff good to stay. Special compliments to restaurant staff. Especially Kokila and N .K Lucksman were very service focussed and took care that our diners were great based on our wishes. Some noise because if building a new wing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am extremely grateful to have your feedback. The stunning views from Jetwing Lighthouse is something, even I as the General Manager here look forward to seeing it every morning. I will pass your compliments on to the two associates you mentioned, and I am glad we have such dedicated members who know how to live up to expectations by the many guests we have staying with us through the year.

I hope to see you back at Jetwing Lighthouse in the near future.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The light house is a lovely hotel which has the advantage of being only 5 min Tuk Tuk ride from Galle yet quiet enough that you would assume the beach is private. The staff have a general attitude of how can we help you more. The food is good and fresh and the beach boy service could not be better. There is a super Spa, the custom is that males are massaged be males female by female. Some men may be a little hesitant about this as I was however as this is a professional Spa with well trained therapists don't let this put you off if anything it is an advantage as the massage is much firmer and when your face down you quickly forget your reservations.
There is some building work close to the second pool however if it wasn't for the notices apologizing you would not know any work was going on.
The Beach is public yet you hardly see any one on it so you would assume it was private. It is not really a swimmers beach and a reef is partially exposed at low tide however it is great to explore the rock pools and marine life and spot the turtles.
There are two restaurants, the food was good with a selection which catered for most palates. Our waiter was exceedingly attentive and had our drinks at the table within moments of being seated and his service etc was possibly the best I have ever experienced in any restaurant
The rooms are in good order with internet access and cleaned to a high standard. Our room boy even came to find us when he spotted the safe was not closed properly and insisted we checked everything was in order. We were on the end in a corner room so you have the advantage of a superb view.
In summary there are very few things you could criticize this Hotel for, the ambiance, food, accommodation,staff, gardens, pools and spa are all good and it has a colonial warmth and charm.

Room Tip: All the rooms are sea facing and have a good view with all day sunshine the end rooms have view of b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor. As the General Manager here, it is extremely pleasing to hear of such magnificent experiences at Jetwing Lighthouse. Your feedback will go a long way in helping us develop and improve ourselves further, and every piece of feedback we get, both positive and negative are taken in to consideration.

Jetwing Lighthouse being an amazingly designed property with stunning views is only one side of things and we expect our associates to provide the best possible service to all our guests. I am extremely happy to hear that your room boy actually went that extra step and wanted you to check your unlocked safe and that is the kind of service that we demand from everyone of our team working with us. I will pass your compliments on, and appreciate and recognize his work.

We have also made it extremely clear that we do not want any of our guests being disturbed during the process of putting up the new wing of rooms and I’m glad you didn’t even notice the work going on.

Thank you again for recommending us highly and we look forward to seeing you back at Jetwing Lighthouse in the future.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnislake
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was the first hotel we stayed in during a fortnight plus tour of Sri Lanka. We'd been travelling for the best part of two days and were pretty shattered by the time we reached it. Apart from the initially unprepossessing exterior as you swing in off the road, we were very impressed with the stunning design, even having read up about Bawa's architecture. Our room was enormous, on the third floor, with lovely views of the smaller pool and the Indian Ocean. The bed was just fantastic, huge and comfortable, with beautiful linen and we gave it 10 hours solid use. The buffet was fine, although we were so tired we stumbled round it that evening. The breakfast was probably the best buffet one we had and we discovered egg hoppers, which acted as our lodestar for the hotel rating thereafter - these were cracking. After a hot morning in delightful old Galle, we had a very good value snack and beer at the pool bar before slumping down by the lower pool area, very close to the sea. We had been warned by Trailfinders that an extra wing was being built in that area, and we were a bit apprehensive, but it was so well disguised we thought it was a tennis court and there was no noise in the afternoon while we were relaxing. The hotel wasn't full, but there were quite a few people relaxing in the pool area & looking for whales and turtles. Dinner that night was a served three course one - joy, and was very good. The general manager stopped for a chat, and we found all the staff delightful and helpful (as became the norm in Sri Lanka). Any downsides? Well, no face flannels, and my husband and I, despite 40 years of marriage, decided that the glassed-in loo was not a feature we would replicate. Also, the dark wood, dark tiles and admirable use of eco light bulbs meant once it was dark, or the wood shutters closed, it was very hard to see, even at the bathroom mirror. Contact lens insertion and judgement of make up was a bit of an ordeal. We found this to be the case in most of the hotels we stayed in, however, and all in all we thought it was a lovely, well run hotel with some amazing features. There was considerable painting and primping going on all around the grounds and the public areas were beautifully kept.

Room Tip: The higher the better, I would imagine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cornwallgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. As the General Manager here at Jetwing Lighthouse, nothing pleases me more than hearing comments such as yours. Feedback is truly valued here and used to develop ourselves further. I am extremely glad you had a great time at Jetwing Lighthouse, and I am happy the team here was able to match your expectations and cater to your needs. The personnel at a property make a huge difference and we know the importance of training and development to reach higher levels.

Along with the two pools on the property and the other facilities, the stunning views, peaceful environment, makes for a relaxing holiday. The food here is something that is complimented by many, and all our chefs put in a huge amount of effort to cater to guests at the highest standard. I will pass your compliments on to them.

Please do stop by Jetwing Lighthouse if you’re ever in Galle, Sri Lanka. I look forward to seeing you then.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
9.9 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,398 reviews
6.4 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#8 of 23 in Galle
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
515 reviews
3.5 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
672 reviews
5.4 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 23 in Galle
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lighthouse

Property: Jetwing Lighthouse
Address: Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
#3 Spa Hotel in Galle
#3 Family Hotel in Galle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Lighthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark that stands along the Galle coastline, Jetwing Lighthouse blends minimalist elegance with splashes of sophistication set amidst breathtaking ocean views. Designed by famed architect Geoffrey Bawa, this luxurious hotel lets you indulge in the finer things in life as you travel back in time and explore Sri Lanka's colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jetwing Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lighthouse Galle
Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel Galle
Lighthouse Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing