We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful tropical hotel”
Review of Jetwing Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jetwing Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days at the start of an 11 day Sri Lanka trip with Kuoni. Overall it exceeded (high) expectations. Great architecture. Friendly staff. Great views. Nice swimming pools and spa. Service, good but on island time! Very good value.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank langland_fisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

I am delighted to hear that the Jetwing Lighthouse experience was able to exceed your expectations. The stunning design, the surrounding environment, and all the facilities and services add towards this experience that you speak of and I am glad you were absolutely delighted with what we offered. As the General Manager here, this feedback gives me the view that the entire team here are heading in the right direction and I will pass these compliments on to the entire team.

We eagerly await your next visit to Jetwing Lighthouse.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,806)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,183 - 1,189 of 1,806 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

The most breathtakingly beautiful hotel I've ever had the pleasure to stay at. The rooms were gorgeous with stunning views out over the Indian Ocean. The infinity style pool and grass sunbaking area were gorgeous. The breakfast was vast and varied. And treating myself to a spa treatment was the icing on the cake. You simply must stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kate14478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your very positive review on Trip Advisor. I am glad to see that you had enjoyed Jetwing Lighthouse to the maximum and that makes me happy. It is with great care that the entire team here look after our guests, and I am glad to see that you enjoyed the experience. We encourage all our guests to enjoy all our facilities, including the two swimming pools and spa, and we do get large amount of compliments of both these facilities.

We all look forward to having you back at Jetwing Lighthouse when your travels bring you to the South of Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Wow, this property is amazing!
Rooms right on the sea, sit on the balcony and see the waves crashing below, beautiful.

Huge rooms & bathrooms, beds comfortable, great food, friendly staff and what a location!
A couple of the rooms were a bit musty on check in but they were Ok after a few hours. To be expected right on the sea like this.

Two beautiful swimming pools, good areas to relax and have a drink. Really nice place to have a vacation for a few days at least. Long stretch of beaches to explore, not swimmable as it is pretty rough.

A few things to do here visit the old fort, many shops, lovely view of the Galle cricket ground.
Certainly I would go back as it was a really relaxing enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Can either overlook the pool or the sea, the sea may be noisy for some but is a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunda_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Jetwing Lighthouse. At Jetwing Lighthouse we believe in leaving a guest with lasting impressions and exceeding each and everyone’s expectations.

Apart from all the in-house facilities that guests can use, Galle and the surrounding areas leave a guest with many options to go out and explore. Galle is rich in culture and history and offers many different options to a guest who likes to venture out. Visits to the Galle Fort, treks at the rain forests, and whale watching are some of the activities that a guest can enjoy during their stay at Jetwing Lighthouse.

The entire team here thank you for your visit and hope to see more of your in the future. I also would like to thank you for the review on Trip Advisor, as it is always pleasing to hear back from guests about their experiences.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

returned to hotel 12 months after 1st visit,when we usually abide by the "dont go back rule,"but i have to say the lighthouse prooved this wrong,the manager and staff were absolutely superb,from start to finish,the food had improoved from a high standard last time,and work is being done to the restaurant to make the exprience even better,but this work was of no inpact on us at all.The upgrade to a suite was brilliant,with the help of the fantastic Chamilla (butler) i am quite fussy normally but the relaxing nature of this hotel gave me no reason to find fault with anything even if i could, many thanks to all the staff involved in our stay

Room Tip: ask for a suite if possible other wise rooms 200 block have stunning views of the waves crashing on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whitehousem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

I am glad that you chose to re visit Jetwing Lighthouse and I appreciate the feedback very much. I am overjoyed to hear that we have improve in more than one area and I will be passing this information on to all the associates as I believe this is what we thrive on achieving. We want all our guests to leave only wanting to come back and when they do come back to enjoy it as much as, or even more than the first visit. The Jetwing Lighthouse experience is by no means simple, the perfect blend of services and facilities is what I want the team to achieve.

The renovation work that is going on at the moment is comprehensive and we hope it will improve a guest’s experience at our property and we hope to have it completed very soon.

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Jetwing Lighthouse.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Awesome hotel. Swimming pool, Beach area was good. Best hotel for honeymooners and for family also. Food was good. Lot of varity in food. Sea facing room having direct view. Hotel staff is also friendly. Hotel is arraning candle light dinner on beach.

Hotel having three swimming pool.
Spa facility. Most of the europien crowed staying in this hotel. Cost wise eexpensive. Worth to stay.

Momoriable experience we had in this hotel.

Room Tip: Galle is 5hrs from Colombo. But it is not crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pallumayekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are glad you chose the Jetwing Lighthouse for your honeymoon and that you were able to enjoy our property. The stunning views, the crystal clear pools, and the spa, all add to an amazing honeymoon at Jetwing Lighthouse.

We also have an array of romantic dining experiences that a guest can choose from to add to the facilities at the hotel. The entire team here caters to a lot of honeymooners who come to Galle all year around, and I assure you that they go that extra mile to make everything extra special.

I also want to thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, and I am glad we have another extremely satisfied guest. I also want to take this chance to invite you back to Jetwing Lighthouse in the future as we would love to have you back.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

After many years traveling & 48 countries I found the perfect Caramel Pudding. No easy task!
The caramel stuck to the top, the pudding remained erect and the inside remained
creamy white. The size was right for good health.I broke all rules & enjoyed it (two- days- running). My congratulations to the individuals behind this. I got it right only after 6 tries
45 years ago.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nissapeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments that were posted on Trip Advisor. I have passed on your comments to the necessary associates. We are delighted you enjoyed our caramel pudding; it is specially made under the watchful eye of our award winning executive pastry chef.

Thank you again for your compliments and we hope to see you back at Jetwing Lighthouse soon.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wonderful hotel with really good rooms, attentive staff and fab location. Recommend that you walk along the beach in the early evening listening to the waves and looking for shells, very romantic.

Food great mix of local and international, with a great view from the dining room of the waves crashing against the rocks.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent comments on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to hear that you had a fabulous stay at Jetwing Lighthouse.

Along with the associates that go out of their way to please a guest, to the amazingly designed property, it is the amazing sound of the waves crashing that always seem to keep a guest relaxed and at peace. We are the happiest that if all of our guests can come and enjoy this unique property in the South and take a bit of it back home with them along with the beautiful island of Sri Lanka.

We hope to see you back at Jetwing Lighthouse in the future, and the entire team will be looking forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
1.1 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#7 of 25 in Galle
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
5.5 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#11 of 25 in Galle
275 reviews
5.4 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 25 in Galle
247 reviews
4.2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lighthouse

Address: Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
#3 Family Hotel in Galle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#3 Spa Hotel in Galle
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galle
Price Range: $169 - $619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Lighthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark that stands along the Galle coastline, Jetwing Lighthouse blends minimalist elegance with splashes of sophistication set amidst breathtaking ocean views. Designed by famed architect Geoffrey Bawa, this luxurious hotel lets you indulge in the finer things in life as you travel back in time and explore Sri Lanka's colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jetwing Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lighthouse Galle
Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel Galle
Lighthouse Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing