We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Deco On 44(Galle)
$85
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $88/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$98
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
$112
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$231
$46
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortaleza(Galle)
$130
$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$135
$127
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Amangalla(Galle)
$550
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,967)
Filter reviews
1,968 results
Traveler rating
1,183
547
164
42
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,183
547
164
42
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson the rocksindian oceancinnamon roomgeoffrey bawasri lankamain restaurantwaves crashingset menubuffet styleoverlooking the oceanbeautiful hotelhalf boardnew wingtuk tuka la carte menudeluxe roomrooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
1,360 - 1,365 of 1,968 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here 6 nights, wish we had another 6. Perfectly located just out of galle, this was the highlight of our visit to Sri Lanka.
We had ground floor room overlooking the ocean, with heir own verandah, a perfect place for an afternoon drink. The rooms were clean and well maintained.
Hotel facilities were great, with 2 pools, the bottom lawn pool was the best, with plenty of recliners and overlooking the small beach. Waiters and pool staff are always on hand to help.
The food was good, and always changing, buffets, bbq's, al a carte menus, and a great range. H buffet breakfasts were fresh and filling (omletes were cooked to perfection).
Handy tip - use the hotel Tuk tuks, he change 500 rupees, for a round trip, and will wait for you where ever you want and for how ever long you need.
Definitely the best place to stay

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank timnbob2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Jetwing Lighthouse. As a team, we work hard to provide all our guests with best possible services and facilities, and it is a great reward to hear that guests are actually enjoying all the hard work the team puts in to making the Jetwing Lighthouse experience so special.

The two swimming pools, the gym, and the tennis court gives a guest a range of options with activities they choose to engage in and spend the day doing. The splendid view of the ocean from the second pool is breath taking every time. It is a very busy part of the property that guests tend to frequent regularly. Thank you for your compliments on the food as well, as it is an integral part of determining how much of an experience a guest enjoys at a property.

I also want to thank you for leaving your comments on Trip Advisor, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Jetwing Lighthouse when your travels do bring you to this part of the world.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We booked for 4 nights and we were offered an upgrade to a room with an amazing view. The view from the resturant and the pool was amazing too . The service was exceptional , by the second day they new how I like my tea... The staff at the Spa was knowledge and polite . For an overseas visitor I would say the price for treatments at the spa are reasonable . We wanted to stay one extra night unfortunately they were booked out .
They should how hotel guest should be treated since the guest are there on their holidays.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank SydneyCdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your extremely positive review on Trip Advisor. Here at the Jetwing Lighthouse, our guests and their satisfaction is the most important thing. I am happy that we were able to meet your expectations and that you left a happy and content guest.

Anticipating a guests need and catering to it, and also learning what a guest needs and wants in quick time is highly important in hospitality. I will no doubt pass your comments on to the relevant managers to have a look at and I have no doubt that they will be pleased.

I am sorry we could not accommodate you for another night, but the Jetwing Lighthouse does get full depending on various reasons and it is difficult to turn guests away but it has to be done. I would love to welcome you back to the Jetwing Lighthouse in the future, and I know that my team here would also love to have you back.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed two nights in this magnificent hotel! A design from Bawa! Very nice rooms, very kind staff, nice dinner, nice evening entertainment, nice beaches, two perfect simmingpools.
A perfet hotel to visist Galle and also relax a little and enjoy the Sri Lankan hospitality.

Room Tip: every room has a seasight. We stayed at the second floor and had very nice views.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theraven67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

At the Jetwing Lighthouse we take pride in providing our guests with nothing but the best Southern Sri Lankan hospitality. I am glad you were able to be a part of this hospitality and experience it first hand. I also want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review on Trip Advisor.

The majestic design by Geoffrey Bawa combined with the location, atmosphere, environment, and the ambiance makes the Jetwing Lighthouse truly extraordinary. It is one of the most unique properties in the South, and I am glad that the entire team here was able to deliver and cater to all your needs. It was a pleasure having you with us.

Please feel free to get in touch with us again and that you do come visit the Jetwing Lighthouse and the team in the future.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Myself and my family did a day trip to Galle and decided on a Sunday buffet at the Galle Light house. This was the first time we were visiting this hotel and having heard good things about the place went with high hopes! The service was good and the views of the sea were fabulous but the food was "nothing to write home about" as my other half said. For the price per head it could have been much better.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank loveholidays1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. It is by our guest feedback that we here at the Jetwing Lighthouse improve aspects of the property of the service thus it is extremely valuable to us.

The food at the Jetwing Lighthouse is an aspect that we get most compliments on, our team lead by our Executive Chef are well known for the amazing range of food they prepare for a guest and also known to be of the highest standard in every possible aspect. I will defiantly look in to you concerns, and will talk to the necessary personnel and try and figure out what exactly went wrong and rectify things so that no other guest has to face that kind of issue.

Thank you for choosing the Jetwing Lighthouse as a dining option, and we were glad to have served you. I look forward to having you back with us at some point in the future.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The Lighthouse in Galle is fantastic, ideally located (less than 20 minutes away from the town centre), two pools and a private beach which offer breath taking views of the sunset and a great place to unwind after exploring Galle.

The hotel is also able to arrange whale watching tours and Galle is apparently one of the best places to see whales with a hit rate of 95% in season. During our excursion we saw 10 blue whales but the groups who had gone out the day before had also seen spinner dolphins and a pod of killer whales.

The food is good but not as good as the food at Jetwing Beach or Warwick Gardens, though the fine dining restaurant is a great place dinner on the terrace if the weather permits, we had very romantic views of the ocean cut through by a crystal clear moon reflecting off the water, it was magical.

Visitors should definately reserve a day to visit the Galle Fort and you can have quite a lot of fun wandering the streets and visiting some of the old churches and libraries.

Finally, you can also learn how to surf at Galle and Bentota. We didn't but there are several surf schools set up by the beach which are ideal for newbies because the waves and current aren't as rough as they are in a place like Negombo.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor towards the pool areas are recommended as they give you stunning views of the sunset and are a great place to chill out with a bottle of wine after a day out.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delan_Silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

I am glad you chose to stay with us at the Jetwing Lighthouse and enjoyed your experience. The location of this property makes it a popular choice among guests from various regions of the world. It not only provides stunning views, the building is spread out and is ideal for a guest to relax.

The history and nature in a close range around the Jetwing Lighthouse only makes it more appealing to a guest. The Galle Fort provides a guest the perfect place to walk around and explore the history of their surroundings; it is a must when visiting Galle. The Whale Watching excursions we organize through the Jetwing Lighthouse is a spectacular experience. It is one of the best places in the world to go whale watching and has an extremely high hit rate during the season, and is a must do while in this part of Sri Lanka.

I would like to thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor, and I look forward to seeing you back at the Jetwing Lighthouse when your travels bring you to the South of Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews