We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest Review”
Review of Jetwing Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jetwing Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2011

After a long flight and car journey, arrival at Jetwing Lighthouse can on initial impression appear slightly disappointing - the uninspiring entrance leading to a concrete portico. However, enter the reception and climb the magnificent staircase and you begin to appreciate the attraction of this property with its stunning views due to the elevated position above the ocean. We were met with a choice of welcoming drinks before being escorted to our room which was extremely comfortable and well appointed. The quality of the food was excellent and very well presented. We particularly liked the extensive breakfast buffet and unlike other reviews, we found the service very quick and efficient. Oil lamps on the rocks and the crashing waves created a lovely ambience when taking dinner on the terrace in an evening. Dinner consisted of either set menu or a la carte and was also of a high standard, particularly on the Sri Lankan buffet evening. Also of mention is the exceptional service of the pool staff who service the sun loungers on the grassed area adjacent to the beach. The convenient location of this hotel to Galle makes it an ideal place to explore southern Sri Lanka. The staff are very professional and accommodating and we would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel. No, its not perfect and certain areas require a little updating but during our stay we witnessed that renovations were starting to take place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayncarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2011

Dear Guest,

Our reception team love watching the expression on the faces of guests change when we escort them up Lucky Senanayake’s famous staircase to be greeted by the majesty of the Indian Ocean amplified by the rays of the mid day sun glistening upon it. All credit should be given to Geoffrey Bawa’s architectural genius. We also feel very fortunate to be located on such an amazing spot. We are always thrilled when are guests feel the same way.

Thank you for your wonderful recommendation. It was our pleasure being your host in the city of Galle and its surroundings and we do hope your travels will bring you back to us in the years to come.

Sincerely,

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,351 - 1,357 of 1,798 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

Everything about this hotel is excellent - the architecture, the views, the location, the rooms, the service and the food. The spread at breakfast has to be seen to be believed. Have no hesitation in giving it a 5 star rating.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frombath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate your recommendation, especially about the breakfast buffet. Your kind words have been conveyed to our executive chef and I am sure you made his day!

Please do come visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

One of the best hotels in Sri Lanka. Good food, friendly staff and good rooms. Some rooms need some attention regarding normal wear and tear but overall this is one of the best in the chain of Keels hotels.
Pool is a bit far from the bar and the sea is not inviting to swim (rocky). Also you need a car or cab to eat in the city of Galle for it is just too far to walk.

Room Tip: any room will do but front sea view is the best of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelblom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your glowing recommendation! We certainly take a lot of pride in being called one of the best hotels in Sri Lanka, even more so in hearing it from a satisfied guest. We agree that some of the rooms are starting to show signs of wear. However, I’m sure you’ll be happy to hear that a planned restoration is underway and we hope to have all our rooms fresh and rejuvenated by early next year.

I would also like to add that Jetwing Lighthouse is not a Keells Hotel but part of the Jetwing Hotels portfolio. We do hope you will visit some of our other magnificent properties in the future.

It has been an absolute pleasure having you stay with us during your trip to Sri Lanka’s amazing Southern Coast and we greatly look forward to your next visit.


Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

My husband, friend and I dined here four times because of the great selection in Sri Lankan dishes - we put up with the service because of the offerings of food that was hard to beat. However, the service we received was abismal. Only the fourth time, once we had a new set of servers, did any one pay us the slightest bit of attention. We watched as people who came after us were waited on and expeditiously brought drinks and dishes from the a la carte menu, wondering why nobody would come to our table.
We got the impression that we did not look "foreign" enough, as we traveled with a local and I myself am of Sri Lankan heritage. I had looked forward to visiting this hotel but I was very disappointed.
Also, at breakfast, some of the food laid out at the counters outside was left unattended and birds were able to swoop down and peck at it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilablar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2011

Dear Guest,

Please accept our most humble apologies regarding the unsatisfactory service at the restaurant. I am truly saddened that you feel that you were discriminated against. As General Manager, allow me to personally assure you that we at Jetwing Lighthouse pride ourselves serving all our guests with hospitality which is both genuine and sincere.

I have conveyed your grievance to my Food & Beverages Manager and more precautions will be taken to ensure that guests are served in the order they are seated. Also, more care will be given to ensure birds are kept away from the action stations.

I sincerely hope that you will return to Jetwing Lighthouse in the near future and experience Jetwing hospitality at its finest.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

This hotel is the best hotel for me where I stayed in Sri Lanka. I stay there for 1 night. It took so long time from the international airport. maybe 5 hours...even though, the view which I saw the first was so very amazing. I watched it many times in guide books. but, the view was more than I can imagine.
The staffs working there are very polite and friendly. The building was little old...but, very comfortable and nice architectural structure of Geoffrey Bawa. And the swimming pool near the sea was very big. very quiet, peaceful atomosphere...I hoped to spend more and more time in this hotel. I think it would be little boring when you want to do a lot of things. This hotel makes you very relaxing when you need it. reading books, sleeping, taking massage..

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHKRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your night at Jetwing Lighthouse and only wish you could have enjoyed our hospitality for longer.

I’m sure you will be very excited to learn about the new highway scheduled to open in November 2011. This will cut travel time between Colombo and Galle down to one hour.

Thank you for your kind words about our staff and our level of hospitality. I shall convey your
compliments to all mentioned departments and I am sure it will inspire our staff even further.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we eagerly await your return.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

The Jetwing Lighthouse is rather a disapointment on arrival it looks like a dated concrete carpak, but as soon as you climb the dramatic starcase you are greeted by the most wonderful view of the Indian ocean & you realise you have come some where very special.
The rooms are large,spotless & all have amazing sea views,the staff are all well trained polite & keen to make your stay enjoyable.
We stayed on a b&b package & the breakfast was one of the best we have ever had. Lunch & dinner were also good but as Galle is only 10mins away we ate out most nights.
The beach is lovely to walk on but if you want to swim take a tuk tuk to Unawatuna for the day where its safe to swim.
The hotel is in need of a bit of a makeover , we were told it is to be refurbished next yr but so often a great hotel is more that just it's furnishings it's a spectacular setting & wonderful staff.
We will definatly return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review. The wonderful design of Jetwing Lighthouse is attributed to the architectural genius, Geoffrey Bawa. But in terms of location, there is nothing more spectacular. The stark difference between the lobby and reception area often leaves many guests stunned and, as General Manager, I never tire of watching the expression of first time guests change when I walk them up the winding stairway and they see the glimmering Indian Ocean.

We are very excited about the refurbishment and we hope to have the hotel renovated before the next season. We are happy to hear you will visit us again as it was an absolute pleasure being your host.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

The welcome, the room, the view, the atmosphere, the food. Everything was outstanding. We wished we could stay there for a few more days. hope to visit again soon!! One of the best hotels we have ever been to.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mintzfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Dear Guest,

We are absolutely thrilled that you deem Jetwing Lighthouse to be one of the best hotels you have ever been to. Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. Your recommendation and high praise means a lot to us and will be appreciated by all the staff. It was our pleasure having you stay with us and we eagerly await your return to wonderful Galle, and Jetwing Lighthouse.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
1.1 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#8 of 24 in Galle
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
6.4 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#10 of 24 in Galle
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
617 reviews
2.0 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#6 of 24 in Galle
559 reviews
5.4 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 24 in Galle
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lighthouse

Address: Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#3 Spa Hotel in Galle
#3 Family Hotel in Galle
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galle
Price Range: $170 - $603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Lighthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark that stands along the Galle coastline, Jetwing Lighthouse blends minimalist elegance with splashes of sophistication set amidst breathtaking ocean views. Designed by famed architect Geoffrey Bawa, this luxurious hotel lets you indulge in the finer things in life as you travel back in time and explore Sri Lanka's colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jetwing Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lighthouse Galle
Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel Galle
Lighthouse Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing