We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,992)
Filter reviews
1,992 results
Traveler rating
1,199
553
166
42
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,199
553
166
42
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson the rockscinnamon roomindian oceangeoffrey bawasri lankamain restaurantwaves crashingset menubuffet styleoverlooking the oceanbeautiful hotelhalf boardnew wingtuk tuka la carte menudeluxe roomrooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
1,544 - 1,549 of 1,992 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We had a wedding celebration at the Lighthouse hotel and we could not have asked for more. The hotel is breathtakingly beautiful, the food is excellent, and the service is top notch. Janaka Jayasuriya helped us plan our entire dinner and party down to every detail, which was executed perfectly. Upon our arrival, Reshmal Caldera assisted us with our check in and our wedding guests commented on how wonderful it was to deal with such competent staff. We also loved our suite and our butler. Thank you to the Lighthouse hotel for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbelanich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Dear Guest,

Again, Congratulation on your special day!

Weddings are very special events at Jetwing Lighthouse. Having such a small staff, it’s easy for everyone to get caught up in the excitement and before you know it, you are practically part of the Lighthouse Family. Speaking of families, it was our pleasure meeting and getting to know the very colourful members of yours. We had a grand time hosting them and enjoyed their company very much. It’s no exaggeration when I say they certainly left a lasting impression on all of us here.

By now I hope that those who were set to fly have arrived safely in their respective homes. Please give them our love and warmest wishes. We hope you had an amazing honeymoon and that Kandalama and the Maldives were everything you imagined it would be. Thank you for making us a part of your wedding celebration.

Here’s wishing you all the very best for a wonderful life together!

Sincerely,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

After visiting the southern coast of Sri Lanka and seeing other hotels that I considered this is without a doubt the best hotel for location and food. First off location, this hotel is in the middle of Unawatuna and Hikkadua beach. Each beach is about 10-15 min from the hotel by Tuk Tuk. The Fort at Galle is about 10 minutes away so the location allows you to hit everything nearby in just a short time. The hotel itself is situated on its own private beach, the staff was very attentive and the food is the best we had all week. The hotel itself is beautiful, nice big comfy beds and its simply amazing to wake up every morning and see the ocean at your door. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Southern Coast of Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dyang77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay and your wonderful review and for your lovely recommendation. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure hosting you and we hope you left with many wonderful memories and unforgettable experiences. Please do visit us again should your travels bring you to the amazing south of Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

This hotel is in a great spot, on the beach with good views, just out of the rat race of Galle but close enough to walk into the town. Rooms were a good size with a nice big bathroom. Out room had a good sized balcony overlooking the ocean. It was a low rise complex, so no lifts, you need to walk up to the 3rd level. The food was good value and quality was quite good. There was entertainment on one of the nights which was nice to see some traditional dance etc. The staff were also lovely. Wine was expensive, but that is the case all over Sri Lanka due to high taxes. Pool areas were welcomed after a day out and about in the heat. Hotel organized us a driver for day tour and back to Colombo at a very reasonable rate, which to my mind is the best way to travel around. It was only $100 aud for the 3+ hour trip back!! The Sri Lankan people are particularly nice, very friendly and very honest. Will go back to explore other areas as it takes a long time to get around on the roads, so day trips too far afield are not really an option. E.g. 120klms take 3+ hours.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tadra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your comment on Tripadvisor and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. As a hotel, we feel very fortunate to be located in such close proximity to the amazing city of Galle, its Fort which is a UNESCO world heritage site, Unawatuna, Hikkaduwa and so many other landmark locations along Sri Lanka’s southern coast. Throw in the amazing view of the Indian Ocean and Jeffrey Bawa’s phenomenal architecture and you have a place unlike any other anywhere in the world.

Travelling in Sri Lanka does take a very long time due to various reasons. With the boom in tourism many alternate forms of travel are emerging (ex. Sea plane, also known as Air Taxi) and we would encourage you to explore these options on your next visit. We are also very excited about the new highway scheduled to open in November which would considerably cut travel time between Colombo and Galle.

Sri Lanka is a beautiful country with many places to visit and truly unique things to see. We encourage you to travel to as many of these places as possible on your next visit. However, should your journey bring you across our little perch, we would love for you to drop in. It will be our pleasure to host you once more.

Sincerely,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The Lighthouse is a fantastic hotel beautifu accomodation and amazing views. It had 2 beautiful swimming pools , an infinity pool and another by a sandy beach.The staff were lovely and the restaurabnt and bars over look the ocean

Room Tip: Rooms with a full sea view are fantastic but others have pool and sea view too.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHeyes27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the hotel after a 5 hour long drive from Colombo Airport. The hotel was very rustic yet elegant. Once you check-in the circular stairway to the room level is a magnificent piece of art in itself. And finally our room's veranda had the best view of the ocean ever. We spent hours just sitting there and reading a book. Just heavenly!!!

The pool was huge ... my son loved it. He ran across the adjacent lawn all day chasing birds and squirrels. We had to drag him (literally) from there.

The only disappointment for us was that the beach was not swim worthy ... so we had to go to the Unawatuna Beach which was 45 min from the Hotel for a dip in the sea. But it was worth it. Unawatuna Beach was fantastic and the food there was great as well.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Ocean View room in the main building ... Try to stay in these rooms ... The view from the veranda is breathtaking.
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaeedZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Sri Lanka. The drive to Jetwing Lighthouse from the airport certainly is taxing. This is why we’re very excited about the new highway which is scheduled to open in November, which will considerably cut down the travel time between Galle and Colombo.

We are sorry we could not provide you with the beach access you were looking forward to. We are however, happy to hear you and your family was to enjoy our pools as well as visit Unawatuna Beach. Also do visit our sister hotels located in Negombo (20 minutes from the International Airport) which are well renowned to be amongst some of the best beach resorts in Sri Lanka.

Thank you for leaving us a review and we do hope you’ll visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews