We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“magical”
Review of Jetwing Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jetwing Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“magical”
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Stayed seven nights at this hotel and could find no fault. My daughter had her wedding here and the staff were excellent in making this a marvelous day for all of us.
The food was of a very high standard and very reasonable, the rooms were excellent and were very clean and spacious.
The views were spectacular and the hotel was very well run with friendly and courteous staff who went out of their way to oblige.
The treatments in the Spa were heavenly and very reasonable, I would return for this facility alone.
I would recommend this hotel very highly and intend to make a return trip in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michellek1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. As General Manager, I am pleased that my colleagues and I were able to be apart of your daughter’s special day. I am also pleased that you were able to enjoy the many facilities Jetwing Lighthouse had to offer, such as our Spa and fine dining restaurant, amidst the chaos of wedding planning.

Allow me to once again, wish your daughter and her husband all the very best for a wonderful life together. It was our pleasure being your host and we eagerly look forward to having you visit us for many anniversaries to come.

Sincerely,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,022
    466
    144
    36
    27
See reviews for
439
749
66
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
colombo
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We have stayed in the lighthouse several times and we have taken many friends there. It is a beautiful hotel on a great location. Rooms are large, buffet dinner is great, and the seaside pool is just beautiful.
The architecture is spectacular. It is easy to get to Galle Fort by three wheeler or car.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank grlnclmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanarkshire
Level Contributor
139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Stayed a week, thought the hotel was OK nothing special nice big reception area where the staff were really nice and helpful, our room was large with a good size walk in toilet /dressing area, all of which looked clean enough but had a very musty odour coming from it although disappeared after a day or so.The food was OK, breakfast was near enough exact same as the other jetwing hotels we stayed at in Sri Lanka, lunch was usually at the Anchor pool bar the only problem here was that some people were using this area as their base for the pool with tables and chairs covered in towels and other bathing accessories,and glass tumblers lying about on the ground next to the pool area, although service here was slow the staff here were nice. Dinner was in the main dining room usually off the set menu or a la carte, here we had a couple of disappointing meals. We found the drinks here to be more expensive than the other hotels we stayed in. We went upstairs to the bar twice at night but no one there to serve.There were two good size pools and plenty of sun loungers on the grassy lawn, their was not much of a beach and it appeared dangerous to try to swim in the sea here.
On our last night we were visited by the guy that cleaned our room looking for a tip as he would not see us the following day this was after we had been leaving him something most days during our stay , also on the day we were leaving we had a late pick up (8.30pm) to take us to the airport (OK bad planning) and asked if we could keep the room on for a couple of hours we were refused but were offered to keep the room for US $175 after discussion we were given a couple of hours extra .To get out and about you had to use the local tuk tuks and they have their prices fixed for the tourists

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snaps57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse. Your review was brought to the attention of the executive housekeeper and he has agreed to personally investigate the matter of the room boys.

Please accept our apologies regarding the poor bar service and the unsatisfactory dinner. We would very much like to know exactly what you found disappointing about the set menu so we may work towards improvements. I may be reached at robert@jetwinghotels.com .

Jetwing Lighthouse has two large pools. The pool located on the upper level is more family oriented allows parents to supervise children from the poolside Bar & Grill. For a quieter, more relaxed swim, we highly recommend the deeper, lower level pool.

The standard check-out time is 12 noon, and the check-in time is 2.00pm. We are sorry we could not accommodate your request to keep your room until 8.30pm. All attempts will be made to allow you an extra hour or two considering occupancy as well as if other guests are expected for the same room.

Thank you once again for your comments and we hope you’d visit us again someday to find that all your comments were addressed and improved upon.

Sincerely,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Stayed the second part of our holiday here. The first week was from 5 April until the 12th at the Jetwing beach Negombo and then at the Lighthouse for another week. We were both a bit disappointed with the hotel (Lighthouse)as we both felt it did not live up to a 5 star grading. Allocated a room with live wriggly bugs on the windowsill, which clearly had not been cleaned for a while. when I moved the pillow from my side of the bed, the dust at the back of the headboard was really thick. Service from the waiters was generally good. Impression was that this hotel was living on past reputation. When you cash your money they don't give you anything less than 100 rupees. Recommendation in the travel guides say to tip 10 rupees, but we never had anything less than 100 to pass on. Prices are expensive. Outside a ginger beer was 80 rupees and in the hotel it was 220 then 22% charges on top of all bills. Location, is about 2.5km from Galle, you need to jump a tuk tuk. Round trip is 600 rupees for the tuk tuk, but nothing really there to spend a week on seeing. Momma Galles has excellent reviews for food so we went and waited over 1.5hrs for our drinks and food that was not very good. It appears that Momma Galle has moved to the premises next door and is cooking for them! Back to the hotel. We found the Jetwing Beach in Negombo more appealing one fault was- not having enough staff on at the beach bar during the day which we passed on to one of the managers. We were also allocated a lovely room and were asked to move 15 minutes later saying they had someone request the room they had just allocated to us. After a very long flight, I refused to move. I found the staff here courteous and the location was really good. Safe to go out and have a walk with a couple of bars and plenty of restaurants.

Before I forget, the bell hops at the Lighthouse are great guys, very courteous and sincere, not looking for anything but to please you.

Room Tip: More research, research, research
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobyfudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Absolutely thrilled to find that the comments that influenced our decision to stay at the Lighthouse for the last three days of our trip to Sri Lanka had not been exaggerated. It is an amazing place. Beautiful location right on the beach, stunningly designed so that each area flows seamlessly into the next, and the whole place blends into its surroundings in a manner that is almost organic. Fabulous decor - generally uncluttered and deceptively simple, aside from the amazing sculptured staircase - with cleverly placed artwork, sculptures and furniture to emphasise and bring life to landings and rooms.

Bedroom was stunning, with great decor and facilities and some lovely welcoming touches - complimentary bottle of sparkling wine and a basket of fruits, lined with a lotus leaf and with a lotus flower to set it off - very stylish and much appreciated.

Food was exceptional - great menus and wonderful special buffets with local specialities included, lots of flavour and variety. Breads and pastries were terrific, and the dessert choices of an evening just far too tempting! And being there over Sri Lankan New Year we also enjoyed a special afternoon of fun and games and traditional treats in the garden, along with the staff - a memorable occasion.

The staff were charming, friendly, efficient and attentive, from the baggage porter through to senior management. Any concerns were dealt with promptly and effectively and our three days were so relaxing and enjoyable that we felt we'd been there far longer. Sitting on the veranda with drinks on the last day, watching the waves crash on the rocks below, and the sun setting beyond the palm trees, we felt totally seduced by the magic of this place.

A little more expensive than some of the other very good hotels we stayed in during our visit, it was well worth every penny and we would definitely recommend it to anyone planning to visit this amazing country, especially if , like us, they need a few days to unwind after a fairly busy tour. Or as a location for a wedding, honeymoon, anniversary or other special occasion.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonkScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review regarding your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse. Trip Advisor has revolutionized the way guests research hotels and we at Jetwing hope to maximize on this new found source of constructive feedback. Your kind words will be conveyed to each mentioned department and I am confident they will motivate our staff members to strive for even higher levels of guest satisfaction.

We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2011

We love this place!
A beautiful, genuine hotel by the ocean.
The hotel restaurant serves excellent food and drinks.
Great food, professional staff and splendid surroundings.
We hope to be back soon and recommend others to share this experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SenakaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words. It was a pleasure hosting you and we eagerly await your next visit.

Sincerely,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Hotel was stunning with an infinity pool looking out to sea. Bathroom and room was huge for two people. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was fantastic lots of choice and excellent quality, anywhere else in the world you'd pay a lot more for this standard of hotel.
The only concern for us was the tuc tuc & taxi drivers outside the hotel. We were warned by someone on the train who worked for the tourist board that they try and rip you off in his words 'you stay 5* you pay 5*.' We were told pay no more than 80 rupees per km, take a metre reading when you start and when you end. The tuc tuc we got outside the station was happy to do this, however when leaving the hotel they said 500 rupees to the train station which we knew was only 2km down the road! They tried to tell us they didn't have a metre then they had a metre but it didn't work etc etc. Eventually after arguing we got the tuc tuc for 300 rupees and didn't tip the guy. There is a lot to visit from this hotel, we visited Douglas & Sons jewelers, a herb and spice garden (free massage included!), turtle hatchery, white tea plantation and a buddhist temple all were fantastic experiences. All in all I'd thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ned46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. As much as we’d love to take credit for the breathtaking view from your balcony, that honor goes to the Indian Ocean. We are constantly awed by her beauty and grace and feel truly fortunate to be located on such a picturesque plateau.

Please accept my apologies for your unpleasant experience with the local tuk tuks. Meters for Tuk Tuks have only recently started appearing in Sri Lanka and these have not yet spread out of Colombo. Many vehicles still operate without them and this of course, allows drivers to quote whatever price they wish and a certain amount of haggling is required to get a fair rate.

We recommend guests take advantage of the hotel registered tuk tuks. These vehicles belong to local drivers who have been taken under the Jetwing Umbrella and have been given basic hospitality training. Though their prices are slightly higher, they are fully insured and their vehicles are regularly inspected for safety and comfort. The rates are fixed and are available through the reception desk.

We do look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
9.9 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
3.5 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
2.0 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#6 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
4.2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lighthouse

Property: Jetwing Lighthouse
Address: Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#3 Spa Hotel in Galle
#3 Family Hotel in Galle
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Lighthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark that stands along the Galle coastline, Jetwing Lighthouse blends minimalist elegance with splashes of sophistication set amidst breathtaking ocean views. Designed by famed architect Geoffrey Bawa, this luxurious hotel lets you indulge in the finer things in life as you travel back in time and explore Sri Lanka's colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jetwing Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lighthouse Galle
Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel Galle
Lighthouse Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing