We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant cocktails”
Review of Amangalla

Amangalla
Ranked #22 of 136 Restaurants in Galle
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Brilliant cocktails”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Another place that felt like we were back in colonial times. We had a couple of cracking Arrack Sours relaxing on the porch. The service was fantastic and the drinks were knock out.

This place was so good, drinks so nice and we really relaxed for the first time in months here, that it actually made our top 5 experiences of the trip.

Highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Olideacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    87
    38
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mornington, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Refined dining in the fort”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a stunning luncheon for our family here yesterday. Dining room is beautiful as is the food. Expensive for sti Lanka but excellent quality and memorable experience

Helpful?
Thank Jacsea76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great afternoon tea!”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Amangalla is a really nice spot for High Tea (starts 15:00). The price for two is a quite reasonable 4500LKR (inclusive of all taxes and service charges) and includes a good selection of teas alongside sandwiches, cakes and superb freshly-baked scones. You're given quite a lot though, and my wife and I struggled to finish it all. There is also an optional glass of Prosecco (1000LKR p/p) or champagne if you're feeling frivolous. Service was exactly what I expected from an Aman - discrete, polite and professional. In fact the only downside was that tuk-tuks and school buses drove past quite frequently and the verandah got a bit noisy.

Helpful?
Thank jamesc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch, beautiful hotel”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had lunch here while we were wandering around the Fort. It is a lovely hotel with a lovely dining room. The service was outstanding, and the food was also excellent. We each had a sandwich, and it was a welcome break from our usual Sri Lankan curries. The wine list was good, and if we are ever back in Sri Lanka, we will return to the Amangalla.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fingal, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Style & Substance”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

The Amangalla hotel is so beautiful set in the historical Galle Fort. The Zaal houses the salon where pre dinner drinks were served. The decor is classic colonial. The menu has both European & Sri Lankan choices with the emphasis on locally available produce. The tuna entree our daughter & I had was the best ever. Perfectly cooked & presented. My husband had the Sri Lankan curries which were perfect for flavor & not overwhelmed by chilli. Congratulations to the chef & a wonderful team. PS our night was made by the presence of a beautiful French family at the table next to us. With 5 children under 10 the were so well behaved as well as gorgeous looking & dressed as only French can do in navy polos & white shorts!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amangalla also viewed

 
Galle, Galle District
 

Been to Amangalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing