We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute cafe tucked away in Havelock Place”

The Old Railway Cafe
Ranked #25 of 136 Restaurants in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Galle Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cute cafe tucked away in Havelock Place”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Even though this cafe is out of Galle Fort is is definitely worth taking a walk to Havelock Place near the bus station. Catherine and Rasi are warm and welcoming owners. The downstairs section offers a great range of clothing, designed and made on the premises, souvenirs, (look out for the wonderful cold press smelly soaps right by the till!). Upstairs the place is relaxing and offers books and magazines for you to enjoy whilst trying the delicious cakes. sandwiches and food on offer. Has to be the best Victoria Sponge is all of Sri Lanka

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    18
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Relax and feel welcome”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Relaxing and totally welcoming place to be, went on a recommendation and will be recommending it myself. Food is second to none and there are some fine places to eat in Galle, i was a convert to the fort but my place of choice has changed. The owners have time for everyone (even though Catherine was very busy making wedding dresses) the food was plentiful and competativly priced, the atmosphere was relaxed and peaceful. The place to stop and relax, off the obvious high street by a mere 200 meters but so should not be missed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy6026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A sweet little hideaway out of the Fort”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This place does really good food.
Friends told us to drop by, we'd like it, and we did.
Downstairs is a store selling handmade stuff from out the back, books, and other cool things.
Upstairs is a cool little cafe overlooking the train station. We went back and visited most days we stayed in Galle as they made a great cup of coffee, an awesome fruit lasse, and my personal favorite the sausage and egg butty.
Rasika and Catherine who own the place make you feel at home, stopping for conversation, and advising on local things to see and do.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trincomalee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I'll make a point of visiting here each time I am in Galle”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Was introduced to this place by a friend. I am based in a very different area of Sri Lanka and so to find this place was a gem Great food and some lovely combinations on the menu, sometimes you need a break form the rice and curry. The smoothies are a MUST. Always enjoy a full meal here and just chill out on the sofas upstairs watching the madness of Galle below. Very personable owner made me feel very welcome. Well recommended and this recommendation easily passed on.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john-o-bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battaramulla, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Prefect cafe to unwind in after the chaos of Galle Town”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Tucked away down Havlock Place along the side street by the station is The Old Railway Cafe, it sells lovely hand made nik naks clothes and souvenirs and up stairs is the delightful cafe, We had really good fresh ground coffee and tea served in a tea pot and hot banana roll with ice cream. Rasika and Catherine the owners are charming and through them we were arranged to hire a scooter for the month at a reasonable rate.
It is a charming cafe and we highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DubaiCarolP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Railway Cafe also viewed

Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 
Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 
Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 

Been to The Old Railway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing