We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“White meat chicken, fresh identifiable vegetables and great taste”
Review of Mama Wok

Mama Wok
Ranked #85 of 136 Restaurants in Galle
Cuisines: Cafe
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
323 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“White meat chicken, fresh identifiable vegetables and great taste”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The place was not as inviting, and looked like it would be hot; but not at all. The fans inside kept the air moving and was very comfortable. And the food was terrific. When traveling I often want vegetables that I can relate to, and there were plenty of them in my chicken stir fry WITH LOTS OF CASHEWS. 900 rupees, and excellent. Oh, and quick service, right here in Sri Lanka.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fresh food, friendly owners and great music!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Living here in Fort for several months, I walked into this place only some time ago. The food was delicious. It is a very cosy small place with an open kitchen. All of the vegetables are fresh and although it is not the cheapest, it is not expensive either (+-900Rs). This together with the friendly stff and their very tasteful music (Louis Armstrong) made it one of the best dining experiences so for in Sri Lanka. Will definitely go more.
In contrary to other places in the Fort, you can still walk in this place at 8.30 or 9pm and have dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food amazing!! Music was great as well !”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I was walking past & I needed something different to SL curries - the food was fresh & so tasty - highly recomend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battaramulla, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Tiny but full of buzz!”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This cafe is the size of a small garage but modern in design and decorated with funky art and Keep Calm posters. The food is okay and as it plays jazz it is a cool palace to hang out and enjoy the delights of the fort

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank DubaiCarolP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level Contributor
327 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
“Out of the ordinary”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

The Wok on the Wild Side is on Peddlar Street, a few steps next to Peddlars Inn Cafe. Since the cafe was closing up at 10pm, we decided to try a place that looked like it was displaying all its kitchen utensils on very colourful walls! We took a chance! The 2 people there were extremely polite and ever ready to serve. We ordered wraps which cost Rs.750 each. It was not cheap, but worth the novel experience of sitting at brightly coloured furniture under the watchful eye of Chairman Mao! When we visited during the 2nd weekend of March, they were just open for 6 days. The ingredients were fresh and tasted good.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1LifeStand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Wok also viewed

 
Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 

Been to Mama Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing