We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best turn down service ever!”
Review of Deco On 44

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Deco On 44
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Delhi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best turn down service ever!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Quirky luxury in wonderful small-scale, intimate hotel in the heart of Galle Fort.
Particular thanks to M. Iftar for helping us out at an hour of need!
The food is simply delicious - a wonderful introduction to Sri Lankan curry.
Cannot recommend this place too highly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room around the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabelDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    118
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
71
265
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

My husband booked a surprise trip down to Galle for the weekend in this nice little hotel that lives up to its name. The pool area feels like a little oasis, with greenery around to mask the building around.

Location wise - it is in the Fort so anywhere is close by.

Rooms are spacious with clean comfy furniture, and the rain showers are lovely. They also have a DVD library for you to pick a movie and chill out.

Food is very tasty, but slightly overpriced. Saying that, most things in the Fort are. Breakfast was great. The only complaint was that in order to get the Sri Lankan Breakfast you had to order it the night before, and we were not informed of that.

The staff were courteous and friendly too.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLNA84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

We've just spent two fantastic nights at Deco on 44. M.Iftal and his friendly team of staff were there to welcome us on arrival and looked after us with genuine care throughout our stay.

The rooms are beautiful and the turn down service is a great touch, but I won't spoil the surprise! Ask for one of the three rooms by the pool although I'm sure they're all lovely.

The food was so good we ate there twice and I have to mention the delicious Sri Lankan curry and the fruit platter for breakfast.

If you want a quirky cocktail, head to the Living room next door.

This was a hotel we'll not forget. A special thank you to Iftal for helping out in an emergency!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank CatSutcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Galle, Galle, hothot Galle with its searing morning heat, sunset on the ramparts and endless gridlock jams on the narrow streets, now with huge coaches trying to turn around corners even a bicycle would draw the line at: with all this, is it worth going back there, to suffer endless torments with below par hotels and a ambiance which seems to be pitched somewhere in between High Street kensington and a poor relation of Ibiza?
This is what was going through my mind when I was persuaded into going back to Galle to stay in one of the new trendy Boutique hotels in the Fort: Deco on 44. I thought, ho hum, baby this will be the end of me staying any more days in the Fort , lest get this over with, done and dusted with Galle.
How wrong I was: we got to Deco on 44, and admittedly, the first few minutes were fraught with me trying to turn my vintage SUV into the courtyard, which proved imposs, until a staff member took over and reversed using the 4WDR. Throughly chagrined, I pretended to blase my way through the registration.
The rooms were the first surprise: the suite we got was great value-great sense of space, old school, with a balcony, and a nice bathroom. This was no elbow bend masquerading as a room, its was the real deal. The staff were very good, bags brought up pronto and very polite: after a period of crashing down on the huge bed and being comatose for a few hours, we got out and went on walkabout, and came back for dinner.
Surprise no 2: the menu was brilliant.The crab omlette we had was fantastic, and the drinks were good too, my partners G&T just right, and my house Shiraz was quite good. We were so stuffed my the main course we skipped dessert. Add to the suprise when we got back to the room was the beautiful decor on the newly made up bed, strewn with rose petals. It was a fitting end to our first night in Galle. The breakfast next morning was pretty good and the service again was excellent.IN fact this was a recurring theme at the Deco-brilliant menu, great service and super -fast waiting staff. We were bowled over, after being so used to rubbish meals , crap service and mostly indifferent staff in most Sri Lankan hotels.
We had our anniversery meal here on our Balcony, on night 2, and it was amazing: our stay was so good that we extended it by another day, and we intend to go back there, my jaundice about staying in the Fort now banished as long as the Deco keeps on going.
My complimnets to the management, the staff and the chef in particular for amazing cuisine. Well done, Deco! You bring the Art back to Hotels again! Rock on

Room Tip: Ask for a suite or a room with a view-you will be stepping into the view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prasanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

This a super comfortable boutique hotel of eight rooms in the heart of Galle Fort, close to all the Galle Fort attractions. It's Art Deco theme was lovingly and thoughtfully preserved and authentically represented throughout. A big plus for this hotel is the wonderful, friendly and attentive staff. The food was also the best we found in the Galle Fort area even though we tried several other restaurants in our three night stay in Galle.

It is housed in an old mansion which has been upgraded where necessary. One important point to note is that it is one of only three hotels in the area that had its own generator - this proved to be important two times during our stay (all of Sunday)! It was such a boon to be able to return to our room and enjoy the cool of the A/C, lights, etc. while most other hotels, restaurants and stores around the Fort were shrouded in darkness and sweltering in the heat. Deco on 44 also has its own swimming pool.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to an upstairs room that overlooked the pool. The potential for a noisy situation w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackbat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a great choice for the mid budget range whilst staying at galle fort. It's right in the middle of the fort and has maintained its charm and character. It has a great little pool and a simple but excellently executed menu. The rooms are clean and airy and the staff aim to please.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool are a nice choice as your French doors open straight to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackgeoffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2014

My family had dinner here last week during our weekend visit to Galle and it was really awesome.First of all the manager came to say hello and welcome us which was super hospitable,the staff were so warm and friendly, smiled a lot and came around from time to time as we ate to know if the food was okay or if we needed anything else. We ordered the "fisherman's luck" platter, which consists of a variety of seafood and the "Vietnamese chicken" dish, and they were both amazing. It was generally a wonderful experience, we had fun and felt so comfortable, almost like having dinner at home :D. There was also live music, a lot of familiar songs that we could sing along to because my family loves music. Deco on 44 is a must visit when in Galle.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
515 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
1.9 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 23 in Galle
229 reviews
4.5 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#8 of 23 in Galle
255 reviews
1.8 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deco On 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deco On 44

Property: Deco On 44
Address: 44 Lighthouse Street | Galle Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deco On 44 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the historic Galle Fort in the south of Sri Lanka, Deco on 44 offers you the finest luxury accommodation within this unique, historic, UNESCO World Heritage Site. Originally built in the 1930’s by a wealthy gem merchant, Deco on 44 has been renovated and decorated keeping in mind the art deco theme of its original architects. We are Sri Lanka’s only art deco hotel and we welcome you to relax in our beautiful rooms and enjoy our scrumptious cuisine and personalized service that truly is a taste of paradise. The hotel contains 3 large suites(2 with private balconies, 1 with a sitting room), 1 Junior Suite on the upper floor and 3 Deluxe Rooms overlooking the fantastic swimming pool. Tours from the hotel can be arranged for a variety of activities including Whale watching. Enjoy the Galle Fort from one of its finest hotels. We await to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your Deco On 44 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing