We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hospitality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deco On 44

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Deco On 44
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Beautiful small and stylish hotel in the heart of Galle Fort. The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to make my stay easy and comfortable (special thanks to Mr Gayan who drove me around and was a wonderful guide as well). I stayed in the Sun Room (huge room at the front of the hotel with its own balcony overlooking the street), and it was perfect. (The Moon Room next door has a similar set-up.) The food was excellent, thanks to the chef Mr Mendis, and I also went on his half-day cookery class, which I would recommend - great fun and also included a tour of the vegetable, fruit, fish and spice markets. A really welcoming hotel in a great location. I was travelling alone and felt very well looked-after.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VSB0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    117
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
70
260
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

If you are a fan of Art Deco then you will not be disappointed by the charmingly restored Deco on 44. The staff were lovely, the hotel is a real treat and the breakfasts were generous and served with good humour (try the Sri Lankan breakfast of which they are - rightly - so proud). The pool is a bit so-so and you really do need an icy cold dip on some of those searingly hot days, but the hotel is about the experience and it will not let you down. Perhaps a little overpriced for the facilities offered but we do not begrudge it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex_Sydney11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

This was probably the nicest hotel we stayed in SL. Great location, right in the middle of Galle old town. We got upgraded to the Neptune room, very nice, and big, probably too big! Room seemed to get made up twice a day, which was nice. Hotel pool was very nice, heated and no too busy while we were there (only 7 rooms in hotel so not likely to get too busy at all). Breakfast was excellent, and plentiful. The only downside was the restaurant; it was almost too big for the number of rooms in the hotel, and we we're put off eating there by the lack of atmosphere, and the slightly pricey menu. Otherwise, an amazing hotel, with very attentive staff, particularly Dilshan.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

A group of friends stayed here and we got vip treatment. Breakfast was great and service was awesome. Value for money. The location is wonderful as its in the middle of the fort. Will definitely go back. Good luck to the management and staff and keep the great quality of service.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leshanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

This was our last night in Sri Lanka, and it was my birthday. We were welcomed with a cooling drink upon arrival and swiftly checked into our room. The hotel is located in the heart of the forte so it is very easy to walk to anywhere (not that it's far to anywhere within the walls...).
The residence is beautifully restored from its colonial times without changing the original structure. We had Room Adeolus at the far end of the pool. It was spacious, impeccably clean and well-equipped with TV (full selection of international channels), fridge, safe, closet etc. Bathroom was spacious with a good rain shower. Nice-smelling toiletries too.
When we came back from walk in town, they had set up the bed with a towel-folded peacock and scribbled Happy Birthday with leaves! There was also a chocolate layer cake on the table! It was such a nice surprise (although I heard whispers exchanged between my bf and the staff :-P)!
The pool was small and quiet, beautifully lit at night and the staff were always ready in providing cold water and watermelons when they spot you relaxing next to the pool.
Because of the heavy rain we stayed at the hotel for dinner. The restaurant side is small with nicely spaced out tables. We had delicious vegetarian curry and SL-style laksa. There was a performer on guitar (not sure if he was part of the hotel or just came from street). It was pleasant. And the chef also came to our table for a little chat, and offered refill on some particular vegetable curries we really enjoyed.
Breakfast was quite sumptuous. The only disappointment was that on the menu it said Sri Lankan breakfast needed one-day notice and we did not know that. So if you intend to have local breakfast do let the hotel know upon arrival.
As our flight is at midnight, the hotel was so kind to let us have our room until 6PM without extra charges. It was truly a relaxing and wonderful experience with Deco on 44, and we look forward to return to beautiful Galle in future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank echoytx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Great hotel and a wonderful experience from the moment we arrived. We were welcomed with ice cold towels and a refreshing cold drink. We arrived earlier than anticipated and lucky for us our room was ready. The check in process was managed quickly and efficiently. Our room, out by the pool, was lovely. The room was large, well appointed with everything we wanted, very clean, the decor was a pleasure to look at (love the posters!) and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was large and the shower was great! The only fault we found (if you can call it that) was that the dividing wall between the bathroom and bedroom did not go right to the ceiling so privacy is a little compromised and if one needs the toilet at night, the light affects the sleeper in the bedroom. A torch was provided - perhaps the night walker should have used it! We ate dinner and breakfast in-house and found both to be delicious, beautifully presented and the service was excellent. The swimming pool area was lovely within the confines of the surrounding buildings and the water was clean (and cool for a change).The location of the hotel suited us very well - many wonderful sites within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: I'm sure they are all of a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toppies_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We managed to snare a good price for a room, otherwise this was out of our budget range for our trip to SL. But we were very happy to be able to experience a stay here.

Everything about this place was quality. From the vintage posters on the walls, to the Art Deco decor, to the food in the restaurant.

Little details were impressive at Deco. We were swimming by the pool and were brought chilled water & watermelon, "because it is a bit warm today". Little SL magnets were left on the bed for us. Cool towels were given to us any time we walked through reception.

This may be normal for some travellers but as a budget conscious traveller this was an experience well worth the cost.

Stay here!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSashaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#17 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
1.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deco On 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deco On 44

Property: Deco On 44
Address: 44, Lighthouse Street | Galle Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deco On 44 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the historic Galle Fort in the south of Sri Lanka, Deco on 44 offers you the finest luxury accommodation within this unique, historic, UNESCO World Heritage Site. Originally built in the 1930’s by a wealthy gem merchant, Deco on 44 has been renovated and decorated keeping in mind the art deco theme of its original architects. We are Sri Lanka’s only art deco hotel and we welcome you to relax in our beautiful rooms and enjoy our scrumptious cuisine and personalized service that truly is a taste of paradise. The hotel contains 3 large suites(2 with private balconies, 1 with a sitting room), 1 Junior Suite on the upper floor and 3 Deluxe Rooms overlooking the fantastic swimming pool. Tours from the hotel can be arranged for a variety of activities including Whale watching. Enjoy the Galle Fort from one of its finest hotels. We await to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Deco On 44 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing