We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy and comfortable”
Review of Deco On 44

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Deco On 44
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Classy and comfortable”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We chose this for its fantastic location in Galle Fort and because they could accommodate three guests in one room. Our Star suite was roomy and even the extra bed was voted comfortable by its occupant. Small touches like a torch in the bedside drawer were appreciated. We never had to request anything extra as everything we needed was in our room. Competent friendly staff even made sure we took umbrellas out with us when it looked like rain. Restaurant was an unexpected bonus as the food was exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeeBee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    118
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
71
265
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This Art Deco hotel was an ideal location for exploring Galle Fort. The pool and rooms were spotless and the service could not be faulted. The meal that we ate there was very tasty but beware - a glass of wine was very expensive - something I discovered on receiving the bill! The room had everything you would expect and more, it was certainly worth a visit and seemed far nicer than any other hotel in that area.

Room Tip: Moon suite was lovely with a large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MollyHudsonHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel or a couple of nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The room was quite large and the hotel, although quite small,is full if character. The service was quite attentive and the food was very good. Definitely worth using it as a base to explore Galle fort

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronwasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Was advised about Deco on 44 by friends who stayed and dined there. It is centrally located in Galle Fort and is a very tasteful property. Attention to detail in the rooms, front office staff's service, nice pool, free wifi, prompt attention by the housekeepign staff when one of the children lost a piece of jewellery in between the wooden floors by the poolside was exemplary, fabulous breakfast and value for money. Overall highly recommended for those looking for a boutique property in Galle fort. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angel0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We spent four nights here in July at the start of our holiday; for us it was perfect. What made it so good was the staff. In a low key, gracious and unobtrusive way they met every request, both actual and anticipated, and made our stay so pleasant.
We loved the central location and the ease of walking about the Fort.
We will certainly come back.

Peter and Anne

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Indeed the highlight of our journey so far. Deco on 44 is a home away from away. We stayed in the Sun Suite, private balcony, very quiet, high ceilings, cool and perfectly positioned within the Fort. The service is outstanding, a smile with every request, we were able to completely unwind. Beautiful experience, we will return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This former home of a wealthy gem-merchant has been recently converted into a chic, art deco hotel. With just 7 rooms, it has an intimate feel and the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. We only stayed 2 nights (which was not enough), so did not sample the lunch or dinner menu, but the breakfasts were excellent. Our room was one of three giving directly onto the poolside, which was great for early-morning swims but might not be very safe for families with young children. The rooms are airy and high-ceilinged with state of the art bathrooms and all mod cons. There are some nice touches, including the provision of multi-way adaptors and a torch (Galle has little street lighting). The hotel is situated in the heart of Galle Fort and everything we wanted to see was either within walking distance or just a short tuk-tuk ride away. We very much hope to return here someday.

Room Tip: For a view, choose one of the upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Comberdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
1.8 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#4 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
2.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deco On 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deco On 44

Property: Deco On 44
Address: 44 Lighthouse Street | Galle Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deco On 44 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the historic Galle Fort in the south of Sri Lanka, Deco on 44 offers you the finest luxury accommodation within this unique, historic, UNESCO World Heritage Site. Originally built in the 1930’s by a wealthy gem merchant, Deco on 44 has been renovated and decorated keeping in mind the art deco theme of its original architects. We are Sri Lanka’s only art deco hotel and we welcome you to relax in our beautiful rooms and enjoy our scrumptious cuisine and personalized service that truly is a taste of paradise. The hotel contains 3 large suites(2 with private balconies, 1 with a sitting room), 1 Junior Suite on the upper floor and 3 Deluxe Rooms overlooking the fantastic swimming pool. Tours from the hotel can be arranged for a variety of activities including Whale watching. Enjoy the Galle Fort from one of its finest hotels. We await to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Deco On 44 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing