We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a boutique hotel”
Review of Deco On 44

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deco On 44
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is an extremely well run small boutique hotel.
The staff and management were terrific.
Breakfast was great (Sri Lankan) , so was the lunch and dinner. The hotel is small enough to be able to cater for some special wishes . The chef is very creative!
The room was very spacious, with a nice balcony overlooking the front garden.
Thank you all for making this an unforgettable experience and I will be back end of September.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. The best ones are with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josbeeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

333 - 339 of 506 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

This superb boutique hotel offers elegant Art Deco luxury in the heart of Galle Fort. From the moment you check in nothing is too much trouble for the staff, they are on hand to ensure your stay is as perfect as possible,

Rooms are generous in size, well decorated with a large bed and all of the modern amenities. Ours was one of the three ground floor poolside rooms which created a calming and peaceful oasis from the outside heat and hustle & bustle. Turndown service had nice little touches of flowers and colourful Sri Lankan elephant key fobs.

Both lunch and breakfast service was high quality with a good choice of options, the hotel also has an excellent car & driver service which ensured a safe arrival at our next location.

We could definitely have stayed there longer!

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are large and well located
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Have just spent 3 nights here and had 3 different rooms! On arrival we were very welcomed and shown to our room which was located at the back off the hotel by the outside pool. The room itself was a good size, clean and the decor fitted in with the hotel style. The bathroom was a good size though I still have no idea why the would incorporate the wardrobe into the bathroom area, given their was enough space in the main room? For us having no window in the room was a real let down, you had to have the lights on the whole time as no natural light could get in. The entrance door had frosted glass so people couldn't see in as the room was next to sun beds for the pool area.
On our second night they kindly moved us to the "Star Room" apparently a Junior Suite but looking on their website this was advertised as a Superior Room? The room was a little larger but had a window to the side, not a great view but still a window.
On our third night we had to move again due to them being full and were told they would move us to a Suite. Unfortunately a booking came in for the Suite so we had to move back to a room by the pool area. This room was identical to the one we had on our first night but again had no window.
So generally the rooms are ok, all of a good size, clean with simple decor. But be aware the deluxe rooms by the pool area have no windows.
The pool area is small but very private away from the road and any onlookers and definitely a real gem.
The food at Deco 44 is lovely, we had 3 breakfast & 3 evening meals here and all were of good quality and the evening meals were of a reasonable price.
The staff were really helpful, friendly and always happy to help you.
Lastly location is very good, very central in the old part of Galle, easy walking distance to the Lighthouse etc.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SJLSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Wow - did we book well in finding Deco On 44! After a month travelling around in Sri Lanka, this delicious deco building found its way into our hearts. Beautifully positioned on Lighthouse Street (close to the ocean) Deco On 44 is an absolute delight. The building is original Art Deco - and has been updated to attend to current needs in the 21st century. The rooms are large and airy, and each room has a theme associated with the cosmos. We were in the "Sun" room, whilst the friend we were travelling with was ensconced in the "Moon" room. Both of these rooms were suites....and were excellent. Our room had a wonderfully large balcony, where we could sit at night and watch the "goings on" in Lighthouse Street. There are only approximately seven or eight rooms in the hotel, so guests are very well serviced.

What can I say about the staff? They were brilliant! They attended to everything with smiles. Nothing - absolutely nothing - was too much for them. This was particularly evident when my wife, contracting a stomach bug and not being well at all, was very well attended to by the staff - as to what she should be eating at breakfast, what could alleviate her condition, and constantly asking how she was feeling.

We really also want to point out the gem shop run by Mohamed. This shop is to be found within the hotel. I had a beautiful pink sapphire ring made by the shop for my wife. It was ready in two days and beautifully crafted. I then purchased a silver moonstone ring as well. Mohamed is a lovely man - and is to be totally trusted in the gem trade.

Breakfast was an absolute delight - fresh fruit, yoghurt, juiced fruits - then eggs the way you wanted.

Deco on 44 also has a great restaurant. We all had dinner on the lawn, by candleight - jumbo prawns, sri lankan curry, beautifully chilled bottle of Chilean wine.

What more can we say? Galle is a fantastic coastal town, and this beautifully located boutique hotel offered everything we could have wished for.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The "suite" rooms are excellent. The Sun Room, in particular, is worth reserving, as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights this month and was totally satisfied . I had a deluxe (standard) room which was spacious with a large, comfortable double bed. The pillows were wonderful (bad pillows are my bugbear).The décor was lovely and it was spotlessly clean throughout. No problems with the large, shiny new bathroom either and it had a good, strong shower. The little pots of toiletries were great – I especially loved the pineapple shower gel. Also in the rooms were an ac and a fan, though the rooms are so large and airy that the ac wasn’t really needed. There is a flat-screen TV and DVD player with a wide selection of DVDs that can be borrowed for free at reception.
The standard rooms open onto the small-but beautiful pool, which can be used at any time and was very refreshing.
All the staff were friendly and helpful, and the manager especially went out of his way to make sure our stay was problem-free.
This is a real art deco style hotel that has only been open 1 and ½ years after being converted from a private house. All the little touches in keeping with this style are really what make this place.
It’s certainly not the cheapest stay in Galle, but if you are after luxury, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smartej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable rooms, extremely clean and ever friendly staff! The food is amazing and well priced. Its perfectly located in the centre of Galle Fort. A beautiful swimming pool is placed in the garden of the hotel, to cool down after a hot walk in the bezutiful town!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aflora87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Deco on 44 for a night during our recent trip to Sri Lanka. It was a very pleasant experience staying in a heritage home which was converted into a boutique hotel within the Galle Fort. Thank you for upgrading us to a junior suite too. That was a pleasant surprise! The hotel was conveniently situated, central to many of the sights, and yet quiet. The room was clean, well decorated and maintained. Despite the initial problem with the water pressure, it was promptly attended to and rectified. I must also complement the chef for being so accommodating by replacing the chips with mashed potato. The fish and mashed potato was delicious and so was the tuna steak (such a generous portion too!). And the price was so inexpensive! The staff were also very attentive. Thank you once again for a most pleasant stay. If we visit Galle Fort again, we will definitely stay at Deco on 44 :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFLWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
1.9 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 26 in Galle
1,850 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
3 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#5 of 26 in Galle
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 26 in Galle
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#8 of 26 in Galle
604 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bartizan
The Bartizan
#11 of 26 in Galle
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deco On 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deco On 44

Address: 44 Lighthouse Street | Galle Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Galle
Price Range: $167 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deco On 44 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the historic Galle Fort in the south of Sri Lanka, Deco on 44 offers you the finest luxury accommodation within this unique, historic, UNESCO World Heritage Site. Originally built in the 1930’s by a wealthy gem merchant, Deco on 44 has been renovated and decorated keeping in mind the art deco theme of its original architects. We are Sri Lanka’s only art deco hotel and we welcome you to relax in our beautiful rooms and enjoy our scrumptious cuisine and personalized service that truly is a taste of paradise. The hotel contains 3 large suites(2 with private balconies, 1 with a sitting room), 1 Junior Suite on the upper floor and 3 Deluxe Rooms overlooking the fantastic swimming pool. Tours from the hotel can be arranged for a variety of activities including Whale watching. Enjoy the Galle Fort from one of its finest hotels. We await to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Deco On 44 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing