We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Millennium Resort & Gems
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Awesome place to stay!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The Millenium is in the best location within the fort. The place is spotlessly clean. The beds are very comfortable and the shower is strong with good hot water. The rooms are extremely clean and the owner of the hotel and gem store is very friendly and helpful with whatever you might need. I would not stay anywhere else in Galle. I loved this place. Within the fort, everything, including restaurants, shopping etc., is within a block or two of the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooftop room had a nice patio area with a great view overlooking the town within the fortress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seascape100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    23
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
36
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Room was clean and tidy. Horrible view from the room of walls. Worst thing is, there was no curtain or even a privacy screen. I had to wedge towels over the balcony door. I could see people downstairs from my door, so they could definitely have seem me. Not convinced that having the plug socket right underneath the shower is a good idea! No where to really hang anything. It's okay for one night before moving on. Fantastic service, they helped me to see a local doctor within minutes to get some anti-biotics for a sinus infection. Owner also drove us to a local restaurant for breakfast for free! Great location for walking around Galle.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Wonderful owner, very obliging (even to let us in at midnight on arrival, we were greeted with smiles). We had the top room for 3 nights and found it to be extremely clean yet basic but all you really need. Lovely clean home. Would definitely recommend as best place to stay on a budget. Thank you Millennium Resort and Gems!

Room Tip: Top room had good views and was extremely private. It was airy and had good light also. Be warned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKTRsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the rooftop room here for 3 nights and had a lovely stay. For a basic room, it was spotless, filled with light, and had lovely views of the church and ocean. The family was courteous, helpful, and gave us our privacy.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank skyelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I stayed here for 2 days after I got to Sri Lanka for some business duties. This is a quite small family run guest house and if you are looking for a cheap, but a good place with quite average comforts, this one is nice. I was warmly welcomed when I got there as my taxi driver told me.
I was luck to get that AC room with free Wifi! :)
There's a gem & jewellery's shop as well.I could talk with the owner several times and he helped me to choose a nice ring for my gf.
Very good service and calm environment is very attractive, specially if you are stucked with a business travel.

Room Tip: Try the AC room in the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZackH90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gliwice, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We were supposed to stay in a different hotel (Unfortunately dont remember the name) however after I found a cockroach there we have run away immediately..we found Millennium hotel by accident and this place made me believe there are cheap but clean hotels for a reasonable price. The rooms are simple but spotless clean. I would say it was clean as in ***** hotel or even cleaner. We have enjoyed our stay there and definitely we recommend this place for everyone. The family who owns the place is very nice and helpful, they also have gems shop but they do not insist on buying from them which is unlikely in Sri Lanka. However, I must say they should insist as the jewellery they sell is amazing. So to sum up..if you are in galle stay there and you wont be dissapointed:)

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AnnMckovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Got a very average room. Friendly staff as is usual.

My room was the smallest of them all and the fake balcony (only one can stand not even sit, cramped) did not have a curtain for the glass door. So necessarily the whole world can see what you are doing inside. The pullover was the thinnest i have seen. I did not know the cloth used in salons to cover oneself from falling hair can be used as a blankie! :)

I would rate is below average from a backpackers pov as it misses few basic amenities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnandSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
5.2 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 23 in Galle
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
0.0 mi away
Villa Ocean Dew
Villa Ocean Dew
#21 of 23 in Galle
2 reviews
1.3 mi away
Closenberg Hotel
Closenberg Hotel
#13 of 23 in Galle
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Resort & Gems? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Resort & Gems

Property: Millennium Resort & Gems
Address: No 70 A, Church Street, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Millennium Resort & Gems reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing