We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of paradise.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pearly's Dream Cabanas
Ranked #11 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A slice of paradise.”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The four of us were working in Galle and just looking around the local area when we just happened to come across Dream Cabanas. Pearly and Sunnil were in the garden and waved us over when they saw us admiring their beautiful private garden and amazing Cabanas. We talked, drank ice cold coke and were invited to use the private garden and beach. That was four days ago and we have been there every day since. This evening we had the most delicious, home made, chicken curry feast. The accomodation is superb and for anybody who wants to experience Sri Lanka and its people, this is the place to come. We have new friends who are more like family and a beautiful part of the world to call a second home.

Room Tip: Very comfortable quaters but not fancy hotel standard. Clean, spacious and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    10
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
28
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Pearly and Sunil welcomed us to the Dream Cabana when we arrived early in the morning. We were excited to see we had a spectacular view of the ocean from our cabana deck/bedroom. The cabanas are located in a great location, away from the touristy Unawatuna (but an easy cheap tuk tuk ride if you want to see it or the Galle Fort). Pearly was a wonderful cook and we loved the fresh breakfasts and seafood dinners. Pearly also helped us with shopping in town at her local spice vendor and Ayurvedic Garden. Pearly and Sunil have 3 sons who were also very helpful (cracking our coconuts open) and we loved their cute dogs too! Overall, an amazing place to stay at a reasonable price! We hope to go back again one day

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPShank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kloten, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have been there last week, and it is a really nice home stay, just beside the beach. Wow! You do have your own private beach and the food they cook is delicious! Looking forward to stay there again.

As this is a homestay BnB, don't expect a 5-star luxury suite, expect a local room with minimum comfort, but it is very very charming!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWYR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We have only the best recommendations to give Dream Cabana and the family who owns it. The cabana is simple, nice and clean. The location couldn't be better - it's just on the beach, a little bit off from the main beach, but that suited us perfectly. With tuktuk it's barley five minutes to restaurants and shops. The family who owns the cabana is very friendly and helpful and took very good care of us. We would definitley want to go back someday.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna_19802014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Dream cabanas is one of the nicest places i found on my trip around Sri Lanka. The rooms are rustic but clean, comfortable and have a large bathroom attached. Free wifi is available. The real attraction of this place is the veranda with dining table, the garden with palm trees and hammock, and the perfect sandy beach just 10m from the room. Pearly and her entire family were super friendly and prepared us the "breakfast of champions" every morning which we enjoyed while watching the waves crashing on the beach. The popular Unawatuna beach area with it's bars and restaurants is close by, as is the town of Galle. I was able to park my car right by the back of the rooms. I could stay here for a month.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is a really good place to come and escape for a few days. We stayed in the ground floor cabana for 3 nights. The room was basic and without AC, but there was a fan. The bathroom was large and had a hot water shower. It was reasonably clean and had a lot of charm. There is a veranda overlooking the ocean where you can just sit and relax and do nothing for hours!

Pearly was a lovely host who made us delicious dinners (LKR 2400 for 2 people for a very generous serving with several curries including a whole fish and prawns, rice, papadums, salad) and Sri Lankan breakfasts. It was 2km to Unawatuna (tuk tuk LKR 200 one way) but we preferred to swim in the gorgeous turquoise water of the natural lagoon about 5 mins walk down the beach. The beach directly out the front was clean and beautiful, but we tended not to swim there due to rocks and currents. We spotted turtles bobbing their heads in the water at around sunset. Make sure you get a pic on the rope swing hanging off the coconut palm!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank youngbutwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Absolutely brilliant place, probably the best of our three week SL trip. We were here for Xmas, and it was an absolutely gorgeous place to wake up in on Xmas day (even if it was raining, the only day of the whole trip). Pearly and her family made us feel completely at home and put on a brilliant breakfast for us. Away from the chaos of Unawatuna (there's also a much better beach about 100m to the right) but still close enough to tuktuk in for dinner and shopping.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
1.1 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 31 in Unawatuna
881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
#7 of 31 in Unawatuna
439 reviews
1.0 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#8 of 23 in Galle
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 31 in Unawatuna
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
SAYURA Beach Hotel
SAYURA Beach Hotel
#8 of 147 in Unawatuna
100 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearly's Dream Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearly's Dream Cabanas

Property: Pearly's Dream Cabanas
Address: Dalawella Junction, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing