We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay, nice family 2min to Unawatuna”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pearly's Dream Cabanas
Ranked #10 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Galle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay, nice family 2min to Unawatuna”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderfuk beach day, nice food platter and lovely people
Thank you. Place nearby unawatuna, but still very relaxed and beautiful beach. Excellent Food and lovely people! Nice for relaxing.
Great tea :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ben2329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    10
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
28
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I was looking for a peaceful place to relax before continuing on my travels around the country and was lucky enough to find Pearly's Dream Cabanas. I only stayed one night, but wished I had spent most of my holiday there. falling asleep to the sound of the waves crashing on the beach less the 3 meters away. The room was huge, the view was spec

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at Pearly's in May 2013 and it was a brilliant decision! Easy to get to - 15min drive from Galle by tuk-tuk or you can jump off the Matara bus at the Dalawella junction. Upon arriving, we were greeted by Pearly and her family who immediately showed us the room and gave us cold Cokes to quench our thirst. we stayed in the upstairs cabana and it was awesome. Big deck with lounge chairs were you can sit back and watch the palm trees swaying in the sea breeze and a dining table where we spent a great evening playing cards and generally mellowing out! As i had a friend down from Italy, i asked Pearly whether she could arrange some Sri Lankan curry for us. Her answer was 'no problem' and a few hours later we were served a feast! Her family is really friendly and kept popping up to check on us and have a chat. The room is big with a fan and mosquito net as well as charging points etc. the bathroom is also large and very clean. In the morning they showed us a great natural swimming area a few hundred meters down the beach and when we arrived back at the cabana, we were treated to a great breakfast of freshly made string hoppers, dahl, pineapple juice, eggs and other yummy things! Upon leaving for Galle, Pearly even gave us a small gift of tea and fresh ginger, just another example of how friendly and accommodating the whole family is! To sum it up, if you want to escape the crowds of Unawatuna yet be close enough to easily travel around, Pearlys is the place :) awesome view, awesome deck and awesome people! Enough said!

Room Tip: The Top floor cabana was great with a huge deck and awesome view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowy Targ, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Fantastic place! I spent there 6 days with my husband and if I go to Sri Lanka one more time i will choose Pearly's Dream Cabana. We felt there like Pearly's family members. She is amezing. We could always count on her help - she took us to the wooden factory, gone with us to Galle to show us the best place to buying spices, provided us advices and talked with us about Sri Lanka. And the view from Cabana - priceless. I pine for evenings sitting on terrace and listening to the sound of the ocean.... And food was really delicious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The stand out feature of Pearly's dream cabanas is Pearly and her family themselves. Pearly and her Husband Sunil are very warm and kind, and very interested in their guests well being.

We inquired about availability at late notice, and so were unfortunate to not be able to stay in one of the two cabanas in Pearly's back garden, but we were made to feel right at home at Pearly's Aunties house next door! Three joined bungalow style apartments just down the beach, with en-suite bathrooms and air conditioning, and our own 'guard' who lit up the lawn for us with his torch whatever time of the night we arrived back! So don't be put off at all if when you enquire the 2 main cabanas are unavailable and you are offered the rooms next door, they were fantastic.

Pearly's food needs another mention, freshly cooked fish curry and plenty of sides on demand, really incredible. Also, the boys climbing the 30 foot palm trees for coconuts in the morning as you eat breakfast, and the rope swing were particular highlights.

5 minutes walk up the beach there are some nice bars to have a drink at and watch the sunset, and during the days there are plenty of activities that Pearly and Sunil are happy to organise for you at fair prices.

Personally, i loved our stay here, and would definitely return. One thing i would stress though is be firm when agreeing a price with Pearly, (on arrival) as there seemed to be some confusion over our bill - We clearly (thought) we had agreed that breakfast was included in our room price, and agreed on a price for the room per night. Our bill was significantly higher than we had anticipated and breakfast was charged on top. I'm happy to put that down to a bit of a language barrier/conversion rates from sterling to dollars to rupees etc and it really shouldn't put you off, but just try and make sure you're all on the same page to avoid any disappointment.

Over all a fantastic place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mchapman1084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I can't believe it's taken me 2 months to write this review!

What can I say about Pearly's Dream Cabanas - only that it was the most unique, friendly, chilled out, and beautiful place we stayed in on our trip to Sri Lanka.
We were picked up promptly at the airport by Pearly's nephew, and driven from Colombo to the beach house. He was friendly and gave us a little tour guide chat on the way! He also was really kind in running us about in his tuk tuk when we needed him for a very reasonable price.

But - back to the cabanas. Pearly and her husband greeted us with coconut drinks and showed us around. The cabana has everything you need - a comfy bed, an ensuit bathroom, but most importantly a beautiful covered veranda with a view out over the ocean.

The cabana is literally a stone's throw from the beach - there is little garden outside front door, then sand, then sea!

My highlight, apart from the beautiful, empty beaches, was Pearly's cooking - by far the most delicious (and reasonably priced) food we had in Sri Lanka. Pearly's family were all so friendly - and her youngest boy is such a sweetie (he let us play on his rope swing). We were so well looked after, and made to feel part of the family

Definitely worth a visit - for a very chilled out, peaceful, happy holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1moreholidayplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We pre-booked this before our arrival in Sri Lanka for our 10 day tour. We were met at Colombo airport by a family friend of the owners who was waiting for us as we emerged from immigration! This had been pre-arranged and is certainly recommended. We arrived at the cabanas at around 1am, said a quick hello to Pearly and Sunnil who had waited up for us to arrive and straight to bed. The room is very comfortable, and clean. Of course, it is not the height of luxury and if you are looking for air conditioning, cable TV and Molton Brown toiletries...look elsewhere, but what you get is a functional, spacious room with western-style bathroom. We were in the upstairs unit and a highlight was the balcony area where the meals are served - an amazing view over the family's garden and of course the beach.

A real highlight was, of course, the food. I know this has been highlighted in previous reviews but Pearly's food is a real treat. Genuine, home-cooked Sri Lankan food in plentiful amount and I can almost guarantee, will be the best food you have in the country. We were due to stay for 4 nights but ended up extending our stay because of the amazing welcome and great bond we formed with the family. Pearly, Sunnil and her three boys are such warm, welcoming people and we truly felt that we were staying with friends.

The eldest son, Eranga, has a tuk-tuk and if he is free is happy to taxi guests around, for a small fee of course, which is essential as the cabanas are in a small village which is around a 45 minute walk to Unawatuna but any further than that you really do need an engine! The bus from Galle stops right outside the house.

Cannot recommend staying here highly enough and will certainly do all I can to revisit this wonderful place in the near future !

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms - one upstairs and one downstairs. I guess there are pros and cons of each (w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.1 mi away
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
#7 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
1.1 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.3 mi away
EKA Beach
EKA Beach
#1 of 10 in Talpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.2 mi away
SAYURA Beach Hotel
SAYURA Beach Hotel
#8 of 145 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearly's Dream Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearly's Dream Cabanas

Property: Pearly's Dream Cabanas
Address: Dalawella Junction, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing