We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch service and food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seagreen Restaurant - CLOSED

Seagreen Restaurant
Cuisines: Asian, Sri Lankan
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top notch service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Best scrambled egg in Sri Lanka. A lovely couple who have lived in fort forever and are 8th generation of their family to do so. Lovely rice and curry too with a lovely breeze and view you dont get in central fort. Service and value you could not ask for more. The people who say it's slow have not been in sri Lanka long enough. Thats part of the culture. Anyway why would you be in such a rush on your holiday!? Five stars!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hazmorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    30
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing much!... Really!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

The service is rather slow, even though the place was almost empty! The food was rather cheap however, same would go for its taste!
Surprised that this is ranked 3rd in Galle, restaurants!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Whatshisfaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best food in Sri Lanka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 weeks travelling around Sri Lanka and we had our best food from Seagreen.

We ate their twice and on both occasions we were treated to a warm welcome, excellent value and delicious food. We firstly went their for dinner and had their rice and curry which was sublime so we decided to return the following morning for breakfast. This was by far the best meal we had. The egg hoppers were super fresh and the dahl was super.

Thank you Seagreen for a delicious experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IJBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
368 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Fantastic seafood dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

What a great dinner and it was a nice break from curries.

This restaurant is really a hole-in-the-wall - just honest food and humble service. We had the grilled butter fish with fries and this really good homemade salad with pineapple - delicious. We had a nice starter of calamari.

This is really a no frills restaurant - go for the simple and great value food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BusyFlyingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Italia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“2 hours to have our food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This restaurant is very small (only 5 tables) and it is just the terrace of the family that ownes the restaurant and the b&b. Everything is fresh and definitely home made but it took forever to have our dishes. We took 2 soupes and we had to wait 1hour and half to have them and then other 30min to have the main dishes.
I thinl that they should reduce the choice of dishes from the menu so they can be a little be faster.
Good food but is not really worth! I had better curry in other city in sri lanka

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FurbyFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seagreen Restaurant also viewed

Galle, Southern Province
Galle, Southern Province
 
Galle, Southern Province
Galle, Southern Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing