We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang for the buck”
Review of Seagreen Restaurant - CLOSED

Seagreen Restaurant
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bang for the buck”
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant offers great value for the price. It looks humble and food presentation is pretty average but it tastes great and its pretty cheap.

One of our favorite places in Galle so far.

Helpful?
Thank shdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    30
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy!!!!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Brilliant location, this breezy restaurant in the refreshing shade of beautiful trees and palms with an iconic view of the Fort's rampart, where you can enjoy watching the locals play cricket and catch an exquisite sunset whilst eating deliciously freshly made to order food that matches its stunning surroundings ...whether it be the mouthwatering rice and prawn curry or the freshly caught fish that day, the whole relaxed friendly dining experience is renowned in Galle now and the increasingly popular restaurant is often fully booked...get there early! Don't forget to try the delicious wood apple juice or a mango lassi with dessert; banana fritters or pancakes with ice cream and treacle....you won't be disappointed! :0)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona_mitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, great views and first class service”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spend 2 nights in the Seagreen guest house and ate here every meal minus 1! It was incredible, great value and so fresh. Everyone in the place is so friendly and went out of there way to make sure we were happy.

The day we arrived we had lunch and dinner here. Rice and curry was delicious. We also had some fresh fish and a really yummy salad. We pre-ordered Sri Lankan breakfast for the next morning (strongly recommend) it was again delicious.

A lot of the places in Galle seem quite 'touristy' - this place just feels rustic and homely. I would definitely recommend it and would definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“good food with great service”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

I have visited Seagreen restaurant for a few times during my short stay at Galle Fort and I have no problem recommending it. We had the grilled prawns and the mixed fruit juice a few times. The prawns were fresh and of good size, the fries were freshly made and not soggy, and the salad was very appetizing. Service was equally great. We didn't have to wait a long time, and the price we paid is about average of what's on offer inside the Fort.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Healthy and fresh”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Who says Sri Lankan curries all taste the same ? And Indian food is better than Sri Lankan? Seriously, that is not true. But you have to know where to eat and what to order.
During my six trips to Galle Fort over the last year I have been a daily customer at the Seagreen Restaurant and experienced real, diverse and delicious Sri Lankan cuisine. Food that does not fill you up and you can go to bed lightly, not feeling full of creamy coconut milk til the next morning.
Did you ever try gotu kola salad with your curries, fresh mixed wood apple juice, beli fruit juice (or ice cream), or belimal tea ? If not, you cannot say you ate Sri Lankan.
Holding a PhD in nutrition and being an ethnic food enthusiast Seagreen Restaurant is my favorite. Super fresh and safe. Also, I cannot have a day without real fresh vegetables and juicy fruits. You can get real safe salads there (without salad leaves but mixed carots, pineapple, cabbage, etc).
All curries are prepared with fresh homemade coconut milk and a big smile. The Hoppers are the best I ever tried anywhere. The restaurant does not look like a big chef’s kitchen – but Rohini is one. She and her husband Chana care about the food they serve, not so much about the looks of the place. Do not be mislead by the simple looking interior. Highly recommended and not only for guests who stay at the Seagreen Guesthouse next door

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jukrahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seagreen Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing